3/14 Tommy's AMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .. sunny yellows for tommy today! We also have beautiful weather and will be out soon enjoying it .. have a great day!
 
hi mimi! i'm sorta debating about whether or not i should say something again, but because i'm not sure you saw my post from 2 days ago i guess i will. not trying to hammer you, just want to make sure you're getting educated about lantus and how it works in tommy.

when you increased him to 2.0u on 3/12, he was on a bounce.

on 3/10 he saw that 104 at pmps, which likely was a rising number from something lower. his body responded to being in a range lower than he was accustomed to by releasing stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones, sending his BG high to save Tommy from the liver-perceived hypo. it doesn't matter whether or not they actually get into hypo numbers. if the body has become accustomed to 200's, 100's are low enough to cause a bounce in some cats. so when you did the curve on 3/11, you were measuring all bounce-caused numbers, not "real" BG numbers.

i would encourage you to reconsider this dose and drop back to the 1.75u. being overdosed can be a real problem, and because you are not following the TR protocol, you may not pick up what's going on in his body. it would be safer for him if you dropped back and then held the dose for several days until your next curve.

then let one of us take a look at his ss and see if the next curve that's done is an accurate reflection.

just my 2 cents worth - i hope it's helpful. have a great day!
 
Julie, actually, I didn't see your last post and I am happy you posted again. I am glad for an extra pair or 100 extra pair of eyes on Tommy numbers. I knew his numbers from the curve were off and I thought it may have been related to lower PM dose (1.5 u) the Friday before when he was at 104 as well as the adjustment to the time change (which I started adjusting his shoot times the Thursday before by 15 minute increments).

I will squeeze in a couple of extra tests tonight and see where he is headed and post the numbers in the AM and adjust the dose from there. I won't be able to do an actual curve for over a week as I will be away this weekend.

I thank you for you taking the extra time to look at Tommy's numbers and post a response.

Mimi & Tommy
 
Tomtomsmom said:
Julie,
I thank you for you taking the extra time to look at Tommy's numbers and post a response.

You and Tommy are family now, and Lantus Land looks out for family :-D :-D :-D :-D

celi & binks
 
Awww Celi and Binks..thank you! I would be so totally lost without FDMB and I am grateful for all the help and advice I receive.

BTW....Binks looks like my Tommy. He is brown american shorthair tabby. Binks is a very handsome boy!!

Mimi & Tommy
 
oh ok - then i'm glad i posted. marje had responded after me as well. you know advice is only advice, and people can take it or leave it. so didn't want to say more if you'd looked at it and decided to do otherwise!

the SLGS protocol, which i think is what you're following, calls for a curve done once a week or so and then having the ss looked at by someone experienced. i also think you can do what many of us here do, which is just to get random checks here and there as you are able. that works too and sometimes is easier than spending an entire day poking every 2 hrs!

have a great day!

ps, yes, the people here on LL are fabulous! they found lots of things to teach me about punkin that also literally saved his life. it's a good place!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top