3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123, +4 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good afternoon,
We had an exhilarating day and disheartening evening yesterday. Mookie bounced between a low of 48 and a high of 483 in 6 hours. I increased his AM dose by .25U and he dropped below 50 at +6, so I decreased his PM dose by shaving off a drop.

The next time he has early, low greens I'm going to try HC to bring his numbers up to blue for a surf rather than trying to maintain a surf in green. I'm thinking that Mookie needs to have more blues before his liver can handle the greens, which in turn may hinder the bounces.

This morning he was back to yellow, but as usual with such high numbers overnight he's pretty worn out and hungry today. He's a resilient little guy though so he'll be back on his paws in no time.

Wishing everyone a peaceful day. Extra scritches today for Sid, Zener, Rupert, and Kitsi, and hugs for their beans.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

Mookie - u iz NOT a ball, dat wuz tu much ov a bouns!

Hugs Randa!!! We'll just celebrate yesterday right now.... :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

Hi Randa, omg with the low 48 and then the high 483 in six hours. That sounds like a good plan to feed the hc to try and bring the numbers up to a blue surf. Each cat is so different and you're finding what's working for Mookie by experimenting. I had to laugh when you said that Mookie is more talkative than Siamese Henry and you've taught him the hand signal and "Shhh". :lol: I should give it a try with Maggie, especially the "shhh" in the middle of the night.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

Dont get discouraged, an all yellow day brings blue & green the next..Trial & error is what works here, that's what we do, and find the right dose ...You had to expect the bounce today, but we also know that Mookie Moose likes to be a Rainbow sometimes...Hope he comes down tonite & surprises us all..
Just keep the patience pants nearby!
Hugs & love from us!! :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

Wow, that is a bounce. :roll: Nice to see Mookie coming back to yellow.
Liz
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

If i gave Binks a hand signal, I'm afraid I'd get a rude gesture right back!

Shhh%2Bcat.jpg
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie AMPS 391, +3 257, +5.5 293, +7 281

great pic, celi!

I decided to wait on Mookie's food and shot until 7:30, even though I'm pretty sure his number is dropping. Normal shot time is 7:00.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMBG 107 stalling

And now back to blue at shot time. :cool: How about just a little rise so your bean can give you your shot, Mookie? Is he feeling better?
Liz
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMBG 107 stalling

I'm wondering why you stalled Randa? Just curious not hassling, it looks like a similar situation to 3/10.

Expecting great things from you today Mookie!
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+5.5 293, +7 281, +12 107 stalling

Hi, Liz, yes he's better; just hungry. This is my first time stalling. I'm thinking food and half dose at 7:30.

Serryn, I don't want to set off another bad bounce and I'm thinking 2.0 might be too much for him. What do you think?
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+5.5 293, +7 281, +12 107 stalling

Are you worried because this may be a dropping number?

I would get a test at +12.3 and see where the numbers are.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+5.5 293, +7 281, +12 107 stalling

Yes, Sienne, I think it's dropping. I'll test him now and post.

update:
+12.3 106 not much change
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+5.5 293, +7 281, +12 107 stalling

Someone more experienced may have a different view about Mookie in particular but my general thoughts are the shoot low to stay low thing. I think the more consistent you can be the better - unless it is a safety issue. Looking at his ss he didn't bounce nearly as high as he often does when you did that on 3/10. Just my thoughts as I said someone with more experience may have a different view about Mookie's particular situation.

ETA: Can you do a f1.75, is that different from a s2.0? I haven't had to microdose as yet.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+5.5 293, +7 281, +12 107 stalling

Good luck Randa. Up you go Mookie - your bean would like to give you your shot. yes, she would! I think this may be a shoot-able number, but as I have said before - you need to be comfortable with it.

The food does take some experimentation to see what work works best. Sounds good to try the HC when Mookie has early low greens - it would be good to try and get him to even out the cycles. When you have a chnace check out Mannie's SS and see how I feed. Maybe something like that will help Mookie and these dives. Mannie is/was a diver, and we have had many cycles like you had yesterday with Mookie. Getting him to flatten out took alot of patience, but we did get there. I too try to keep Mannie out of the low greens - as I know when he goes there we get these awful Bounces.

I hope your day has been a good one, and that Mookie will let you shoot soon. One of the things I did with Mannie, when I had a low PS number like that was feed him an MC/CH food from the get-go. It takes monitoring, but with him I was bale to control the cycle that way.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106 stalling

Thanks, Serryn - your observations & comments are always welcome

Thanks, Michelle - I'll take a look at Mannie's SS to see how you've managed him
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106 stalling

you shot lower on 3/10 and it worked great! Don't worry about the bounces. They happen, but will get lower and shorter in time. Actually, it looks to me like Mookie is clearing bounces in just one or two cycles, so they're already getting shorter.

