Re: 3/14 Simba AMPS 158, +2 126. AlphaTrak Vet update
Update on the vet visit:
Edit: she estimates at least 6mo before we can think about tooth removal. Also wants at least 3mo on orbax for bladder infection
no +4.. we didn't do a reading. No particular reason. I think she may have forgot which is alright by me - she charges out the wazoo for a bg test!
no dosage change, I think it's a good idea to see where he goes on the 1u now too. Those blues are purrrrrdy.
She wants me to try to keep him between 5-10 (or 90-180) this week instead of taking it any lower. We see her again next week to reassess.
She's very happy with:
his lungs
his heart
his coat
his hydration
his overall demeanor
his paws (no moar 'cement booties' or 'crusty paw'!)
She's not concerned about ketones now.
He's lost .5lb since last visit, March 9th. She says gradual decrease in weight will actually help his condition. He's 5.99 kilos. (13.21lbs) Don't look at me like that, he's TALL. o

Just like his bean.
She's not 'with' the feeding high carb to gently increase bg values. She feels that immediate control with syrup is better. I smiled and nodded for the most part.
She knows about
Janet and Binky's chart and agrees I can find something high protein/low carb that will work for him there. (She was disappointed he wouldn't eat the DM, agrees that recovery is good for now, but not a good long-term diet - I can't remember why, but I've heard that before).
I asked her about miralax, and it seemed to ring a bell but she couldn't quite remember.. she insists that keeping him on petromalt to keep him regular is a) best for now as opposed to risking constipation, b) the amount I'm giving him is not enough to upset his numbers and c) she wants to dose him according to what he's already doing. TBH, I would hate to risk him getting constipated by switching products. Especially this early in the game. It's such a balance changer. next week I'll be happy to re-evaluate and slowly introduce something like vaseline or mirilax. My gut tells me to keep giving petromalt for now. (I've actually been overshooting the number on the food chart.. it's more like 3/4-1in).
His ear drops have a little prednisone in them. Some studies suggest that prednisone is not absorbed when administered through the ear, but some studies say they do. She suggests it varies from cat to cat and that we *could* try something else, but by his values, it appears as if the pred is not inhibiting insulin absorption.
The testing protocol that she'd like to follow is amps +4 +8. I tend to agree. I know it's not the protocol of the boards, but 3, 6, 9 is just too stressful for me right now. Plus I think his ears need time to grow more capilliaries, it's hard to get a good drop lately. If needed I'm happy to do a +2 or a +10 if things are looking weird.
She does tend to adjust dosage in the .5's. I told her about all the amazing things you guys are doing, including .01's so when it comes up, I don't expect to meet an issue over moving by the .25's instead.
I found a chocolate bar. a 70% cacao chocolate bar! It was HIDING on my dresser. Oh chocolate bar, I'm so glad I found youuuu *singing*
There's something else I was going to say about the appointment but I can't remember what it was. I say blame it on mister chochy chocolate over here. So delicious he is.
Coffee. Staying up so I can go to bed later and reverse my pattern.
Thanks everyone, hope you don't mind the long laborious post.
I-)
AH, no...
