3/14 Michelangelo AMPS 106, +4/258 PMPS 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

My cousin and her family and her sister, my other cousin, are in town this week and I haven't seen them in years! I got to hang out with them last night and I was supposed to go out to dinner with them tonight. I've been trying to adjust Mikey's shot time slightly over the course of this week so I'd be able to meet up with them earlier tonight without having to leave an hour after arriving to go home to give Mikey his shot. So, last night's shot was at 6:45 pm and this morning's shot was supposed to be at 6:15 am with the evening's shot also at 6:15 pm (half hour a day increments). Instead, his 6:15 am pre-shot test spewed out a 90! :mrgreen: Fantastic...if I were working from home today. :roll: I was planning on skipping entirely, that way tonight's shot, I could get in even earlier....but I now HATE skipping shots because it takes at least a day or two for him to recover. So, I tested him again at 7:15 am and he gave me a rising 106 (hopefully it wasn't just meter variance). And I shot him!!! nailbite_smile Of course, I'm highly impetuous and hadn't figured out yet how I was going to time his PM shot. ohmygod_smile But it all ended up working out when my cousin had to cancel because the kids have to be in bed (EDT bedtime) before I'll be able to meet up with them after I get off work. That's a :cry: for not getting to see them again tonight but a :smile: for being able to keep Mikey's shots on schedule and not having to skip a shot!

I'm a little worried that his +4/258 is a bounce from an earlier low, but he had plenty of food this morning to keep him up and when I found them this afternoon, they were being their normal, rambunctious kitteny selves, so he seemed none the worse for wear. Maybe he'll be heading back down again in a couple of hours?
 
Re: 3/14 Michelangelo AMPS 106, +4/258

tortie58 said:
Happy 11th month old, Mich! Learn the surgar dance & get better soon!

Thank you! He's working on it. His numbers have definitely been improving this last month, so I think we're almost there! Then again, we might be "almost there" for the next year or longer as he continues to grow. :roll: "Que sera, sera." :-D

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Still hard to imagine such a youngster being diabetic. I thought Chip was young and he was 5. @-)
It's weird to admit out loud, but I'm sort of glad he was diagnosed so young because if he had been older, that means he (and Henry) would have had all those years of dry food making matters worse. Instead, they both got to start out almost from the beginning on good, low carb, wet food. :-D

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Still hard to imagine such a youngster being diabetic. I thought Chip was young and he was 5. @-)

One of my four-year-olds has already disappeared twice inside the house....
...So he's a bolter. He dashes out the (interior) garage door. And then he freezes and hides in fear (for around 9 hours?) when he is in unfamiliar territory. Another time I hadn't even noticed him missing. But I was unloading groceries or something and I hear this crying. There was Digger behind those same boxes. Likely there since I left the house. Fortunately he just cowered in that hidden spot and didn't take the opportunity to bolt for the great outdoors when the garage door was up.

This is totally Henry! Except once he finds his freedom, he doesn't all of a sudden not know what to do with it. He's a cat that if you give him an inch, he's not just gonna take a mile, he's gonna take a league! He's been bolting out the front door and out the garage door since the beginning. Luckily, I've always been able to entice him back into the house before he gets very far by shaking a bag of treats. He will do anything for treats and will steal Michelangelo's test and shot treats every single damn time so now I have to separate them with a door in order for Mikey to ever be able to get his treat. I wish Mikey would finally figure out that if he just ate the treat faster, he wouldn't keep having this issue, but for whatever reason, he seems to want to savor the treats. confused_cat
 
Re: 3/14 Michelangelo AMPS 106, +4/258

KPassa said:
...He will do anything for treats and will steal Michelangelo's test and shot treats every single damn time so now I have to separate them with a door in order for Mikey to ever be able to get his treat. I wish Mikey would finally figure out that if he just ate the treat faster, he wouldn't keep having this issue, but for whatever reason, he seems to want to savor the treats. confused_cat
Ah Poor Mikey-Mike. :YMHUG:

Perhaps that's what it's like to grow up without competition?

Interesting, Chip is the same way now. He was a 20lb kibble eating machine before he became diabetic. Now he's so finicky and tentative all it takes is a noise and gets distracted from eating. And if someone just looks at his food it's theirs. I have to close him up to get him to eat. And have the difficulty of keeping him isolated with food available when not home.

Chip may be laid back and easy going as a Maine Coon but he's not passive. He's really intent on regaining his status as alpha male, now that he's back to biggest (feline) in the colony. So odd that he's not aggressive about food. @-)
 
Re: 3/14 Michelangelo AMPS 106, +4/258

Dale 'n' Chip said:
...Chip may be laid back and easy going as a Maine Coon but he's not passive. He's really intent on regaining his status as alpha male, now that he's back to biggest (feline) in the colony. So odd that he's not aggressive about food. @-)

When Henry first arrived, they definitely established order immediately with Mikey as the Alpha and Henry as the Beta. The funny thing is, Mikey has that same laid-back, but non-passive Maine Coon mentality so it looks like Mr. Henry T. Asmanian Devil is the Alpha most of the time! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top