3/14 Chyna PMPS 183 +2 178 +5 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi guys! I am way too out of it tierd to make much sense this morning...TGIF! Thanks for your suggestion on the feeder last night, Wendy. I do have a slot for an ice pack in mine but it's only under the compartment being used at the front and Chyna is a grazer...I'm sort of scared to leave raw fuds out. No $$$ for a new feeder right now either, I need to scrape up syringe and insulin money! but maybe in future :sad: . Meantime I will be working on testing allergies/lower phos fuds and doing subqs every day, thanks Marje :-D . Not to mention trying to lower a few calories...My head is still wrapping around it all @-) . I know her dose should probably go up a smidge but with adding subqs every day I will see what that does.

Yesterday: Chyna 3/13

Chyna is fine, other than very vocal and unhappy with the subqs. I think it's the restraining more than the actual fluids, and have to figure out a way to make her happier. I'm trying RR on a towel tonight to see. The nanner and treats had no effect last night and I'm not sure why she's suddenly upset at getting them. She's never liked them, but usually sat good and just ran away after :roll: . No poo yesterday or overnight that I see, she got some oil last night. Maybe that is why she is grouchy :lol: . She's such a good girl and I feel so mean...I know it's for her health :oops:

Random question, for those of you who make fuds into "catsicles" and use phos. binders, how to you do it so they get the binder? Do you blend it in with the fuds before freezing? I can't find anything on freezing on Tanyas site, just on mixing it in or giving it right before fuds. I've been sprinkling the ALOH on top of the catsicle and wetting it with water on top but I don't think she gets it all that way. Does anyone know if freezing affects binders?

Well I'd better go shower and such. Maybe work will be less busy today (haha). If I don't see you today, I will tonight :-D . Happy Friday!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 Phos binder/freeze?

I'm so new to this and I don't freeze Trix's fuds, but it is my understanding that you need to mix the binder into the food for it to work, since it binds the phosphorous in the food. I don't think sprinkling it on top of the food is as beneficial as thoroughly mixing it in. So I'm thinking you need to mix it in both when you feed her unfrozen food, and in the food you freeze as well. I don't know if freezing will affect the binder...that would be good to know for future reference. Hopefully Marje will come along and confirm that...I'd love to see if some of this stuff is actually sticking in my brain now :lol: !

I know what you mean about wrapping your head around all this stuff....it is overwhelming for sure, and you have the added challenge of allergies and a squirmy kitty for fluids. Maybe she's still just a little edgy from yesterday's vetty visit, or - as you mentioned - maybe she needed a poo to help her relax a bit!

You and little Chyna will get there...the way I see it, we figured out FD, we can do this, too!

Have a great day, Rachel!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 Phos binder/freeze?

Hi Rachel,

Not sure if freezing effects the binder, but I agree with Amy. It has to be mixed well with the fuds before being given.
Hopefully, Chyna just was having a bad night yesterday, and she will be back to her tolerant self for the next fluids.
Have a great Friday :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 Phos binder/freeze?

Hi, Rachel! According to Tanya's CRF website, it is advised to mix the binder in with the food about 10 mins before serving. (This is to remove any 'grittiness' texture and to allow the binder to bind to the phosphorus. There isn't any concern about freezing the food with the binder ~ it should still be as effective. :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 Phos binder/freeze?

Thanks guys! We had a breffis puke up sometime before that +1.5 :sad: ...I left out some fuds and managed to spoon feed her a few tbsp before I left...I hope she eats the 2nd bowl I left out to replace it. The autotimer is of course set with mini meals.

I've been trying to scour Tanyas site about the whole freezing thing. I was hoping since they were on top of the fuds that were being eaten that they would bind...it mentions somewhere that you can give binder right before or mixed in and liquids are given before, ack it's enough for a headache. I do overthink things...I did ask this once before I think but didn't get an answer. So I think I'll just try mixing it in before I freeze and hope ;-). I just have a bunch of new things to change/add to our routines!

