3/14 Elie Update+11 100, +12 79, +13 140, +14 131, +22 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Thanks to all for your support last night. We made it through and the food kicked in/insulin wore off around 11pm. We were relieved to have the midnight test at 112 so we could go to bed. :-D

Today seems to be a great day so far...I'll admit I prefer to be in the blues! We are planning on 1 unit tonight.

Tanya
 

Attachments

  • Elie.jpg
    Elie.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 652
Re: 3/14 Elie AMPS 288, +2 257, +4 187, +6 146, +9 106

Those greens can be a bit scary to start off with but you'll get used to them in no time, that +9 looks like a green to me if I squint :mrgreen:

Don't foget to link yesterday's condo to today to keep the thread going. Do you know how to do that?
 
Re: 3/14 Elie AMPS 288, +2 257, +4 187, +6 146, +9 106

Thank you by the way,

Yes, those greens are a bit scary right now because we don't know his patterns yet and how long the food takes to kick in. He really stalled out in the greens last night.

I don't want to get too confident from the good numbers today...we have another 6 or 7 hours to go till bedtime...plus another 1 unit! lol

Tanya
 
Re: 3/14 Elie +4 187, +6 146, +9 106, +11 100

Green +11 - 100 - I hope this is the bottom.

We were hoping to have a consistent day of shooting and not worry about giving 1 unit at +12 tonight. Advice?

The insulin seems to stay working in his system a long time...Do cats ever have a shot just once a day?

Everyday is an adventure! confused_cat
 
Re: 3/14 Elie AMPS 288, +2 257, +4 187, +6 146, +9 106

With Lantus, once a day shots are not such a good idea. It's been done but not after a lot of other alternatives are explored. If pre-shot numbers are too low to give a shot, it's better to reduce the dose so you can shoot the same dose consistently.

Let's see what Elie's PMPS looks like. If it's a rising number, you should be fine to shoot.

Also, when you get new test data, you need to change the subject line in your first post in the thread. It's only the subject line in that first post that's visible on the Board.
 
Re: 3/14 Elie +6 146, +9 106, +11 100 +12 79

Not really a 911, but could really use some help. I wish they had an "eek" or an "ughh" icon.

+12 - 79 No nadir yet.

Yesterday we ran into the same thing...a really long cycle with a 2 unit AM Shot. No pm shot was given and we gave 1 unit this morning. We were hoping to give a PM 1 unit tonight, but I don't think its gonna happen. I guess we go to .5 unit tomorrow.

We are having trouble with finding our dose. We are less than a week in.

I will note that he is feeling much better overall and is having some good "poops" now. He was not going #2 regularly prior to beginning insulin and feeding mariners catch. Our vet hopes this is transient diabetes. Me too.

Tanya
 
Re: 3/14 Elie +6 146, +9 106, +11 100, +12 79

Skip and get a good nights sleep. I would think trying 0.75 tomorrow morning (rather than 0.5) might be the way to go but others may step in and advise you otherwise.

Don't forget that no one can see the 911 unless you put it in the subject line of your original post and yes it's okay to use it when you need an immediate response because it's shooting time but I don't think you need to go back and put it in now because the skip is on. It does tend to get the adrenalin racing when we see a 911!

However, it would be good for you to edit your original posts subject line and add 'DOSE QU' to it so you can get some more views on what to shoot tomorrow - numbers permitting of course!
 
Re: 3/14 Elie +6 146, +9 106, +11 100, +12 79

How you want to proceed is up to you. If you can stay up to monitor, you could stall. If not, you can skip.

I agree that you should lower the dose tomorrow. 0.5u is fine. Let's hope that dose will let you shoot both at AM & PM.
 
Re: 3/14 Elie DOSE QU+9 106, +11 100, +12 79, no nadir

I'm such a forum idiot lol.

Thanks for checking in. It is frustrating. We are feeding him as much as we can stuff in him. We are actually following him around with a spoon if he walks away from his plate. (he's a grazer and was eating more hard food prior to beginning insulin). I got 1/2 can in him! yay!

Tanya and Elie.
 
Re: 3/14 Elie DOSE QU+9 106, +11 100, +12 79, no nadir

Grazing is fine! Most of us add water to canned food. Not only is it good for the kidneys but it keeps the canned food from getting crusty if your cat grazes. Another option is to make "catsickles." You mix water and cat food and freeze in an ice cube tray. The catsickles melt and you have fresh food.

I wouldn't assume there's not nadir. If you keep skipping shots, there's no real way to know how a cycle is playing out. It could also be the Elie has a late nadir. If that's the case, the low point is at shot time and the highs are mid-cycle.
 
Re: 3/14 Elie DOSE QU+9 106, +11 100, +12 79, no nadir

The last few days he's coming down right after shot and staying down. Didn't come up till midnight.

He was super low energy, lethargic, circling to the left, not eating, not pooping last week. He had lost a few pounds and was peeing lakes and drinking a ton. We were instructed to "stuff" HC food in him with vitamin B and antibiotics.

He's now done with antibiotics as of Sunday, and he is now curious, energetic (except for the fact we keep disturbing his naps to test), peeing normally, not drinking very much and mostly willing to eat.

We fed him:

1/4 can before AMPS, 1/4 can at +4, 1/4 can +8, 1/2 can +12.

Is it possible he was diabetic due to some kind of other illness?
 
Re: 3/14 Elie DOSE QU+9 106, +11 100, +12 79, no nadir

Diabetes can be caused by a variety of things including chronic inflammation or infection.

Good luck with the lower dose; I hope it allows you to shoot more consistently.
 
Re: 3/14 Elie Update+9 106, +11 100, +12 79, +13 140, +14 13

i'd also encourage you to drop the dose so you can shoot twice tomorrow.

what may be happening is that elie's pancreas is healing and starting to help with things. this is a great thing! although a little nervewracking along the way.

great numbers today!

i think you can let him eat as much as he wants and not worry about following him around or pushing food into him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top