Really, your best bet is to shoot on time so the insulin has a chance to kick in *before* the bounce starts. If he starts heading up, at least the Lantus will be working by then.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106 stalling

Can you do a f1.75, is that different from a s2.0? I haven't had to microdose as yet.

Maybe a little HC with breakfast too?
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106 stalling

ok - I'll go ahead and feed him and give him his shot. I'll post his numbers. Thank you. I just hate those terrible bounces and feel like I'm somehow causing them.

ETA: yes, Serryn, I'm going to cut it back a little because we're late now.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106, +12.6 120 :)

He's 120 so I'm good to go, back in my comfort zone. Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106, +12.6 120 :)

You're not very late so it probably doesn't count as a reduction but don't forget that usually shooting late is like a reduced dose in itself. I just thought a slight shave would make you feel more comfortable :smile: I am just taking Meg out for a run for an hour or so. I will be back to see how you're going later - expecting great things Mookie!!!

ETA: for anyone lurking Randa monitors very closely so the shooting of what might be a dropping number is not such an issue.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106, +12.6 120 :)

Good luck! it's nice when they come up sooner than later, and you didn't loose too much time either. I am sure you will, but I'd get a+1, and a +2 to see how the cycle is shaping up. Surf nicely Mookie.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie...+7 281, +12 107, +12.3 106, +12.6 120 :)

Sorry about the wild ride. I hope that he will help you out and smoooooth it out a bit!

images
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120

will do on the +1 and +2, Michelle - thanks for the reminder

thanks, Kim, for the support and laughter you provide
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120

hi Randa - sounds good. I just know that for me it (getting that +1 and +2) is as much of a stress reliever as anything else... and can feed accordingly if I need too.

I love kim's photo - that is good.

have a good night!
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107

hi Randa - Mookie is looking good! If you are concerned about his +2, as it is lower than his PS number, I'd start feeding some high carb food, if you aren't already. I often do this with Mannie at this point of the cycle if I want to slow things down. You've done great with Mookie tonight - there really are very good numbers... nerve wracking, but great. just keep the fuds coming.

I remember all too well being in your situation and not at all comfortable with shooting lows. Been at this a long time, now it's no big deal for me to shoot low - as I know have the data to know what will happen, more often than not, with Mannie, and what to do, food wise, to control the numbers. It all comes with experience, trying this and that, learning as one travels this road with our furkids. You will get there too. Well done tonight. :-D

I need to sign off here as it is really late for me, as I have a very early morning. There should be others around if you need help. have a good night, and mookie - you have a great cycle: no diving, OK?.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

Is the +3 a food number? It would be great if you could get him surfing along here :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

I gave him about a tsp of MC at +2 and about 2 tsp of LC at +3. I haven't really figured out how food affects Mookie's numbers yet, because he always seems to be either going into or coming out of a bounce.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

Sounds good, I'm very excited to see what happens with him today. Maybe for today's experiment give a little more MC if he goes under 110.

Hope he doesn't go and hide in the laundry basket on you again with all the pokies though :lol:
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

Thanks for the tip on the MC -- the Lantus should start working soon.
Poor Mookie hiding in the laundry basket. He's probably already found a new place now that I'm onto that one. :lol:
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

Good job, Randa. I agree you could have shot the +12. Not shooting makes the numbers worse the next cycle. When Gracie was on lantus, I shot every number above 50 and she liked to give me dropping numbers as she cleared her bounces. The important thing is to know if he does this and start feeding higher carb food from PMPS until they are rising.

I think a few things can help the bouncing not be so bad. It if they are a bouncer, they will bounce and you can't stop them until they are ready. I think things that help control the bouncing are controlling the dives, not over feeding HC, and keeping them from getting too low. Yes, at first bounces happen when they even go into blue.

The other thing is that stalling or shooting a reduced dose is more beneficial in helping new members get used to shooting low and full dose. Because of the cumulative nature of lantus, quite often even a skipped shot results in the same kind of cycle that would have played out with an on-time full dose. It's the next day that you start to see the effects.

It's all learning and you are now learning lots of new things as Mookie decides to start getting into lower numbers.
 
Re: 3/14 Mookie PMPS 120, +1 139, +2 107, +3 123

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
What did I tell ya about the yellow cycle being followed by A BLUE OR GREEN!!!
And HE DID IT!!!! :RAHCAT
Always check your SS to see whatbhas happened & if you have shot the dose at a certain number before..
If you did & it was OK, it will be again--Shoot low to stay low is a pretty god phrase, depending where the numbers are!
Moonie got back to some green numbers today & is bouncing tonite--OH Welll!!!! They're cats!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Bouncing is a part of the whole process and you dont have to fear them, but accept them & learn how to have a bit more control of them..You & Mookster are STILL doing Great! Hugs & Ni Ni from us!! Good job!
 
hmmmm - I could probably safely go to bed now, but I'm too curious about where Mookie's numbers are going in the next hour or two. I still have some juice in me, too, so I'm going to try to stay awake for a bit longer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top