3/14 Eeyore AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 PMPS=421 +2=317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Member Since 2009
Daily Digest:
PMPS=577. Wellness Chicken, shot 1 unit.
PMPS+9=376.
AMPS=379. Evo out, shot 1 unit. WCR: Adjusting.
+4=387.
+6=407
PMPS=421. Wellness chicken, 1.25U
+2=317. :-D
***********************************************************

Morning, LL!

Here's Eeyore's Welcome home thread...viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9091

He is diabetic, and I started him on 1 unit last night. I chose a small dose for two reasons; I don't have a real history on him, and he's been eating dry cat and dog food. I think with the change in diet, his numbers will come down a lot, so until I am sure his system is clear of "crack", I don't want to dose him too high. But with his PMPS being 577, I didn't want to leave him without any insulin, either.

He's quite interested in food...I haven't caught him in the box or drinking water, but I am sure he is doing both...

WCR: trying to figure out the household. He's going to be one big, gorgeous boy once he's stabilized, and he will be vetted tomorrow afternoon at my vets office. He is also a sweetheart...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379

This boy has either never eaten, or believes food will be removed before he's full, or thinks that other cats will eat it before he can. He's been eating steadily for the last 1/2 hour - some chicken chubs, and now a full serving of breakfast. I think he's finally full. He hit the water, drank some (although not a scary amount), hopped into the box (ketones: negative), and now is wandering around. Hasn't groomed that I know of, but I'm sure that's coming.

He is a very interesting cat. It seems he has some food issues, but those will work themselves out over time. Right now, I want him to learn that food is available all the time, and that there is enough of it, so he doesn't get quite so possessive of the entire kitchen when food is out. Of course, this means some wastage, but the learning will come.

Other than that, he got himself tested (not too hard), and got a shot. I am sure once he gets some subq fat, it won't bother him as much...but he does flinch and squirm a bit with the needle. No biggie, he just needs some padding (he has absolutely NONE), and to learn that this is part of life, and that it really doesn't hurt as much as he thinks it does. LOL.

This will be a big learning curve for him...but he'll adjust. He's really a decent cat, although without any fat and little hair, he looks a lot like a bulldog with a Maine Coon face. Cracks me up...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376

Hi Michelle, It's so wonderful that you were able to take Eeyore and give him a real life. Stu welcomes him to the group and wishes you all the best.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376

I just finished reading your post about Eeyore in Community. You are one incredible lady. You take care of a house and barn full of animals. You care for your dad. You are finishing school. You have a heart of pure gold that is a big as all outdoors. I just don't know how you do it all. I suspect that all of the 4-legged and 2-legged people that have you in their lives are very fortunate and grateful.

Congrats on the new addition to your home and I hope Eeyore and the other kitties reach detente or better, soon.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376

Congratulations on the new addition! Sounds like a little bit of a challenge but one I'm willing to bet you are more than up to.

Can you feed him in an enclosure? I know that feeding some dogs in crates, doors closed, makes them much more calm eaters. We feed Rosie in a closet (plenty of floor space in there) with a light on and a cat door so she can get out when she wants to and she eats more slowly that way.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376

Hi Michele! Welcome Eeyore!!!!!

Somehow, you taking in a sugar kitty doesn't surprise me at all!

Can't wait to see some pictures of the boy. Glad to hear his introduction is going ok for now!

Thank you for being willing to open your heart and home to Mr. Eeyore.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376

Sienne and Gabby said:
I just finished reading your post about Eeyore in Community. You are one incredible lady. You take care of a house and barn full of animals. You care for your dad. You are finishing school. You have a heart of pure gold that is a big as all outdoors. I just don't know how you do it all. I suspect that all of the 4-legged and 2-legged people that have you in their lives are very fortunate and grateful.

Congrats on the new addition to your home and I hope Eeyore and the other kitties reach detente or better, soon.
No, Sienne, not incredible. Yes, I take care of a lot, but **I** am the fortunate one. They continuously teach me things, show me things, and shower me with love. I'm the blessed one indeed. And yes, they'll reach detente soon...it will become the peaceful kitty house again in no time. He's just learning the ropes, and trying to figure out what's happened to him...of course that's going to upset him.

