3/14 Pearl PMPS 114, +1.75 56/94, +3 92

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning!

Pearl is off to a good start on her new dose (I hope). I skipped her shot last night because I just couldn't bear the thought of another all-nighter. She is back to getting a lot of her much loved MC food.

Chessie is still struggling with her breathing, although improved. I also have finally got a handle on the diarrhea so maybe can slow down on the laundry today. I think I will add in some Cyphroheptadine as an experiment to help with congestion, and see if I can get some traction with that today.

Hope all the kitties are also off to a good start this morning!

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-13-pearl-am-reduction-pmbg-73-no-shot.244619/#post-2759606
 
Glad you got some rest last night, Margaret :bighug: Pearl seems to be surfing away :cat:

Hope Chessie feels better :bighug: FWIW, I gave Jax a therapeutic dose of s. boulardii while he was on antibiotics after his dental - not sure if Chessie is on any probiotics but they can help especially when on antibiotics (I was told to give it at least two hours after the antibiotic to not interfere with the ab effectiveness).
 
Cypro would make sense because in addition to it being a good appetite stim it's also an antihistamine. Hope it works for Chessie, Margaret! :bighug:
 
Glad you got some rest last night, Margaret :bighug: Pearl seems to be surfing away :cat:

Hope Chessie feels better :bighug: FWIW, I gave Jax a therapeutic dose of s. boulardii while he was on antibiotics after his dental - not sure if Chessie is on any probiotics but they can help especially when on antibiotics (I was told to give it at least two hours after the antibiotic to not interfere with the ab effectiveness).
It's so funny you write this about the S. Boulardii, I almost included my story in the original post, but thought, nah, that is too long. Wellll....since you asked for it, LOL!

I actually give Chessie Jarrow's S. Boulardii + MOS daily (4! capsules) to combat the diarrhea. I know it should work. It must work. But for a long time it only worked very minimally (long standing IBD problems). Then, I got keyed in to Potassium. Someone told me that if her Potassium was too LOW (even if within normal range), the probiotic wouldn't work. I thought to myself "hmm". Her Potassium in general is actually low-normal. I asked the vet about a supplement - no way Jose was she going to give one. So I thought...I will test this myself. I gave her sub q fluids along with the 4 capsules. Worked LIKE A CHARM. I mean, the poop is still too soft and needs to firm up, but it is solid and ropey and a proper poop. So, about every 5 days I have to give more sub q fluids, and she will continue with the solid poops until she needs more fluids again.

Sounds weird huh?

So when she got the dental, theoretically she gets IV fluids. And I didn't know how much and didn't want to over hydrate her (heart). So I didn't give fluids for 3 days. She wasn't drinking AT ALL, and finally I figured...ok enough is enough and she is getting fluids. Yep, stool solidified. So, we are back with that! Now, to only getting her eating and drinking of her own accord. I am still finger feeding Gerber ALL DAY every day. And no drinking on her own. She can't figure out how to do it. She gags on the food, I know it is so weird for her to have no teeth and she doesn't know what to do with her tongue when she is licking or where to put it. Just a learning curve issue I hope!
 
proper poop
Goodness you are the best bean for Chessie to figure this out!

Gerber ALL DAY every day
Aww sweet chessie :bighug: no chance you have EZ Complete or equivalent? You could mix that in to help the nutrient factor. I will say Jax really liked his few scoops of Gerber turkey :p

doesn't know what to do with her tongue
I can imagine! Does she have any canines left? She'll learn, I'm sure!

Do you have a recheck scheduled for her? I took Jax (fractious kitty here...) back in about 10 days after to get a once over. Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope Pearl is feeling okay to with spring here (hubby is already sneezing and the real brunt of pollen is not even here yet!).
 
no chance you have EZ Complete or equivalent? You could mix that in to help the nutrient factor.

I can imagine! Does she have any canines left? She'll learn, I'm sure!

Do you have a recheck scheduled for her? :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope Pearl is feeling okay to with spring here (hubby is already sneezing and the real brunt of pollen is not even here yet!).

No EZ Complete (sigh). I honestly was not expecting this. She is usually such a good eater of her own foods. I should probably go ahead and purchase some, good idea thanks!

She has 3 canines left, 2 bottom 1 top. And she has the teeny teeth in between the top canine part left. THAT IS IT. I get so nervous hearing her gag makes me wonder if it's a stitch or something but it only happens when she eats, so I figure she is trying to figure out how to eat and can't quite grasp it yet.

Yes, she has a recheck a week from Monday.

THanks for good wishes for Pearl - 2 asthma attacks already this Spring. I'm going ot have to go back to changing my clothes and showering every time I leave the house soon (seriously). I hope this year isn't too bad - for your hubby too!!
 
WOW what an amazing mama you are... your girls are so lucky to have you. You take such great care of them.
Sending good vibes to everyone tonight for a peaceful evening and I hope you have a great cycle and get some rest too. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top