3/13 Silver AMPS 223 +5=247 +7=236 +9=194 +11=194 PMPS 261 +4=216

Status
Not open for further replies.
In my latest case with Jones I wasn't increasing enough dose wise to get things back down again. I ended up going for 0.10 u to 0.75 u before he started to come back down again. I think he will settle between .5 and .75u for how ever long that lasts. I have adjusted his reduction number due to the prednisolone as that will always be part of the regime.

Marje was the one that pointed it out to me that I needed to get a little more aggressive with the amount of the increase instead of doing just drops or 0.10u. I was just a little stuck in the past and how he doses to see what was going on in the current situation (prednisolone dose increase, dental issues that haven't been addressed).

For Silver, I don't think that is the issue. You are moving up every week and doing the 0.25u. Carla has been watching over you.

I am not an expert so I don't know if you just haven't hit that breakthrough dose yet or if you have gone too far.

I wasn't the best poster for awhile about Jones. Once I started again is when I got the help, from a source I wasn't expecting btw.

Keep you chin up.
Well most folks don't pop in any more so I'm glad of any help you can give. If I've gone too far how would I know and what would I do?

He's even higher at +5.

What concerns me is that he is doing reverse curves. His preshots are low enough then he goes up and stays up until coming back down to same number at Amps for pmps. I don't know what to do and I feel very much on my own.
 
Well most folks don't pop in any more so I'm glad of any help you can give. If I've gone too far how would I know and what would I do?

He's even higher at +5.

What concerns me is that he is doing reverse curves. His preshots are low enough then he goes up and stays up until coming back down to same number at Amps for pmps. I don't know what to do and I feel very much on my own.

Answering on today's post instead of yesterday's

Jones does some reverse curves. It is usually a bounce. That said, sometimes with the Friskies I get a bump up that seems to last.

ETA - I believe I get a bit of a bump from the pred as well.
 
Answering on today's post instead of yesterday's

Jones does some reverse curves. It is usually a bounce. That said, sometimes with the Friskies I get a bump up that seems to last.

ETA - I believe I get a bit of a bump from the pred as well.
I could understand a bounce but this is every day. Could he be bouncing daily? So he's on too high a dose then? I've been feeling he's too high for ages but don't know what to do.
 
Too high of a dose looks like to low of dose.


To me he looks like he is bouncing from yesterday's AM cycle. But then when I look on the curves on the 3rd and the 10th it look like not enough insulin.
 
Stay with the protocol.

Has Silver ever had a dental?
He hasn't but I'm barely affording the diabetes supplies. I have no money for dental. I'm still paying off two vet loans from last visits. Vet didn't say his teeth were bad at last check up in October. He doesn't seem to eat as if mouth sore.
 
Vet didn't say his teeth were bad at last check up in October. He doesn't seem to eat as if mouth sore.

My 6 year old civvie went from not bad/looks good last year to 3 teeth being pulled due to absorption and cavities. She never once showed she was in pain or stopped eating.

I know Jones could use a cleaning for sure but he hasn't been classed stable enough by the vets until recently. That said, sometimes you can't do everything you want to do.

I am glad Rhionnon gave some advice because I am confused on what Silver is doing.
 
By 6 year old civvie went from not bad/looks good last year to 3 teeth being pulled due to absorption and cavities. She never once showed she was in pain or stopped eating.

I know Jones could use a cleaning for sure but he hasn't been classed stable enough by the vets until recently. That said, sometimes you can't do everything you want to do.

I am glad Rhionnon gave some advice because I am confused on what Silver is doing.
I wish I could take him for a dental to rule that out but I truly can't. Absolutely no $$
 
numbers can often get stuck a bit when teeth are starting to become an issue....
meanwhile, you just stick with the incremental increases....

sometimes, insulin needs just change.... it never really settles in and stays stable.
sometimes foods change without our catching it..... plus those carb values are an estimate, some cans can be a bit higher, some lower..... (that would only apply if he's carb sensitive)

but they won't necessarily have trouble eating when teeth become an issue.... mine did just fine and she had resorptive lesions....
what gave it away for her was she wanted her jaw scritched all the time.... and she would chatter her teeth as if she was watching a bird out the window when I scratched her jawline.


He is at the age where he will likely need a dental down the road so after you pay off the debt, try to start saving up.....
 
That will take years. Longer than his lifetime. Only way I can afford a dental is if I get a windfall or left $$.
 
Usual high food spike up 57pts. Gave shot without food so hopefully +2 won't be food influenced and will be lower.
 
dentals usually get them back where they need to be. Just look at China, I don't know if she has the longest run of FD before remission.

And he's likely to get back to remission....
pred will knock them out... but so will needing a dental.... or other brewing medical conditions ....

my own belief is that the diabetes comes first, then it may be a few years, but there is something that isn't presenting itself fully yet....
just my own humble opinion....
 
dentals usually get them back where they need to be. Just look at China, I don't know if she has the longest run of FD before remission.

And he's likely to get back to remission....
pred will knock them out... but so will needing a dental.... or other brewing medical conditions ....

my own belief is that the diabetes comes first, then it may be a few years, but there is something that isn't presenting itself fully yet....
just my own humble opinion....
He did just have a check up. I'll take him back in a few months when he's due his next one. Nothing untoward showed up. He's still a young cat yet.

I'm in no doubt that as he ages then illnesses may appear. I won't put him through a tonne of treatment when and if that happens just to keep him with me tho.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top