Hi Amy, thanks, I may ask on the yahoo groups out of curiousity...but I don't leave frozen fuds in the freezer long, I do a can or so at a time and use as I go so it shouldn't be an issue, I hope ;-) . I hope I can get her to relax with the subqs again, I don't want the animal rights groups to show up from all her noises and think I'm abusing her :o

Thanks Jane, I hope it was just a bad few nights, poor girl. I'm so glad it's Friday! :smile:

Hi Josie, thanks! I've been trying to read all Tanyas stuff the past year haha, there is so much and I've read that page so many times and am still overthinking probably, lol. I'll be doing some phosphorus binder with fuds freezing tonight :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 Phos binder/freeze?

I know what you mean about Tanya's site...it's awesome, but soooooo overwhelming. I've been trying to absorb it by bits and pieces over the last few years. Honestly, if I spend too much time there in one shot, I get so overwhelmed that I just feel like bawling :roll: .

I hope Chyna's tummy is feeling better....poor girl. And, I hope you're looking forward to some R&R and snuggle time with her this weekend!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 Phos binder/freeze?

I also posted in Trix's condo:

I'm sorry Rachel...my timing was soooooo bad :roll: :oops: :oops: :oops: ...I think you and I posted our condos right at the same time. I know Chyna will settle in....she's got an awesome MamaBean and she knows you're helping her!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 Phos binder/freeze?

I was just teasing, Amy :lol: :lol: . I had to make fun though, it's better than crying ;-) . I'm happy when others don't have issues, I don't wish squirmy whiny loud kitty on anyone :shock: . I keep telling her I'm not killing her :roll: . I hope she continues to be a little trooper for you!

Thanks on the good thoughts, I am trying to be a good bean even if she thinks otherwise. I hope she's eating while I'm gone! Tanyas site is awesome, but I totally hear you on the wanting to bawl :?

I'd better go do some more work for tbp!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 Phos binder/freeze?

Poor Chyna - sorry about the pukus. Sending good tummy and good appy vines so she eats the extra foods you left out and gets all the important stuff in to her to stay.

Cinco doesn't like the subqs, either, and the last couple of times I haven't been able to get him to hold still for the entire dose. He's usually such a docile cat, but for some reason lately he has not wanted to be up on that counter getting anything done to him. I don't have a lot of options as to where I can do it, so I'll have to figure out how to make him hold still, too. I'm lucky that he only needs them once in a while (anti-jinx). I can't imagine trying to do it every day. :? I wish you lots of good luck with that!

I agree about Tanya's site being overwhelming, too. Heck THIS site can be overwhelming for my little pea brain. I've read the same stickies here ten times and still haven't absorbed everything. Tanya's site makes my eyes cross! It's great to have it to refer to, but it's tough sledding for me!

Happy Friday - hope the day goes fast and Chyna greets you with some nice numbers when you get home and a smooth surf tonight. :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60!

What a beautiful cycle Rachel!! And even a nice dip into the lagoon!!

You must be doing something right...at least today. I totally feel the same way...One cycle our cats are doing great, and the next makes absolutely no sense. You'd think at some point there'd be some kind of pattern, wouldn't you? It's like with China...she's doing really well, and spending a lot of time in good numbers, so you'd think at some point she's stop bouncing, but we still bounce!

WHY Ms. Liver, WHY???

I have to giggle a little at the idea of looking into your freezer....Foodcycles, needles for sub-q's...is there any bean food in there?

I've never had to use the binders either, but I can't see how freezing it would matter. I wouldn't think it'd change it's functionality, and as long as it's mixed in well with the food before freezing, I think you'd be ok. Be interesting to see for sure when you try it though.

Hope you get some rest over the weekend. Maybe even get out of the house and get some fresh air. Chyna will be ok, but you need to take care of you too!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

Oh my Chyna! :mrgreen: Your mamabean is doing such a great job. cat_pet_icon
 

Attachments

  • 24912535.jpg
    24912535.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 495
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

Hi Rachel.
I don't have any practical experience with binders, but common sense says that mixing it into the food and then freezing wouldn't affect the way it is supposed to bind. Have you considered buying the book version of Tanya's site? It might make looking up references much easier. And you wouldn't have to stare at the computer screen for hours.

I hope all will begin to fall into place. You and Amy are at least lucky in that you can begin this new journey together.

TGIF, indeed!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

Thanks guys...a quick lunch at home with scary lows for me to see...no time to answer you all now, I will later, work is busy...