No, Amy, it shouldn't surprise you. LOL...he definitely needs some help, so here he is.

I'm just so glad I can help; with sponsorship from Venita, I can do this...without it, I sure couldn't swing it financially at all. YAY Venita.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387

congrats on your new addition. I will happily follow his progress and can't wait to see the progress pics!

poor thing - locked in a closet, not knowing where and when his next meal will arrive. Hopefully he will realize that is his past life and his new life is filled with love, care and lots of yummy food!
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387

Let me be very clear - I don't think he was locked in the closet (or mostly so). There were three crates - big, medium, small - stacked on top of each other. There were dogs in there when I first arrived, and after I told them dogs were fine, they opened the door. The two dogs came out, but the two cats were already out...dunno if they are always out, but they were out when I got there. At one point, one dog was told "go to bed" and he went right into the closet and the door was shut (with no light). I think this was to prevent him from going out with us while we brought supplies to the car, but it was clear to me that the dog knew where he was supposed to go, and went there right away.

My feeling is that all the animals are 'put up' at night, or when guests come. There is no reason for a third crate if there are only two dogs, right? But I didn't see Eeyore in there at all. I was very upset to see that setup...very upset. To me, there is no reason (other than perhaps what Amy suggested) for animals in a closet. And of course, that's just my opinion and my assumption.

Whatever the case, Eeyore is here now, with full run of the house, all the food he can eat, and good treatment of his diabetes. I did get a dipstick test this morning, and it was negative for ketones. And right this moment, he is playing with a colorful mousie behind the armchair. Abby is sitting on top of the armchair, wondering what is going on down there...and hoping she won't have to move. LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

So, I'm thinking he needs more than 1 unit. LOL.

If I go by the weight (and I don't trust my scale...), he's +/-8 lbs (he does feel like that, too...I picked up a 10 pound bag of sugar, and he weighs less). In kg, that would be 3.6. I am thinking of bringing him to 1.5U today, and see what happens...

He is showing **all** clinical signs of diabetes - significant hunger, significant thirst, significant peeing, high blood glucose readings. I know this is a slow process, but I really think his dose needs to come UP a bit, at least for this first week while transitioning occurs. I realize he's pretty stressed - new environment, new food, new cats, new bean...boy, his world is upside down! - but I think that increasing by 0.5U to 1.5U would be a good move. If he weren't showing all clinical signs, I'd be staying at the 1 week suggestion, but he's textbook diabetes right now, and I think increasing 0..5U is a good move.

And I have to say, it's certainly NOT helping that there is a crew tearing up the sidewalk and laying concrete; the noise is bothering me...I can only imagine how stressed he is with that on top of everything else! Poor Eeyore...

Your opinion, please? Thanks!

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

Michelle, protocol says hold first dose 5-7 days to let shed build up. He's not throwing ketones, so I think you may want to hold for now. Just my $.02 :smile:

Let's see what others have to say though.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

Jen and Oreo said:
Michelle, protocol says hold first dose 5-7 days to let shed build up. He's not throwing ketones, so I think you may want to hold for now. Just my $.02 :smile:

Let's see what others have to say though.
I know it does...but...I 'made up' the first dose...and I know my vet will want to put him on 3 right away. But that I won't do. I just think that as we're rising at +6, that he will be superhigh again by dinner, and that 1 unit isn't giving him enough. 'Course, it's just the middle of the first day, and he's superstressed, so...

And no, he's not throwing ketones (although he's definitely peeing a LOT).

Just want to get this guy a bit more help...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

I know Michelle :smile: It's so hard to see those high numbers.

Let's see what the others say, they might see that it's ok to go ahead and jump start him a bit.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

No advice from me! But for all you do... this hug is for you!!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

First, can you unlock Eeyore's SS so we can see it. I think you forgot whatever that step is that allows anyone to view.

The weight based dose calculation for Lantus is predicated on ideal weight (dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kg). I'm not sure you actually know what this guy's ideal weight is. To be honest, the weight calculation usually winds up in the rough neighborhood of 1.0u. You've outlined all of the stressors. Once Eeyore gets acclimated and he gets all of the nasty dry food out of his system, I think it's likely that you'll see a drop in his numbers. I'd rather preach patience here than have you worrying about 2 kitties whose numbers could drop while you're at school.

