3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412 +3 414 + 6 265 +9 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Very Active Member
amps 412 2.5 U well Do Lou has been feeling pretty good had a long talk with my vet on friday at work gave him copies of Tillys protocol in addition to Rand dosing which I think are about the same but all that aside he is still feeling better :-D eating better coming up into bed with me :smile: anyway I have had to work last 2 days. :sad: so should be on and off the board today got a lot of house stuff to catch up on as well plus need to make a BG strip run later almost out of those does anyone know which meter takes less blood I have both a one touch and a relion micro and am currently using the one touch. confused_cat

+3 414
+ 6 265
+9 306
 
Re: 3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412

You may need to check to be sure since there are a variety of One Touch meters. If you do a web search, you'll find the info on the sample amount needed in the info on the product. I believe the Relion meters use among the smallest samples and the strips are among the least expensive.

A couple of comments on your SS...

  • You do not need to do a fasting BG on a cat. If administering insulin, this is probably not such a good idea since insulin in the absence of food could cause BG levels to plummet.
  • You increased Do Lou's dose by 0.5u only 3 days after starting Lantus. It takes about 5 - 7 days for the shed to be built. Until that time, not all of the insulin you are shooting is fully available to lower BG. It could be easy to be giving too much insulin if you increase the dose early in this process.
  • If you refer back to Tilly, doses are generally increased by 0.25u. Most vets don't seem to think that such small increases are possible so don't be surprised if your vet routinely suggests an increase of 0.5 or 1.0 as a matter of course.
  • On days that you work, if you can get an "out the door" test, a test when you get home, and spot checks in the evening - or at least a before bed test, it will be helpful. Otherwise, you're doing a great job getting spot checks in.

It also looks like you started feeding raw food. Is Do Lou making the switch without a problem? My guys liked Felines Pride. I did a straight switch and in retrospect, it may have been a little easier on their systems if I'd transitioned them a little more slowly.
 
Re: 3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412

he is eating some raw but we are taking that slow he used to eat the primal chicken and salmon nuggets and loved them so I thought he might like this time will tell as for dosing protocol well I am combo of listening to the advice of this board,my vet and myself and thats about the best I can do he did not raise him again as to the fasting you are the second person to say something I would have to ask my vet its just their protocol

thanks Lisa
 
Re: 3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412 +3 414

Lisa - we use the Freestyle Freedom meter and it claims to have the "world's smallest sample size".
 
Re: 3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412 +3 414

paige said:
Lisa - we use the Freestyle Freedom meter and it claims to have the "world's smallest sample size".


thanks he is starting to get really upset with me about testing and it seems the one touch requires more of a drop then the relion the only reason I switched was I ran out of strips on the one and the one touch was my back up plus he is feeling better so that also can account for he is more active and not wanting me to be testing him thanks so much for the reply :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/14 Do Lou AMPS 412 +3 414 + 6 265

+9 306 eating well and seems to be having a good day and wow do I love this freestyle lite so much less blood then the one touch since he is getting a wee bit grumpy on me so glad I bought yet another meter makes meter number 4 1 meter has already gone to the donation of making kits here and I think I might as well donate one more after deciding since I do not need 3 thanks yet again for the freestyle tip made our day for paw testing :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top