3/14 amps 271,+6 241 just increased dose - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
hey. Will someone pls look at my ss. I just got back in from a work trip and had accidentally bumped Otto up .75 instead of .50. He had a bounce and I didn't get to my pet sitter in time to tell him to drop back down by .25 this morning so he gave 3u again but it doesn't look bad. Thanks so much! Is there a link that explains what exactly Im hoping to find in the "sweet spot"? It was mentioned that I might miss it by increasing too much. I want to understand this as best I can. Going out of town soon for spring break with kids for a week!!!!!
 
I don't give dosing advice but if he were my cat I would not feel comfortable with a .75 increase and would decrease it by .25. I've only increased by .25 increments but I know the protocol calls for .50 at times. Let's see what the advisors suggest and good luck with the increase.
 
Regulation can't be rushed. There's too much of a danger of going past the ideal dose. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, the effects are cumulative over time. I know it's hard to wait, my Neko has two high dose conditions so the wait was agonizing! Not sure which protocol you are using, but even Tight Regulation as the more aggressive of the two methods suggests only .25U increases once you are seeing yellow nadirs. I agree with Elise that the most you should have increased was .5 units.
 
Just to belabor the point a bit further, you're seeing nadirs that are under 300. With the TR protocol, you only increase by 0.5u if the nadirs, not the pre-shot test values, are over 300. I'd suggest dropping the dose back in the AM and making sure you don't get any surprises tonight.
 
pmps was 524. I gave 2.75 tonight b/c I didn't read your thread until just after I gave the shot. I know I screwed up. I think it was too early in the morning when I was heading out and just added wrong. So, am shot should be 2.50 based on ss?
 
I think you're ok to stick with the 2.75 now that's what you've done. The yellow nadirs you were seeing were at the upper end and lantus doesn't like you changing the dose around too much so I would stick with it for now - for at least the next 5 cycles - unless she happens to earn a reduction of course. But remember for next time it will probably only be .25 increases from here on and it's always a good idea to post for advice before you do an increase :)
 
I think you're ok to stick with the 2.75 now that's what you've done. The yellow nadirs you were seeing were at the upper end and lantus doesn't like you changing the dose around too much so I would stick with it for now - for at least the next 5 cycles - unless she happens to earn a reduction of course. But remember for next time it will probably only be .25 increases from here on and it's always a good idea to post for advice before you do an increase :)

I looked at your ss and saw where you were giving .25 and .1 at times. How the heck do you get that amount? Im having a tough time with the 1/4 increments even with the 1/2 line on my syringes!!! I use a flashlight/ruler etc but I feel like Im kind of guessing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top