3/14 Chase: 1st Day TR: AMPS: 90,+.5:101,+1:103,+2:74,+3:68;,+5:74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-5-85-4-66-5-86-pmps-12-52-13-25-118.174762/

Since things have been changing, with Chase, and since I'm wide awake and miserable (LOL) I got a +11. He is 84.

Did I hear that the reduction point in TR is 50? I know it's 90 on SLGS, but I've really been doing more of a TR regimen and Chase is only on a drop dose.

His number will likely rise, but I want to shoot if his number seems normal for a TR schedule. I'm come a long way in making these decisions on my own but I wasn't prepared for a low PS number. Guess we'll find out in about 15 minutes. I was hoping to get someone paying attentions to Chase's condo, just in case I need help.
 
Last edited:
That's what I thought. I'm just not seeing it. I'm pretty sick, right now, though... so I'm not surprised. LOL

For several weeks, now, I have been testing enough for TP, although I was officially on SLGS since I'm alone and work full time. Still... I test him a lot. And have had some great mentors here, on the site. :)
 
If you have enough supplies and feel confident he will eat if you need him to and you can guide the numbers with food if needed, I think you're good to go.

You also have the option, if your schedule permits, to stall.
 
Yes, I have looked at his SS. It's fantastic! I have no experience advising on very low doses for kitties who are nearing remission. If you can drop that tiny dose and retest, go for it. :)
Well I can't drop the dose... it's as low as it goes. The goal is to get (and KEEP) his numbers in the healthy green for a little bit longer, before having him go OTJ. I'm just going to test him every hour, like usual. Maybe even in 30 minutes, to start with. :)
I should add it's 50 for newly diagnosed kitties (dx <1 year).
When was Chase diagnosed?
He was diagnosed in January, Sandy.
 
Well I can't drop the dose... it's as low as it goes. The goal is to get (and KEEP) his numbers in the healthy green for a little bit longer, before having him go OTJ. I'm just going to test him every hour, like usual. Maybe even in 30 minutes, to start with. :)

He was diagnosed in January, Sandy.
Then you'll have to dose him and work with food - and you know how to do that. :smuggrin:
 
If you have enough supplies and feel confident he will eat if you need him to and you can guide the numbers with food if needed, I think you're good to go.

You also have the option, if your schedule permits, to stall.
I didn't stall. I did that last night and his number came up a little. But today, I was going to do LC only. I have plenty of MC and HC, though. :)
 
In honor of shooting your first green- :cool:

IMG_2037.PNG
 
I think I just want to ride this out and not jump the gun. If he stays above 50 I just want to let it be. I'l know in about an hour.
When BK entered the uncharted territory of regulation, since I worked from home I often would let things ride, intervening only as needed.

The observations you make today will help you plan for the days when you are away.
 
ECID - Keep monitoring and you'll know if it was the best decision.

What I used to do was work around BKs regular meals/times. If he needed something extra in between then I would give him a little LC or HC depending on how far into the cycle he was as well as how soon the feeder would be serving up his next meal.
 
Am feeling so many things, right now. Mostly... so blessed because of Chase's numbers the past couple of days. He has been such a very, very good boy and I would love nothing more than to be able to put the syrines away and only take out the big, bad, lifesaving lancet once in a while. If you behave... and are good to your bean. Yes.... our arrangement can be wonderful. This boy is my child. There's nothing we want more than for our little ones to be pain free. Although... "pain" has it' s own perspective... for any of us. :) I love my family!!! :bighug: I've never had many cat lovers in my life. And now I have a new family who is JUST that. And you're such lovely people to deal with. Thank you EVERYONE!
 
Last edited:
Awesome, Sandi!!!! I agree with Bobbie and I knew you would get more confident faster than you ever gave yourself credit for. Read back over your first thread and see how very far you come! We are all proud of you and Chase.

Needless to say, I am ecstatic that our plan is working so far and he's surfing!!!! Looks like that +9 snack might have worked so I would do it every cycle, ok?

Go Chase go!!!!!!
 
If y'all will forgive a bunch of newbie questions, what are the following, please :). I'm trying really hard on this forum, and did study the slang chart, but some things are still puzzling :cat:
(1) "3/14 Chase"?
(2) LC and MC

Thank you. And best of luck, Chase! This looks wonderful. I've saved his SS as a good sample, as want to get into TR.
 
