? 3/14 Panic AMPS 128 +2 56 +2.5 52 +3 59 +3.5 56 +4 51 +4.5 49 +5 47 +5.5 52 +6 50 +6.5 50 +7.5 48

Eep!

Did you re-test the number? Always a good idea when you get something that's a bit out of the blue, sometimes it's just an error.

In any case, let's see if the MC does its job at the next test! Hold off on HC until she's below 50 (hopefully not!).
 
You know what I didn't this time! I'm getting used to those greens so assumed it was right. I just checked (+15 min) and it's 52, so it's accurate. Will test at +2.5 to report where's she's at!

Glad to know the MC was a good choice.
 
Yes, although generally you do want to stick to LC until they go under 50. Going low is scary, but it's also a signal about the insulin dose. You don't want to over-do the carbs trying to prevent dips under 50 if that means that you prevent Panic from asking you for a reduction when she wants it.

In this case, early in the cycle and breaking a bounce so that she's hitting the 50's right about the time when the AM dose is starting to get active, I think it's good to err on the side of caution. Just wanted to clarify why it's not general practice to use MC in the 50's.

If Panic really wants a reduction, I suspect she'll let you know soon anyway!
 
Yes, if she were later in the cycle I would have stuck to the LC until she dipped, but she's got a long way to go haha. Do hope she earns a reduction though!

+2.5 is 52. More MC?
 
Oops, sorry I had to step away for a bit. I see you got 59 at +3-- did you do MC at +2.5? Either way, I'd stick with LC for now, let's see what else she has in mind.

Edit: ah, your +3 post popped up just as I was posting this. All good!
 
Yup, there it is, she's made her point. Kinda had a feeling she was going to today!

It's actually still early in the cycle (just feels late given that she hit the ground running today!), so definitely yes on the MC!
 
Ah that's true, still not nadir yet haha. +5 is 47, gave a teensy more MC.
Does she not earn a reduction until she drops under 40 since she's not a new sugar cat?
 
Does she not earn a reduction until she drops under 40 since she's not a new sugar cat?

I believe the cutoff for "long-term diabetic" is usually a year, right? Which would mean that she juuuuust squeaks in under the wire ;). If you do want to follow the long-term diabetic guideline, it's one drop under 40 or three drops under 50 (in different cycles).
 
I know, she's so close! :woot: I guess I'll see what the rest of the cycle does. I'm so anxious to reduce but if she needs to hang on a bit longer then that's what she needs. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top