3/14 Apache amps117,+1 143,+2 121,+3 112,+4 119,+5 143,+8 157,pmps100,+1 89,+2 100,+3 137,+5 234,

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Apache & Ric, Mar 14, 2023.

  1. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
  2. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    gave food and shot. from what i have experienced check bg at +1 ?
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  3. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Morning Ric! Ready for some :Ds?!?!
    Glad you shot. See you at +1 :)
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  4. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I know Apache has food/stomach sensitivities, but in being prepared, do you have honey or syrup on hand. There have been cats here with IBD and food allergies and those caregivers would use the honey/karo syrup as the MC (mixed with the food) or HC.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  5. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    I have honey and syrup in case of hypo. I don't mix either unless absolutely necessary. She hasn't had either and I don't if shes allergic. she's allergic to about everything
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  6. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    143 +1
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  7. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Next test +2 ?
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  8. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Yes please :)
    That +1 might just be a food bump. We'll know for sure with a +2.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  9. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    I'm tangled up in blue ! +2 121. Next test ? She gets snack at +3
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  10. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Oh veryyyy nice. Let's give Apache a smidge just a teaspoon of her regular LC food and get a +3.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  11. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    +3 112
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  12. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I'm loving the steady blues all within meter variance :).
    Let's give Apache another smidge of her regular LC food and get a +4. We want to keep her coasting in these numbers and try to avoid a steep drop. And since she's still new to Lantus, the extra data will help see a bigger picture. :cat:
    Are you happy so far? How's she behaving?
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  13. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Extremely happy! She's just her old self though I have noticed she's much more active on lantus than yhe vetsulin
     
  14. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Excellent!! One of the acronyms here is WCR which stands for Whole Cat Report. WCRs are just as important as the BG#s in my humble opinion :).
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  15. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    I used to get about yhe same blue numbers with the vetsulin but in the cycle it took about 2 hrs to get there and then lasted to about 10 hrs so that was about 4 hrs in warning/danger zone. Now she's constantly on cruise control!!!
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  16. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    And yhe lantus is about one third the cost of the inferior vetsulin. My vet was FLOORED when I told him I was getting a year supply for $144. He immediately said lantus was the best but most couldn't afford it
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  17. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    119 at +4 I'm doing a jig !!! Glad no one can see.
     
  18. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I would LOVE to see the jig :).
    I would give another smidge of her regular LC food but it's up to you to test at +5 or +6.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  19. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    No u don't want to see the jig. I'm 6-4 250lbs and im sure it looks more like an epileptic seizure . Apache says thank you. She always wants more food
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  20. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    +5 143 maybe shoulda skipped last snack?
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  21. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    All data is good data and now we know. Still a nice blue though. If you're curious, you can snag another test around +7 or +8 to see if she's still coasting or heading towards a bounce. But either way amazing cycles - last night and so far this AM. :cat:
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  22. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    I'll test again at +8. Thank you so much for your help!
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2023
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  23. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    +8 157
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  24. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Well done Apache ❤️!
    See you at PMPS
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  25. Karen and Chispa

    Karen and Chispa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2022
    I want to see the jig too. :p:smuggrin:
    Seriously, nice numbers you've got there. Go Apache go!!
     
    Apache & Ric and Angela & Cleo like this.
  26. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Pmps 85 do I earn a reduction on this dose and should I wait to shoot ?
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  27. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Both! Congrats on the reduction!
    You stall without feeding and test again in 20 minutes, we're looking for a rising number.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  28. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    100 20 mins later
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  29. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Ready to feed and shoot?
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  30. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Yes . If that number is ok
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  31. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90.
    You have the honey and karo/syrup if needed.
    You shot without hesitation this morning at 117.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  32. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Just checking
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  33. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Test at +1 ,+2 ? I
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  34. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    You're a seasoned pro! Yes just like this am cycle and let the numbers decide the smidge of LC you give after each test.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  35. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    Will do. I'll only get back if I run into trouble
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  36. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    +1. 89 gave food will test at +2 QUESTION does this 89 earn her another reduction??
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  37. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    TBH I'm not sure. I follow the TR method.
    Let's see what more experienced members like @Bandit's Mom and @Wendy&Neko say.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    With SLGS, technically you reduce everytime they go below 90 in a cycle.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.
  39. Apache & Ric

    Apache & Ric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2023
    I assume with the +5 234 I should probably not reduce dose? Especially since the 89 came so early in the first cycle of a reduction?
     
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    We dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, ignore the bounce numbers. SLGS says if they go below 90, reduce immediately.
     
    Apache & Ric likes this.

Share This Page