Re: 3/15 Boots AMPS 124, +2 111, +4 90, +6 87, +8 105 PMPS
It's kind of a tough question to answer
We don't always want them to go below 50. When they are getting reductions too often, we see that a lot of times, those reductions fail, so you just have to go back up to the last dose that was working.
When they drop between the Pre-shot and the +2, that's a good indication they're going to continue to drop because the insulin really hasn't had a chance to kick in that soon. Remember me telling you about the +2 being what I call a "crystal ball test"? If you had seen that kind of drop on a day you couldn't be there to test, you'd either want to find a way to test in a few more hours, or leave food out so if Boots did continue to drop, he could have some food to eat to bring himself up.
Just curious...you said he got into some Friskies you had out for others. What kind of Friskies? If it was still low carb, it's fine for him to have anyway.
We don't want to force them below 50...When they earn reductions, they earn them. We don't want to rush it. He's still in great, pancreas healing numbers, so we don't necessarily want him to keep dropping lower and lower if we can feed a little bit and keep him "surfing" those great numbers. Remember, he can also earn his reductions by just staying in those great numbers for 7 days. We want to give his pancreas as much time as possible to REALLY rest, and then kick back into gear. Rushing the reductions could end up causing him to go OTJ too soon, and you'd rather have him get into a strong remission and hopefully be able to stay there for the rest of his life, than try to rush it and have it fail. A 2nd remission is much harder to get than a first one.
Boots is doing great, and I don't think any of us think he'll be needing insulin too long, but we do want him to get that strong remission, so we don't want to rush the reductions