3/14 Gobbles PMPS 94 +2 81 +4 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90855

Good Morning ~O) It seems like the Vitamin B12 injection yesterday may have jump-started Gobbles' appetite: He ate 3 T. of LC @AMPS. He's in a good mood; I got the morning kissy & purring routine, then he had his breakfast and hit the LB, then preened and went to back to bed. I saw him drinking a little water this morning; a rarity indeed. His numbers are all over the place; his last 2 cycles have been bounces, I'm confident it is a result of all the back-to-back decreases.

Don't forget to buy your raffle tickets & please tell your friends, family, co-workers, etc. about our fun fundraiser! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614 As of 3/14/13 @7:00 AM EST--

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT $210 RAISED :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426

Hi Kat. I think Gobbles and PurrFace need to get with each other and head back down the color ladder together. Glad he has his appetite.

Great job on the fundraiser. Your ticket pricing is great so I hope you sell a lot more.

Have a great day Kat.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426

Would it be ok for Sabrina to join Gobbles & Purrface climbing down that ladder..... :?: Sh loves playing follow-the-leader :lol:
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 LAB result

Gobbles' Vet just called: Antech BG = 131. All labs are good except ALT: 132 (was 127 on 2/26/13); he said to keep him on Denamarin 90mg 1xday. A copy of the complete lab work is being mailed to me, at which time I will add it to his SS Labs.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426

milfordcollector said:
Would it be ok for Sabrina to join Gobbles & Purrface climbing down that ladder..... :?: Sh loves playing follow-the-leader :lol:
Sure--send her over; they can have a race!!! Or else I'll break my "chutes and ladders" game out!
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426

Frosty said:
Hi Kat. I think Gobbles and PurrFace need to get with each other and head back down the color ladder together. Glad he has his appetite.

Great job on the fundraiser. Your ticket pricing is great so I hope you sell a lot more.

Have a great day Kat.
Cindy (Sabrina's Mom) and I are going to organize a game of "Chutes & Ladders" and we'd like PurrFace to play with Gobbles & Sabrina :lol: Thanks for the pat on the back! I thought I'd price the tickets for all budgets.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 +4 259 LAB result

FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER Update:

As of 3/14/13 @1:30 PM EST:
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $230 RAISED!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 +4 259 +9.5 63**after eatin

Yikes! Gobby was 63 at +9.5--a great number, however, that is 1/2 after he ate. DH & I had to run out to get someone's insulin across town and when I came home, I fed all the cats. Gobby woofed down 2/3 can of FFLC. A half hour later, I told my husband he was "sitting there looking dumb" at the ceiling, so I grabbed the gluco-monster and he was at 63 on my Arkray & 60 on my ReliOn. Good thing I fed him! I assume he probably was a bit lower at +9. Tonight's shot will be with a new Pen, however, the pen I replaced it with was only 5.5 weeks old so I doubt there should be a difference in insulin strength....
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 +4 259 +9.5 63**after eatin

Raffle Update-- As of today at 4 PM EST:

party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $275 RAISED! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 +4 259 +9.5 63**after eatin

Glad Gobbles is eating for you. I hope he comes up a little and surfs the rest of the day.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426...326 +4 259 +9.5 63 +10.5 64 ? fe

Maybe a dumb question here, but not as dumb as it would be if not asked :lol:

If I get a low number on Gobbles which needs to be fed "LC"--and say he adamantly refuses to eat...anything at all...short of syringe feeding, would it make a difference to feed him something zero carb? I picked up a can of "all natural" in water tuna...0 carbs...as a "just in case"...would that work (the same as LC cat food)to raise his numbers a little? I have considered milk in the past for the same type of scenario:where he needs to eat but won't eat, though wasn't sure about it...so--would milk or tuna get a low BG up? I do realize milk would probably give him the squirts....
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426...326 +4 259 +9.5 63 +10.5 64 ? fe

IMHO, it's an experiment for you to run and obviously you want to run it when you feel safe numberwise.
I was doing that with Shadow and didn't get to finish my experiments because she wasn't on insulin that long.
If you read other condos, some of them know that their cat can't eat chicken or beef because it spikes their cats bg. They learned that by trial and error.
Back when Shadow would eat TikiCat ( chicken with egg variety 0%carb) I observed her bg going up.... from eating a zero carb.
so as always, ECID. ( it might have been the egg for all I know)

