3-14-Jones - PMPS 162 - A day of horrors for Jones:).

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
A little high this morning compared to the last couple of days but still in the blue zone which is nice. Think we went low yesterday but DS forgot again. At wits end on that.:banghead: Keep explaining that I don't know if I need to reduce if I don't know how low he went. DS is old enough to get this concept.

His appetite has been good which may be a combination of the mirtz on Friday night and the low possible greens. We have a 2 month vet check today. See how much he weighs and most likely get more BW done.

Safe surfing everyone.
 
Last edited:
So, Jonesy had a bit of a rough day. :blackeye:

  1. DH decided that he was going to try to test today. After a few failed attempts - like 9 to 10, Jones ran away with blood running down his ears. They do look a little battered. So DS decided to do the test and it is of course a little high, but not surprising after all that poking, stress and I am sure swearing and cussing(not sure if that was just on DH side or Jones was thinking something too!).
  2. Went to the vets so not surprised at the PMPS number either. That said the vet visit went well.
    1. She said this is the best shape she has seen him in since August.
    2. He as gained a total 420g which is almost a whole pound!:D So, we need about another 400-500g to get to a nice weight. (He had carried few extra grams before).
    3. His tummy area is still spongy but not as bad as before, so the IBS has improved she figured and there may not be any lymphoma, but can't really say without biopsy. Which she said sometimes comes back as negative then lymphoma pops up anyway. Which corresponds to some of the reading I have done.
    4. She said we didn't need to do blood work but I chose to get it any way as she did say he had some gingivitis that looked pretty inflamed now. So I figured we needed pre-op blood work any way in order to get a dental done. So once we get the results back I will book the dental.
  3. We did talk about pulse dosing of the leukeran but she said if he is doing well it may be something to keep in the back pocket. I am going to think about that one. Because we could do the leukeran and budesonide vs. the prednisolone but then.... see #4
  4. She also said I can try to decrease the dose of all his medications - the cerenia, the metronidazole or the pred. She left it up to me on which one to try. Any body with suggestions?

Oh, and on the mirtz- it is a anti-depressant drug...which is why the cat goes a little loopy for the first little bit. Kitty is on a high. :woot: Asked for the cyphoheptadine which need to be ordered in so I will keep with the mirtz until it is gone and then order it.

On a side note, my vet clinic used to be privately owned. Very pet and owner driven. It was bought out by VCA - not a good development. The prices of the blood work for Jones almost doubled from $250 to $445 - which is at a lab that VCA owns! It is crazy. The dental usually runs about $1000 max (most times it cost me less then quote) now I got a quote for $1400!!! :eek::eek: Asked my vet when is she going to open her own clinic! I guess I really will be looking for a new clinic when she goes on mat leave.
 
Last edited:
What a day, poor Jonesy.

Yikes on those prices! Do you have a dental specialist near you? I got a referral to one near me and the prices were pretty reasonable. Of course it depends on number of extractions, but I was happy to get extra monitoring done during the procedure. And they are used to doing dentals on older animals with issues.

I'm glad Jones has gained weight. That's also an indicator it might be just IBD. I wouldn't go on the pulse dose or any dose of Leukeran unless there's a good chance he has lymphoma. My civie (nor Neko) had biopsies but had successive ultrasounds to diagnose. The biopsy requires anesthesia which Neko couldn't have. Chemo drugs can themselves cause cancer and there's a good chance they'll cause some nausea so I'd stay away from Leukeran until you need to.

You could still switch to budesonide instead of pred and see how that works. It doesn't impact blood sugars. My civvie was on metronazodile at first, then we added pred when it wasn't enough, then stopped the metronazodile after a while. I think you just have to try changes slowly and see what works. ECID.
Asked for the cyphoheptadine which need to be ordered in
I heard it was OTC here. :confused: Might want to ask a pharmacist.
 
Ick. VCA was one of the first of 5 I fired:rolleyes:. Personally I'd give the allergy test some time and read the fine print on food labels. Doodles had the biopsy and I was able to control the IBD once I found the right food eliminating 90% of his allergies and never gave him meds for it. Gaining a bit of weight is great news! Also agree with keeping the Lukeran for later if needed. Mind you I'm very anti pharma so it's just my personal opinion, no more no less. You do a great job with Jonesy so trust your gut either way.
 
VCA was one of the first of 5 I fired

Yeah, my vet is not happy at all. And I am not sure I am impressed with the higher prices and less service.

Do you have a dental specialist near you?

No that I am aware of but can check, but VCA just bought both our specialist clinics in town. They bought 5-6 clinics in the last few months. They have taken over.

Sound advice, thank you Karen and Wendy. I think I will just work on changing him over to more green proteins on his allergy list. That said, the attempt at raw as been a total failure so far. I think I need to warm it up a bit, he will smell it, lick it and maybe take a bite or two - then leave it.

OH, OH...and a huge thank you and :bighug:, to you two as well and the FDMB. The vet was very impressed with his dose reduction and loves what we have done with testing and the spreadsheet and the results. I think we have turned her to our way! She is hoping for remission soon.
 
Last edited:
I agree with trying the bude for a while.... it causes les trouble than the pred.

your prices sound like mine altho the vca isn't in my town.... but I had to go there for the internist. Every dental was 1000 - 1200 but we were constantly having multi teeth pulled.
 
I think I will just working on changing him over to more green proteins on his allergy list
I just took another quick look. The great news is the "red" for fruits & veggies is barely anything which was a big issue for Doodles. Even Jonesy's "Fatty Acid" category should be pretty easy for you to work with. Think you said he didn't do well with ZiwiPeak...after looking at his allergy test seeing Green Lipid Muscle in the red zone ...it doesn't surprise me :(

Very impressive work with those BG's Jonesy....almost there buddy.
 
Green Lipid Muscle in the red zone .

We didn't try ZiwiPeak - but that green lipid muscle knocks out a lot of supplements for home cooked meals and some canned food that was suggested by the person at the pet store! He really likes turkey, which is in the yellow. Loves salmon which is green. He also likes pork, he keeps trying to eat my chop when we make them. Was going to sit down with the ingredient lists and put it against his allergy list and see how we do with what he is eating now and any ones I want to try. Then adjust from there. If I leave all meds alone until done adjusting diet, then I can see about reducing the meds down or switch to something different. Might mean he needs this small dose of juice for a little longer but then I will know what works and what doesn't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top