3/13 Willow AMPS~593, +4~499

Status
Not open for further replies.

Complick8d

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8955

WCR: Hanging out on the rooftop balcony of his rental condo in Rebound City.

WBR: Wasn't there a comparison done before on syringes? I'm out of the relion ones that I usually use, but have about 8 BD ones left to use until I'm able to come up with more syringes. Willow's on a fat 1u now, so I'm hoping the different syringe isn't going to vary the dose much.

I leave tonight at AMPS+8.5 and I have no clue when I'll be back, but I'm guessing close to PMPS+3 or 4. I know he's rebounding right now, but you just never know with Willow. I really wish my mom would learn to hometest. I've tried to teach her but she just can't seem to do it. She gets super anxious about it and is worried she's hurting him. Then she gives up after 2 tries. Willow LOVES his pawtesting, so he's an easy guinea pig. Although he doesn't start getting a little frustrated with her.
 
I'm not an expert -- but I can say that people laughed at me :lol: when I was concerned about moving from one syringe to another. I concluded that the syringe markings probably match exactly. Let's see what one of the experts says!
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
I'm not an expert -- but I can say that people laughed at me :lol: when I was concerned about moving from one syringe to another. I concluded that the syringe markings probably match exactly. Let's see what one of the experts says!

The syringe markings should match. I just found it hard to get the plunger to move easily, making it hard to get the dose where I wanted it. I had issues with measurements when I switched from the BD syringes to these Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings. I'm sure it's the 1/2 unit markings that mess me up so much, since I used the BD syringes w/o them for so long.
 
The syringe markings should match. I just found it hard to get the plunger to move easily, making it hard to get the dose where I wanted it. I had issues with measurements when I switched from the BD syringes to these Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings. I'm sure it's the 1/2 unit markings that mess me up so much, since I used the BD syringes w/o them for so long.

I am really interested to hear this! I have started several times to change from BDs without the half-inch marker to a syringe with it, but I've chickened out every time.

Could you tell me more about your mean? Is it the Relion or the BD where you have trouble with the plunger? I waste a lot of BD syringes going past my dose.

And how do the 1/2 unit markings mess you up?

Now that Kitty is in micro-doses, we're just reducing by a drop and memorizing where the plunger is for each dose. It's not as perfect a method as I would like!
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
I am really interested to hear this! I have started several times to change from BDs without the half-inch marker to a syringe with it, but I've chickened out every time.

Could you tell me more about your mean? Is it the Relion or the BD where you have trouble with the plunger? I waste a lot of BD syringes going past my dose.

And how do the 1/2 unit markings mess you up?

Now that Kitty is in micro-doses, we're just reducing by a drop and memorizing where the plunger is for each dose. It's not as perfect a method as I would like!

I just had to get used to all the extra markings on the syringe with the 1/2 unit markings. It's the BD where I had trouble with the plunger today. It's happened with Relion as well in the past... I'm sure no syringe is totally immune to some occasional issues. I wish I have found syringes with 1/2 unit markings when Willow was first diagnosed years ago, since he was on small and microdoses then. I prefer them now.

How do you waste BD syringes with going past your dose? If I squirt out too much in the sink, I just add more to the syringe and try again.
 
How do you waste BD syringes with going past your dose? If I squirt out too much in the sink, I just add more to the syringe and try again.


hmm, not sure about adding more to the syringe...I just get a new syringe, I never dared re-insert the syringe to fill it again, dont know if that's ok to do....but anyway, what I was told and I hear this a lot, is turn the plunger left and right slowly to get excess out....use your used syringes to practice, use some sort of juice to practice on used syringes.
 
I wish your mom could test too. I hope Willow has found his way out of RBC by now and that you had a good rest of the day.
 
PMPS~???
+2~358
+5~575

My mom said that he moved when she gave his PM shot, so she's not sure if it's a fur shot or not. That nasty +5 would make me think so on any other cat, but could just be Willow continuing his vacation in RBC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top