And I know someone who used a dropper and gave her cat low fat milk as a treat for testing and to bring up her bg when she dropped low. (Her cat didn't like any of the treats)

You have to experiment to learn how your cat responds to different proteins, different brand of food.
Take notes of what you feed , and when and look for patterns.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426 +4 326 +4 259 +9.5 63**after eatin

carfurby said:
Glad Gobbles is eating for you. I hope he comes up a little and surfs the rest of the day.
Thank you so much for stopping by :smile: He hasn't come up just yet, but I do hope he does a bit by PMPS.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426...326 +4 259 +9.5 63 +10.5 64 ? fe

rhiannon and shadow said:
IMHO, it's an experiment for you to run and obviously you want to run it when you feel safe numberwise.
I was doing that with Shadow and didn't get to finish my experiments because she wasn't on insulin that long.
If you read other condos, some of them know that their cat can't eat chicken or beef because it spikes their cats bg. They learned that by trial and error.
Back when Shadow would eat TikiCat ( chicken with egg variety 0%carb) I observed her bg going up.... from eating a zero carb.
so as always, ECID. ( it might have been the egg for all I know)

And I know someone who used a dropper and gave her cat low fat milk as a treat for testing and to bring up her bg when she dropped low. (Her cat didn't like any of the treats)

You have to experiment to learn how your cat responds to different proteins, different brand of food.
Take notes of what you feed , and when and look for patterns.
Thanks for your response. ECID = :lol: I checked the carbs in the milk we drink (low-fat and whole each have 4%) and I am thinking, if need be, I could add a little karo to the milk and offer him maybe a T. should he go too low...hopefully, I won't have to try it, but I had such a hard time, the last two "40 something" incidents that I am trying to prepare, just in case it happens again :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426.326..+9.5 63 +10.5 64 +11.65 70 ?s

Stall? Hard call--see below (shot time would be at +12 = 7 pm EST)

Recap Today:

AMPS 426
+4 326
+6 259
+9 -- no test--he ate 2/3 c. LC
+9.5 63 --1 t. LC
+10.5 64 --1 T. MC 14%
+11.5 70 -- 1 T. LC
+12 62 -1 t. MC (14%)

'Shot time was 7 pm....
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Normally, we do not feed if we are stalling, unless the cat is in the 40s.

It looked like he was surfing along nicely.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Dyana said:
Normally, we do not feed if we are stalling, unless the cat is in the 40s.

It looked like he was surfing along nicely.
His numbers were in the 60s because I was feeding him....I suppose...I have no idea what to do. Right now, he is only 30 minutes past his regular shot time
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

You have 3 choices. Skip, BCS at shot time (not recommended with stalling in the same cycle), or stall and shoot the regular dose once he's high enough for you to feel comfortable shooting. What number would that be for you?
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Dyana said:
You have 3 choices. Skip, BCS at shot time (not recommended with stalling in the same cycle), or stall and shoot the regular dose once he's high enough for you to feel comfortable shooting. What number would that be for you?
77--though I wonder if that # would be a "food influenced" one? I will test at +12.90 - 5 minutes
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Okay. That's something to see if he gets too, which I'm sure he will. I would stall without feeding and test about every half hour or 45 minutes until he gets to a BG that is rising and that you are comfortable shooting.
I think I would have said 90 ;-)
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Dyana said:
Okay. That's something to see if he gets too, which I'm sure he will. I would stall without feeding and test about every half hour or 45 minutes until he gets to a BG that is rising and that you are comfortable shooting.
I think I would have said 90 ;-)
K...I must be a little braver than I thought (the reasoning was I shot a 77 on 3/9...however, just dawned on me that I don't think he ate 2 hours prior to the PMBG). I will test then at +13 and not feed. If 89 (lol) or over, I will shoot :lol:
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

You can stall another half hour or your can shoot. Your shot schedule is flexible, so that is a luxury you have.
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64 +11.5 70 PMBG 62 ? stalli

Dyana said:
You can stall another half hour or your can shoot. Your shot schedule is flexible, so that is a luxury you have.
The best choice I feel I can make is to stall another half hour and get a test; just to make sure he is in fact rising, since he did eat just an hour before the +13 86; that way, it will be 1.5 hours since he last ate. Should he be at 86, or higher, I will certainly shoot :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/14 Gobbles AMPS 426..63.. 64...70 PMBG 62 +13 86

Well, at +13.5 he's at 82. Guess I'll wait and test again in a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top