3/14 Zener PMPS 193;+3 201;+5.5 155;+9 262 Dental in AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Crazy cat. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Zener is doing fine this morning. Appy is ok, he finished his last bowl outside at his picnic table. We start the antibiotic (shots of clindamyacin) this morning, 6 days, BID. The needles are bigger than insulin but smaller than Cerenia. Dental is tomorrow. Paws crossed on that.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans who are grieving. I miss the GA kitties, too. Happy Fursday, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62

Very nice # this morning. Hoping that he surfs nicely for you. Good luck with the dental tomorrow. Sending tons of positives vibes. Hoping that the new meds work for him, and am wishing for him to make a full and speedy recovery. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62

Oh wow on the 62!! :mrgreen: Sending good Vetty vines for the antibiotic and lots of good dental vines for tomorrow. I know dentals are always a worry with us. Looks like Zener may be on a roll today. Nice with the picnic.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62

Whoa! That woke me up better than my ~O) ... :smile:
Truckload of good dental vines and positive thoughts from me and some big hugs while you worry.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62;+1.5 104

I guess Z-man decided he wasn't done w/ sliding last night! Very nicely done!

Tons of good dental vines the the Mighty Z tomorrow. I know how hard on him the last one was.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62;+1.5 104

Sending dental vines for tomorrow and hugs to you and Zener! (I know how stressed I felt and I'm sure it's the same for all the beans on here!) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62;+1.5 104

Very nice start this morning. I hope Zener gives you a nice blue/green surf today. Sending dental vines to Zener for tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62;+1.5 104;+3.5 181

Hi guys,

Joining in the chorus of good dental vines for tomorrow. Zener, you decided to leave the lagoon so soon? Oh well, you can join Rusty on shore. Good luck with the clindamycin. That's a really powerful a/b, from what I understand, so make sure you have yogurt with active cultures or a probiotic on board to keep the helpful intestinal bacteria from getting knocked off.

Hugs & scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/14 Zener 62;+1.5 104;+3.5 181

Nice start today Zener, how about holding it on the blue floor for a while.

More truckloads of good dental vines are coming down to your sunny part of the world. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for each of you two. We'll be thinking of you.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM?

Thanks everyone for the dental vines, we can sure use them! We are very worried but feel more confident in the vet and plan we have in place this time.

Our vet advised us to shoot 1/2 his regular dose (depending on his numbers, if low, not to shoot) and feed him at AMPS. We take him to the vet 2 hours after his AMPS, and they will put in an IV and hydrate him well (because of his kidneys) before the procedure (and during/after) and he will get his dental later in the morning. We know fluids can drop BGs. Our Zener is such a bouncy guy. They will monitor his BG values throughout the day. We also realize we may not be able to give insulin in the PM post-procedure if he doesn't feel like eating. So, we would like to get some insulin in him tomorrow, if possible. Any guidelines or suggestions on numbers for shooting or not shooting before/after a dental?
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

Lots of dental vines from us as well. It's so nice to have a vet who works with you and who will test all through the visit for you. No dosing advice from me, especially with Zener's spectacular swings :-D We hope all goes well and he does a nice surf for you.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

Does Zener experience vetty stress? Neko doesn't seem to, and her last day at CSU I handed her over after a PS of 142 and a half dose of insulin, BUT she had no food since midnight the night before and I was getting her back before nadir. Actually, I slightly cheated, her dose was 8.5 at the time and I gave her a BCS 4 units that day because of the 142. But she wasn't getting fluids. Since Zener is getting food that will help. Any chance you could give him a little MC with that?
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

@Lisa & Leo - thanks for the vetty vines, we are delighted to get those!

@Wendy & Neko - no, Zener does not seem to experience vetty stress. He knows all the vet nurses and the vet very well too. We are considering giving him a 0.25u dose in the morning, since it will be a tad easier to measure than half of a f0.75u. Of course, if he is in green numbers we may need to re-think it a little. We are able to give him some MC at AMPS tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

I know you won't have time to post in the morning so we need to get an answer to you on that tonight. I think it's important to see what he does tonight and whether he's headed up or down in the morning. Of course, we've all seen Zener turn around and slide down. So let me put on a thinking cap, look closely at his SS, and also get Sienne's thoughts because she's been through dentals before with Gabby. I've not had them done on Gracie yet.

But how about see how tomorrow goes and post tomorrow an hour or so before his PMPS so we can see where he is and then decide what to shoot then.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

LIzBean just gave Zener Clindamycin injection #2. The needles look as big as the Cerenia needles, but the med doesn't sting like Cerenia. Liz is so brave, she who cannot stand any medical talk gives the big shots much better than the night duty bean, who is a health professional. :oops:

@Amy & TrixieCat - thanks for the bazillion vines. I will count each and every one tomorrow while we are waiting, it will be a great distraction! ;-)

@Marje - thank you! :YMHUG: Zener's usual shot times are 6am and 6pm MST (we don't do the daylight savings, ah, but you know that...you live in AZ too.) Liz usually tests about 5:45, so that will be great to have some ideas tonight for in the morning. Our tentative time to pick the mighty Z up will be between 5 and 6 pm so we will test as soon as we can after getting home and post the value. If we have to delay some it will be fine as it will be the weekend and spring break next week. As the BIC next week, the night duty bean will be fine with a little later AMPS and PMPS, staying up is much easier than getting up. :razz:
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

You're welcome! I've got some ideas about a no shoot number but am getting Sienne's thoughts, too. So BBL. :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

My vet has always advised that I skip the AM dose. IMHO, insulin can be a complication during the procedure should anesthesia drop numbers.

As for the PM, I've usually given a partial dose. (I made the mistake the first time of giving a full dose. Trust me, trying to get baby food and HC into Gabby after extractions was not fun. I do not recommend it.) On occasion, I've even given a reduced dose the next AM if Gabby wasn't eating well. FWIW, this last dental, she wanted no part of baby food and wanted her regular canned food. Go figure.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

After I looked hard at his SS, I think Sienne's thoughts on skipping the a.m. dose are valid. If you shoot a reduced dose in the morning, the depot might still be affecting his numbers and then add the anesthesia which typically lowers BG.

Sending major dental vetty vines for tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/14 Zener PMPS 193 Dental in AM

Thank you Sienne & Marje. Liz and I both breathed a sigh of relief when we read your advice on skipping in the morning. We were thinking that was the best way to go, but having you both confirm that makes it much easier to trust our instincts! It would be hard to skip if he was stinky pinky in the AM and then we might regret it. He can dive like a rock even without anesthesia and fluids. And he's pretty flat today, so who knows what could happen tomorrow. He has hit greens twice already since we fattened back to his current dose, so letting the shed drain may not be so bad.

We will also follow your suggestions about a partial dose in the evening after his dental and even consider that for the next morning, depending on how well we can get him to eat. We are most worried about the eating.

@Ella - sorry I missed your posting earlier. Thanks for the reminder on the probiotics while Zener is on the ABs. We are using the injectable clindamycin this time rather than the oral liquid, and hoping this keeps him from having such GI distress as last time. We've been giving him fortiflora on his food all day and will keep that up as long as he is on the ABs.

Thank you all so much for all the dental vines. We feel much better going into this dental with our team in place and our LL supporters behind us. Zener is having a great evening, happy appy, major yard patrol and picnics as the evening is quite warm (for 7000 feet) and lots of lap time and cuddle time. He is calm as a cucumber about tomorrow.
 
Sending Zener good dental vines today. When Furball had her dental, I skipped her AM shot. She had a high number for her PMPS, but I didn't mind. I felt better knowing she'd be safer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top