3/14 Richard AMPS 479 +5 371 +8 324 PMPS 351

Alex&Richard

Member Since 2026
03/13

Richard's BG had a very rapid rise at night today (starting around PM +6) and his AMPS was very high. Ketones spiked as well to 2.5. He eats a lot today, but looks like his glucose is slowly dropping. Overall, he is active, no signs of vomiting or lethargy, played eagerly. Another bounce? Or just not enough insulin?

He is almost 6 days on his current dose already (one shot slightly lower), had blue in just one cycle and yellow in several. Is it time for an increase? Considering presence of ketones, could it make sense to be slightly more aggressive with insulin or it would only make bouncing worse?

CGM
1773664374411.png
 
Last edited:
Sometimes other factors contribute to a BG spike, like stress. I don't know if there could have been something like that affecting Richard?

I'm too new to all this to consider myself any kind of authority, but I do believe that most of the veteran users around here would say that with a new diabetic early in treatment, it's important to stick closely to protocol because it was all calculated carefully with the cat's safety in mind. That said, an increase in ketones is concerning. Maybe someone with a bit more experience could chime in? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

How is the diet transition going? That's almost certainly a factor in his higher numbers, in general.
 
Sometimes other factors contribute to a BG spike, like stress. I don't know if there could have been something like that affecting Richard?

I'm too new to all this to consider myself any kind of authority, but I do believe that most of the veteran users around here would say that with a new diabetic early in treatment, it's important to stick closely to protocol because it was all calculated carefully with the cat's safety in mind. That said, an increase in ketones is concerning. Maybe someone with a bit more experience could chime in? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

How is the diet transition going? That's almost certainly a factor in his higher numbers, in general.
For now diet is still royal canine diabetic(13%) and instinctive jelly (7%???) food post. Both wet. As far as I understand the main thing at the moment is good calory intake to fight ketones. Medium carbs should be ok hopefully.

As for the protocol, I'm a bit concerned with 0.25U steps. One thing is to do 0.25 while you are at 1U or more (25% change), another at 0.5U (50% change). I understand that on smaller amounts margin of error is big and can be a significant factor.
 
Last edited:
The bounce sho you of have cleared. Hue are ketones today? Are you feeding as much as he will eat and adding lots of water to the food? It seems you are taking smaller dose changes so I am a bit confused. We do .25 increments and I would go up by .25 tomorrow morning.
 
The bounce sho you of have cleared. Hue are ketones today? Are you feeding as much as he will eat and adding lots of water to the food? It seems you are taking smaller dose changes so I am a bit confused. We do .25 increments and I would go up by .25 tomorrow morning.
He eats a lot past few days, more than ususal. Drinks plenty as well. Ketones are still high, and we've incresed dose to 0.75U.
 
The reason for the small change in dose is to prevent you from flying past what would be a good dose for your cat. If the dose become larger we suggest increasing by more. It's a lot easier on your nerves to raise the dose in smaller amounts and not have to deal with numbers dropping into a very low range than increasing by a large amount and battling to get numbers into a safe zone.
 
The reason for the small change in dose is to prevent you from flying past what would be a good dose for your cat. If the dose become larger we suggest increasing by more. It's a lot easier on your nerves to raise the dose in smaller amounts and not have to deal with numbers dropping into a very low range than increasing by a large amount and battling to get numbers into a safe zone.
That's why I've been trying to increase in even smaller increments initially. Going from 0.5U to 0.75U is +50% dose increase. Going from 1U to 1.25U is just +25%. We are now at 0.75U and will see how it works for a few days. It does seems already that pre-shots are getting closer to 300, which is nice.
 
Back
Top