3/14 Daniel AMPS 305 PMPS 232 Dose increase question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
I have to figure out a way to post this up earlier XD Don't have internet or a working computer at my residence.

Day 6 now. It's geting easier to get his tests done. Sometimes he'd get agitated at me holding him still but I'm becoming more efficient and can get the blood on the first poke now.

I tried to do a 24 hour curve on the 12th, as it was my only day off for the week, and at least I got the first 12 hours done. I got called in to work at 3 in the morning. Had to be in by 6 and time had just changed. I was so frustrated, hadn't had any real sleep. Still have my sleeping schedule all wonky. Slept straight through the alarm for the +6 test this morning, but managed to be up at +7.

PM shot tonight might have been skinny. Used a ReliOn syring with the half unit markings. After I gave it to him I checked to make sure the plunger had completely depressed and lo and behold there was a little teensy driplet left. So it might have been a slightly skinny dose. Guess I'll find out in the morning when I get home to test. I'm fairly positive I didn't do a fur shot.

I've got to read the protocol again, which I'm going to do right after I post this but how soon do you guys think I should give him an increase? Tomorrow is day 7. I'm going to go up in .25 increments methinks.

Tips for myself (and others if you choose to take them ;-) )for the day.
Remain calm
Trust your instincts
When in motion press square to dodge
:lol:
 
:lol: :lol: at your tips!!
what's the saying? "they can't hit you if you keep moving!"

no input on the increase, but giving your post a bump...

celi & binks
 
Hi: Welcome to LL. You probably have room to increase to 1.25. When are you home again? It is important to get a bg prior to shooting. Are you only feeding 2 meals per day? Are your going to switch to only LC FF or stay with DM too? These are factors in dosing. Most of us feed small frequent meals and do not feed 2 hours prior to testing. Lots to learn and remember but you are doing fine.
 
Hi Daniel and Kural,

I think that you could raise Daniel's dose by .25, but please wait for confirmation from one of our knowledgeable people. In any event, he's had some nice blues lately. I don't see that there is much sense (or much fun--for you or for him) in doing a 24-hour curve. That seems like overkill!! Just do a curve or a mini curve in one of the cycles and try to fill in boxes when you have time or opportunity. Patterns will gradually emerge.

I haven't visited your condo before, so I want to welcome you and Daniel to Lantus Land. We're glad you're here.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow. I've never attempted a 24 hour curve! Most of us do a 12-hour. Those blues are looking good!!

I think you've got room to increase to 1.25u. Try to keep the plunger on the syringe completely depressed when you withdraw the syringe after having given the shot. It may help to prevent a drop staying in the syringe.
 
Hahaha, and I'll never attempt one again X-x Especially not if I'm going to get called in to work! XD

It was really overkill to try and do that curve but I really wnted to know what his numbers were doing at night when I'm usually at work and figured, 'hey, I'm off! Why don't I get his daytime numbers too!' Yeaup, so much for that idea XD

Thanks all! I think I'll bump it up to 1.25 not tomorrow moning, but the next. That way he'll have a full week of being on 1 unit. Thanks for the tip Sienne! I'd not had that problem with the previous syringes.

Barbara and tuffy said:
Hi: Welcome to LL. You probably have room to increase to 1.25. When are you home again? It is important to get a bg prior to shooting. Are you only feeding 2 meals per day? Are your going to switch to only LC FF or stay with DM too? These are factors in dosing. Most of us feed small frequent meals and do not feed 2 hours prior to testing. Lots to learn and remember but you are doing fine.

To answer your questions:
I work night shift so I get home at 0615 hours, AMPS is at 0830 hours. If you mean when will I have a whole day off, next Saturday if I don't get called in again like this week. 6 day work week and we're so short shifted that in lieu of me going to the hospital I can't get a day off. I personally always get a bg, but I had to ask my mom last minute when I got called in. I had already showed her how to get it done and give him his shots but she couldn't get the BG, and gave him the dose without getting it.
I am feeding two meals a day but they've been getting a mid morning snack (half a can of FF a piece though I suspect that Daniel eats out of Kass's dish <_<) I ought to change my profile. Whoopsie!
I'm going to stick with LC FF. The DM is just too expensive for me right now, and I dislike some of the ingredients. I never feed them that close to their dose, even though they attempt to cajole me into serving dinner and breffis early.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top