Chyna barely ate this morning, maybe half of each her meals? She must need to poop I see none yet. I'd be a lot happier about the greens if I was home :shock: , at +7.5 she should be on her way up not down! I spoon fed her some LC after the +6.75 and she went down, does this mean the pancreas is working to bring her down? If so, what am I supposed to do when she is low, just syrup? I left out some HC and gave her a drop or two of syrup too...ack! I guess it could be just dropping. I hope she is coming up now :sad: nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

I'm going to think positively and hope Chyna is just surfing. The two readings were practically the same. Keep on surfing safely Chyna. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Nice to see this dose working. :-D

Also hoping for action in the lb to greet you when you get home.

The feeder I have has a compartment on top for the freezer pack but just covers two of four at once.
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

Chyna, you know you aren't supposed to go swimming in the lagoon unsupervised! Get up on your surfboard right now and stay there until Mama gets home! :mrgreen: You'll have all weekend to show off your diving skills.

Not much more of the work day left, Rachel, and you'll be home before you know it.

Sending good appy and poo vines ( :lol: ). Hope you can kick back and relax tonight, maybe with an adult beverage? I know it's been a tough week! bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

I hope Chyna surfed the rest of the day. It's hard to see those kind of numbers and have to go to work. I hope she'll give you those greens this weekend while you're home.
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna AMPS 146 +1.5 185 +6.75 60 +7.5 54

Sending poo, appy, and safe surfing vines to sweet little Chyna....and calming, relaxing vines to her MamaBean!
 
Re: 3/14 Chyna PMPS 183 +2 178

Ok, I'm finally home for good tonight. I came home quick to do Chynas shot and ran out to do a few errands and get groceries...now I have dishes, subqs, and litter box scooping left. AND of course, visiting you all :-D .

-Hi Tricia, thanks for the vines and kind words. Chyna is pretty mellow, for the most part, so the sounds she has been making for the vet and subqs the last few days are always surprising :o . I'm so glad I can bounce ideas with people on here, 'cause no matter how many times I read something there always seems to be something I missed ohmygod_smile . I don't know about the adult beverage, I think one would knock me out cold :lol:

-Hi Chris, thanks. I really didn't like this cycle with me working :shock: . She did this when she was headed for remission, didn't earn reducies but I dropped the dose to be safe and she kept up with it. I don't know what it means other than I'm happy that we can do a lower dose! BUT I wish she'd dip her toes, not her entire body, in the lagoon! Yes, there are some human fuds in the freezer...and also raw cat fuds, frozen tuna water cubes, HC frozen fuds... :lol: . I admit her things have taken over half my pantry, part of my closet, and half my big bookshelf :oops:

-Thanks Liz, I'm trying. BTW, I love Jackie Chan! :-D

-Hi Ella, thanks so much. I have the book saved in my Amazon cart for possible future buying but I never seem to have the extra cash ;-) . Chyna was diagnosed a year ago, so it isn't a new journey, but there are some new things to do now that things have progressed so it's like new :lol: .

-Thanks Wendy, I probably overdid the HC but I panicked. I hate having to work when she does this to me! And she keeps going low no matter the dose :shock: . We have a little poo. I'm hoping for more! Baby girl is still a bit grouchy but I'm hoping with days off I can get back into her good graces with some NON pokey time between the other stuff we have to do with needles ;-) .

Hi Carla! Thanks, it tears me up to leave when she does this...I hope she'll give me greens, but not quite so low ones :? . Never happy, I guess, haha.

Thanks again, Amy. I am pooped and am so glad it's Friday!

I'm ready for a nap but no time yet. I hope you're all having a nice evening :razz:
 
I bought an IV pole on Amazon for about $17. I haven't had to use it yet but did put it together once to make sure it would work. I've heard from some that the EZ harness doesn't always work. It took me a long time to get Tiffany used to fluids. I finally had a nurse from a vet clinic come and show me at home. I learned that Tiffany did best on my lap or held very loosely on the floor. Do you heat the fluids? I never did but many swear that it is easier on them. Tiffany seemed to want it done quickly and didn't mind the poke so I used the terumo 19G thin wall needles because they were really sharp and fast. I also used the 20G ultra thin wall. It does get easier with time.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top