3/14 Autumn amps-75, pmps-150,Cassanova amps-105, pmps-181

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Both Autumn and Cassanova got token doses. But not a single cat is eating either last night or again this morning. Vomiting has pretty much stopped except for the occasional hairball but now they all have the runs and it's foul smelling. Gonna be a fun day of syringe feeding 16

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

omg, really?? I cant even imagine! so its the same 6 who are sick?
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

OMG WTH is going on? I would be be so upset. What do you suppose is wrong with them? I am sending prayers for you and all 16 kitties. I guess I picked the wrong time to stop smoking, my 80 year old neighbor who lived there for years just moved and some guy in a hoody with a teenage son was over there looking at the place yesterday, I wonder how many pitbulls they have? cat(2)_steam
Sure do hope the kitties start to eat soon, sending many, many eating vines.

Terri
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

Just realized I didnt read very well and its all 16! (it is 6:40 am, that is my excuse). I cant even imagine what you are going through. Do cats get the flu like people do?
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

Mel,

Have you called the vet to ask them WTH could be going on?

Terri
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

My guess is gastrointeritus (fancy word for stomach and bowel upset).

http://www.petplace.com/cats/gastroente ... page1.aspx

Diagnostic Tests

Many cases of acute vomiting and diarrhea are short lived, resolve easily and do not require an extensive diagnostic evaluation. Diagnostics should be performed on those pets that are having severe vomiting and diarrhea, are exhibiting other systemic signs of illness, or when the vomitus or stool contains blood. These tests may include:

Complete blood count (CBC)
Biochemical profile
Resting thyroid (T4) level in cats older than 6
Feline leukemia and feline immunodeficiency virus in all cats
Urinalysis
Abdominal radiographs (X-rays)
Multiple fecal examinations

Treatment

There are several things your veterinarian might recommend to treat your pet symptomatically. The principal goals of symptomatic therapy are to restore and maintain fluid and electrolyte imbalances and to completely rest the gastrointestinal tract.

Fluid and electrolyte therapy
Drugs that coat and sooth the GI tract
Drugs that symptomatically stop vomiting and diarrhea
Nothing orally for several hours, with a gradual introduction of water followed by a bland diet

Home Care

Call your veterinarian, and follow all recommendations regarding feeding and medication. This will probably include withholding all food and water. Observe your pet very closely. If clinical signs are not improving over a day or two, and/or your pet is getting worse, have your pet evaluated at once.
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

@Linda

It's all 16 Not a single one would touch their food. Got a few of the civies and Cassanova to eat some raw chicken breast. But Autumn is turning her nose up at everything. Not raw chicken which she adores, not ham lunchmeat, not tuna not even fortiflora will entice any of them to eat this morning.

They all are asking for food but when I give it to them they sniff and walk off. Even switch multipack to see if it was flavor or a bad 32 pack....nope nada
Other than not eating and now liquid poo. All other Ps are in place. Everyone is peeing, playing, purring and preening.

@Terri

I think they all have food poisoning off a couple 32 packs of Friskies I got from Walmart. At least they are acting like it. Luckily I have fluids and can syringe feed. So as soon as my vet opens will go get some AD. Then if they refuse lunch begin the syringe feeding. Also got a few cans of different brands of low carb food to see if I can get any of them to eat on their own.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

Mel,

What flavor of Friskies was it? I will avoid buying that flavor. I would also if you have time call or look online for similar cases for that brand. I am so sorry, I sure do hope they get to feeling better.

Terri
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

I dont see any current product recalls for Friskies
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

Oh my goodness Mel! What a stressful time for you. I hope they get over their sick tummies soon.
 
Re: 3/14 16 cats not eating...Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps

It started with Sea Captain's Choice out of the 32 pack all fish flavor pack so switched to my go to Turkey and Giblets now they're all sick. I doubt this is a problem on Friskies end and more likely our Walmart. Our particular Walmart is horrendous about rotating stock and quality control. We've gotten bad cat food from them before but it was bad enough to be obvious as in opening the box and there being mold growing on cans, cans that were obviously compromised by having seals broken or punctuated by a fork lift etc. That's when they can even stock the shelves in the first place. In fact when I was in there yesterday getting treats for the dog there was a corporate rep chewing the pet dept manager's butt about all their outs then was back in last night to get a wedding card for a friend's wedding Sat. Out of curiosity went to the pet dept and I've never seen it so well stocked. Shelves that have been empty for months suddenly had 7-8 boxes/bags. So God only knows how long that stuff has been sitting in a back room or warehouse. I've also seen employees throwing bags of dry food on the floor and stomping on them so they would be flattened to fit on the shelves which of course compromised the seals on those bags as well as crushing the kibble inside.

Good news I got Autumn to finally eat some raw chicken. And stalked her to the litter box for a ketone check...negative.

The civies and Maxwell not eating much for a day or two doesn't bother me as much as Autumn and Cassanova. The insulin dependents have to eat so I can give them their full doses. Or I'm gonna at best have hypos at worst I'm gonna have two in DKA. If I lose any of them I'm so sueing the pants off them.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

All 16 are scraffing down on plain boiled chicken breasts. Not ideal for the long haul but at least its something in their stomachs. Vet recommended trying it first before going to forced feeding. Said to keep them on either the plain boiled chicken or chicken plain meat baby food for 24 hours then reintroduce their regular food again. But also told me mine are the 7th case of sick cats off Friskies from Walmart including her 3 office cats this week she's seen and the chicken has worked for all of them so far.

Don't think I've ever been so happy to see sibling rivalries over dishes of food.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

Frankly, I would send a letter of complaint to the manager of that Wal-Mart and send a copy to their corporate HQ - make sure you CC the corporate at the bottom of the letter so that store manager knows you are sending it to them!
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

Hello Mel,sorry to hear your gang have poorly tummies,just a thought,how about cooking up a few whole chickens in plain water,nothing added to the water,when cooked strain off the stock and chill,this will go to a solid jelly,you can then warm it up and pour it over the chicken,this stock is full of goodness,does Jewish penicillin come to mind?!?!
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

Lol that's exactly what my vet and I were laughing about by the end of the call when I said I guess Jewish penicillian works on all species.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

Hope they improve over the next few days,if anyone can get them on the road to recovery it's you.
Diane
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

Mel,

Just checking back in and so glad to see the cats are eating. Thank goodness. Damn Walmart cat(2)_steam

Terri
 
Re: 3/14 We have EATING!!!..Autumn amps-75, Cassanova amps-1

So glad to hear that the kitties are doing a little bit better! I can't imagine sick tummy and the runs x 16. Wowee! I cannot believe your Walmart, especially after you hear that the vet has been seeing the same problem this week with other kitties so you know it's somewhat widespread. Grr!!!
 
Re: 3/14 Autumn amps-75, pmps-150,Cassanova amps-105, pmps-1

Most are eating the plain chicken well...Cassanova is eating great again but Autumn is still picking at hers but at least she is eating even if not a great deal. And its enough to get insulin in both of them. Hopefully tomorrow she'll be eating better.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top