3/14 Hugo AMPS (121), +2 (121), +4 (102), +6 (61) !? First time lime

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
Hello! Hugo was going lower today than he ever has and I'm panicking a bit. We fed him half a can of high carb wet food, then we were gonna test him in a bit. Should I give him more? How frequently should I test?

He has no symptoms, as well.
 
Hello!

Good catch on that 61! That is definitely too low on an AT2.

Don't feed any more HC (high-carb food) for now-- you want to keep him a little hungry in these events, in case you need him to eat later. Usually, we do just a tsp or two at a time (but I understand the impulse to give him half a can!).

Test again 20-30mins after the food.
 
Hello!

Good catch on that 61! That is definitely too low on an AT2.

Don't feed any more HC (high-carb food) for now-- you want to keep him a little hungry in these events, in case you need him to eat later. Usually, we do just a tsp or two at a time (but I understand the impulse to give him half a can!).

Test again 20-30mins after the food.

Why is that specifically bad on an AlphaTrak2?
 
No food. Do another test in 30 minutes to make sure he isn't dropping again.

Human meters run lower than alpha meter. 68 on alpha means take action, step up testing. Next time if around the 61 number maybe a smidge of med carb depending on the hour of test. +6 is usually the nadir and kitty starts rising up. If the 61 was +2 or +3, high carb would be appropriate. It all depends on timing.
 
No food. Do another test in 30 minutes to make sure he isn't dropping again.

Human meters run lower than alpha meter. 68 on alpha means take action, step up testing. Next time if around the 61 number maybe a smidge of med carb depending on the hour of test. +6 is usually the nadir and kitty starts rising up. If the 61 was +2 or +3, high carb would be appropriate. It all depends on timing.

Thank you. That's very helpful.
 
You can take the 911 down now-- we try to reserve that for life-threatening situations, and I think you have things pretty well under control.

Hugo, of course, would probably like to keep things on high-alert for a while, at least if it gets him some more of that yummy HC food!
 
He's at 150 now. Should he be ok until his night shot?

Should I give him the same dose? I suspect that 3 units is too high for him.
 
I think he's on the way up now, but yes, do one more test (you can stretch the time a bit to an hour from now) to make sure.

He's earned a reduction, down to 2.75U.
 
Back
Top