Awesome, Sandi!!!! I agree with Bobbie and I knew you would get more confident faster than you ever gave yourself credit for. Read back over your first thread and see how very far you come! We are all proud of you and Chase.

Needless to say, I am ecstatic that our plan is working so far and he's surfing!!!! Looks like that +9 snack might have worked so I would do it every cycle, ok?

Go Chase go!!!!!!

I have 3 cats, so free feed. Is that not a good idea for TR? I can feed Angel (who I'm trying to get into TR) strategically on days I don't go in to work -- and the others will just have to go with his snack/meal times -- if necessary.
 
OMG I am so glad I logged on!! This is so exciting Sandi, and look how confident you are now with all you have learned! I am so very proud of you that I giving you a big od virtual hug :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

And I hope you feel better soon.
Thank you, Bobbie.I do feel good that I didn't give up. And without you guys... WOW... there's no telling where we'd be. Marjie... you have made such a huge impact on me. So have all the others but for some reason I just really connected with you. I guess when the student was ready (me), the teacher appeared (you). I have trusted your exeperience and your friendship has meant so much.
 
Awesome, Sandi!!!! I agree with Bobbie and I knew you would get more confident faster than you ever gave yourself credit for. Read back over your first thread and see how very far you come! We are all proud of you and Chase.

Needless to say, I am ecstatic that our plan is working so far and he's surfing!!!! Looks like that +9 snack might have worked so I would do it every cycle, ok?

Go Chase go!!!!!!
I will. I'll do it every cycle. But you know, he's also come to expect those 2 afternoon snacks. Can I still keep giving him those or do I just focus on that 430 a.m. snack?

I'm so proud to be part of this rockin' rollin' family.
 
Thank you, Bobbie.I do feel good that I didn't give up. And without you guys... WOW... there's no telling where we'd be. Marjie... you have made such a huge impact on me. So have all the others but for some reason I just really connected with you. I guess when the student was ready (me), the teacher appeared (you). I have trusted your exeperience and your friendship has meant so much.
We are all so very lucky to have this forum with all the Knowledge and experience and you are very lucky to have Marje on Team Chase because she is just brilliant!
 
If y'all will forgive a bunch of newbie questions, what are the following, please :). I'm trying really hard on this forum, and did study the slang chart, but some things are still puzzling :cat:
(1) "3/14 Chase"?
(2) LC and MC

Thank you. And best of luck, Chase! This looks wonderful. I've saved his SS as a good sample, as want to get into TR.
I have 3 cats, so free feed. Is that not a good idea for TR? I can feed Angel (who I'm trying to get into TR) strategically on days I don't go in to work -- and the others will just have to go with his snack/meal times -- if necessary.
Hi there. Glad you found this great place. The "3/14 Chase" just signifies the name of the cat an the date in front of his name at the beginning of each day's thread. LC and MC mean Low Carb food and High Carb food. :)
 
I have 3 cats, so free feed. Is that not a good idea for TR? I can feed Angel (who I'm trying to get into TR) strategically on days I don't go in to work -- and the others will just have to go with his snack/meal times -- if necessary.
The problem with free feeding is that you don't want Angel eating within 2 hours of tests because the test will be food influenced. If at all possible, I would get all three kitties on the same schedule as Angels which is low carb( LC ) wet food which is served in smaller more frequent meals. It is better for the FD kitties' pancreas to be fed that way. It will save you a lot of aggravation at feeding time. If you work outside the house , lots of us have timed feeders we use to open up when we set the timer so that small frequent meals are given all day.
 
Last edited:
Hi there. Glad you found this great place. The "3/14 Chase" just signifies the name of the cat an the date in front of his name at the beginning of each day's thread. LC and MC mean Low Carb food and High Carb food. :)
OMG, it all seems so obvious the moment you say it, lol. Thanks so very much, Sandi!!!
 
The problem with free feeding is that you don't Angel eating within 2 hours of tests because the test will be food influenced. If at all possible, I would get all three kitties on the same schedule as Angels which is low carb( LC ) wet food which is served in smaller more frequent meals. It is better for the FD kitties' pancreas to be fed that way. It will save you a lot of aggravation at feeding time. If you work outside the house , lots of us have timed feeders we use to open up when we set the timer so that small frequent meals are given all day.

Ohhhhh... I will forever encourage wet food feeding, only. I have such a tremendous amount of positive change, since putting Chase on a wet diet. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top