How old is he? Was he already on insulin or did you start him on a dose?
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

Sienne, I didn't realize it was locked. Not much info there to see, but I'll try to figure out what to do.

I have NO idea what his ideal weight would be; he was on vetsulin 1 unit BID, but he was having superhigh numbers, bouncing around, and very little consistency in his dosing.

I want his numbers to drop...at least a bit. LOL. I know it will take some time to get the dry out of his system, and to settle in here...I just nearly fell over with the 577 last night, you know? He's hovering around 400 today, seems like it's been all day...so maybe once the shed gets built and filled he'll respond with lower numbers.

I should be patient. I'm not terribly patient, but I really should be moreso. Sigh. Like emptying out the ocean with a spoon, you know? Me and patience don't know each other too well...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

Re. the SS, did you do this:

1) In a new browser tab, open up your google doc
2) Click on the tab on the upper right "Share"
publishing

3) click on "Publish as a webpage"
4) Click the box that says "automatically re-publish when changes are made" (see pic below)

I copied this from the Tech Forum.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

I would hold the starting dose and build a shed. Rushing won't help fill the shed any faster, and it could cause the numbers to drop out if we increase too soon. 1 unit is a good starting dose.

Thank you for taking Eeyore in! I bet he'll be a huge sweetie when he feels better.
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 Dose opinion?

Hi Michelle,
I love the name and Eeyore sounds like a sweetheart and lucky to be safe with you now.

For the little I know, I agree to wait is a good idea. I know it's hard to remember way back to the beginning of our starts with insulin, but I can relate as you can see on Shadoe's ss. She started with Caninsulin which did squat; numbers high and horrible.
When we started on Lantus, I really wanted to get going, but I was told to follow the protocol and so I did. The whole thing is start low and go slow and it works.

Eeyore's got alot to work out and once that crak is out of his system, and his body gets a decent shed, it will be much better. I am sure if his numbers come down with better food, the rushed dosecrease would not be good.

I am pretty sure that he's just fine with how things are now; he's got stuff to explore and new food to gobble and well, more new stuff to do. So long as you keep checking for no ketones, I am sure a few days' at his current dose won't be a harm.

Eeyore is one lucky fellow to be sure!
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 PMPS=421

SO....I shot 1.25. Not too much, sorta cut the difference. We will see what the vet wants to do tomorrow; and honestly, I can't see 0.25U dropping him very much at all.

On the good news front, his ear is learning to bleed, and he didn't flop over when he got his shot. He's so skinny that I think his owners didn't lift enough skin, and probably hurt him a time or two - he just falls over when the needle is inserted. LOL...but he'll learn that my technique is a tad gentler and less painful than others. LOLOLO...I've got human patients who'll deck me if I hurt them, so I have gotten good. LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/14 Eeyore PMPS+9=376 AMPS=379 +4=387 +6=407 PMPS=421

Michelle
How wonderful that You have EEyore and he is so lucky to have you care for and love him.
He sounds so adorable.
I think I saw his picture early on but would love to see another one.
Truly amazing.
 
I took a few this evening; lemme see how they turn out, and if they're any good, I'll post them up.

He's definitely a sweetheart. He's still discombobulated, but he's basically a very gentle cat (unless he's feeling protective of his space). And, he's claimed his spot on the sofa - right in the middle. ROFL.

I will be heading to bed shortly - I'll be up at 3 am finishing the paper, so...will get some sticks and data then. I will make sure that I get his spreadsheet public...

Best to all -
Michele
 
Hi michelle.

i have been following eeyore's saga ..... so glad he is home with you.
Welcome to lantus land Eeyore !

Hey Michelle -- when you first came to LL didn't you get a welcome basket? Complete with nice fuzzy handcuffs?
Well... even if you did... maybe you need a new one for Eeyore ! I will have to find the link.....
patience patience patience.

i see you upped a smidge. I would leave it there.
He has had so much going on-- with food changes and adjusting to his new home those numbers will come down. promise !

Lucky lucky cat to have you give him his furever home.

ED-- found it ! This is for Eeyore ! ok now you can get those handcuffs out :-D
 

Attachments

  • welcome-basket.jpg
    welcome-basket.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 1,699
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top