3/14 Shadoe amps 347 pmps 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
259 - amps (14L & 0.5R)
194 - +1
110 - +2
92 - +3
77 - +4
119 - +5
155 - +6
173 - +9
182 - +10
185 - +11
248 - pmps (14L only)
299 - +1
259 - +2
194 - +3
164 - +4
157 - +5
347 - today's amps

I should have used R last nite, and I am not pleased this morning. I don't think Shadoe was happy either; she came running over for her test and shots, and settled into her spot on the sofa to do some special purring afterwards.

I am out right after getting +4; hopefully, we can stay out of pink today.
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347

Good morning Gayle
What a very nice run for Shadoe yesterday.
It is all still a learning curve for you guys and everything you do or do not to helps
in figuring things out.
Did you give her the R this morning?
It is great though that she noticed the difference and is undersanding these lower numbers
are starting to make her feel better.
I am out to this morning so we will check back on you later.
Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +1~284 +2~225

Now Shadoe is looking better, numbers and actions.
She's doing her "feel-the-R, time-to-clean-fur-then-nap" routine.
I really think this morn's amps felt wrong for both of us; it's finally good to see her happier with the lower numbers.
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +1~284 +2~225

Nice +2 there Gayle...hope you and Shadoe coninue with all the great work....this is really moving along beautifully!!
happy Sunday!
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +1~284 +2~225

Wow, yesterday was a great day for Shadoe and today's not looking too bad either! Enjoy your day Gayle!!!
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +9~297 need dose advice for pm

Shadoe needs a new set of ears, but we have gathered enough data that looks like using R gets us down to a good number, but no R keeps Shadoe too high.
I stayed with this dose 14u to see and if the goal is to eliminate a need for R, then an increase to 15uL may be an idea. This morn was cycle10 on 14uL.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +9~297 need dose advice for pm

I've been studying Shadoe's spreadsheet. Do you want to brainstorm with me? I'm trying to figure this out too.

As you know, I don't have experience with acro dosing or with R so I might be wrong, but I think you're at a stage now where you have to think about some of the basic principles of FD too. One being rebound. Shadoe had her first real green yesterday, and after that she surfed blue for quite a while, even when I would have expected her to bounce (especially with no R, I really expected her to be pink/red before you went to bed). Yes, she hit pink by AM, but it was not very high for a bounce and you were able to easily shoot it down with R. I think that the rise you're seeing now just shows that she is still in RBC (remember that can last up to 72 hours). With a regular diabetic we would not increase the dose until after we think RBC has cleared. We don't really know how long that will be for Shadoe, but I'm thinking that increasing by a whole unit while in RBC could be a little treacherous if she is getting closer to her dose. She probably does need a dose increase, I'm just not sure if tonight is the best time to do it. If you had RBC clearing, AND a dose increase, and some R all in there at the same time, you can quickly get some very low numbers, and it's harder to control low numbers in an acro.

I don't think I'm articulating myself very well but those are my thoughts. Feel free to debate (or anyone who DOES have more applicable experience please correct me).
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +9~297 need dose advice for pm

Thanks Libby,
I keep trying to apply everything, but there are too many conflicts for my knowledge.

For non acro, we aim for green, but acro aims for blue. OK, but then is that with or without R, and at what point do I need to increase Lantus, adjust or remove R?

Without a scale, I have just been winging it with the R. the attached graph shows how R with am and no R with pm has a difference.

If I am to be aggressive, then how and when? And in what ways? Without knowing the goal, it's hard to head towards it. I was guessing that R is just to help the level down to a better level, and not to pull the numbers down forcibly. Ultimately, the R should not be needed, so what's the next step from here? I tried with and without, with the graph showing the difference, even if just for one day. Now, I was thinking that I could try to increase the Lantus because with the week coming, Shadoe will be on Lantus only during the day, so it's a good time to increase. By how much, I have no clue. As you say, 1u may be too much, so what about if I go with .5u tonite?

I don't want to stay put, but will if it's looking like I should.
Choices: stay with 14uLantus and 1.0R as her pmps is just now 349.
or I could increase the Lantus and decrease or use no R.

Which one sounds good or do you you have another option I should try?
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +9~297 need dose advice for pm

I would probably stay with the 14L and R for tonight, since she's in RBC. Then increase the L once rebound clears, whenever that is.

The eventual goal is to get to a dose that is good without R (or with occasional R). I think what is making me slow down is that she didn't have very much R yesterday and she still dropped to green, so it makes me think you might be getting close to a good L dose. Not quite there yet probably, but close.

I'm probably being way too conservative, but that is just because of my limited understanding. I do think she needs an increase, but I would wait until RBC is cleared before doing it.
 
Re: 3/14 Shadoe amps 347 +9~297 need dose advice for pm

OK I sort of went with a compromise.
I went with 14.5uLantus and 0.25uR :roll:
I agree about needing a tiny bit of an increase, so I went back to the usual increase from the protocol of .5u.
Then, since she is in pink at ps, I went with just a small bit of R to help her down into yellow again.

Ugh, it`s so hard to get to your destination without a map, and I get lost just crossing the street.

Thanks Libby to having me discard a 1u increase; we`ll see how it goes from here.
 
Hi Gayle
Tough night I am sure.
It is trial and error with lots of adjustments but I have full confidence you will
get there with Shadoe. Nice Yellows tonight and maybe she is showing some rebound.
(I'm coming in late because I am having computer problems)
Keep on that track. I know you can do it.
 
I try so hard to follow what you are doing but I need to read a lot more to understand. Keep up the good but very difficult job you are doing with Shadoe. I know every day can be a different protocol.
Nice day yesterday. :mrgreen:
 
I have been pretty lucky; Shadoe just doesn't bounce like others, so any subtle bouncing is something I don't really see.

For all I know, if I stopped the R, I would see some bouncing, but do I really want to do that? I don't think I do!

Shadoe's all happy happy, so something is working Ok.

At any rate, we are getting close to a good dose, so that makes me happy too.

Thank goodness I still have the u/s and dental to worry about - I don't want to run out of worries!

Miriam,
I have less than half a clue, but I am hoping that what I post will be a good way to share and educate others. You never know when you may end up in a similar situation.
It is depressing to know little but need to know so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top