3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256 L+2/R+2 103 L+3/R+3 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66025

Good morning everyone! ~O)

We're off to a beautiful start this morning!!! I woke up to Sasha acting completely normal this morning by stepping on my head, playing, running around, stalking stuff, and his litter box looks great!!!He ate a whole 5.5 oz can of Merricks Surf and Turf, (Low carb)

Finally a "normal" AMPS of 302, the lowest it's been in two weeks. Sasha even went into the yellows for me last night :-D

I dont want to jinx anything, but of course I had to tell you all!!!! :-D

I held off on the R, just gave him his usual 3.25 Lantus.

He finished the last of his Baytril today, it was about a 10 day supply from the ER vets..

I am going to try to get a ketone test before I leave in an hour for work.

Just wondering if I can get any subq tips for today, I am going to run home on lunch today...yesterday he recieved .75 subqs twice...

When I get home later I am going to post all of his blood work...

Will try to get back on here to check in a couple of hours!!!

Thanks everyone :-D Have a GREAT day!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Yay for the yellow last night! And that AMPS is almost yellow. Much better numbers, Sasha cat_pet_icon

Sorry, I don't have much experience with fluids. So, I'll just cheer you on about the better numbers :-D
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Good morning and thank you Dyana and Linda! I am so happy right now!!!! :-D :-D :-D Just looking for a nice negative ketone test before I leave for work! Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Sasha is looking soooooooooooooooo much better, you have been doing great work with him.
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Tara, you have been amazing and working so hard with Sasha. That's a nice report on her, especially the stepping on head and playing. :-D Vines for no ketones today.
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Nice AMPS Sasha! Great news on the yellow. Even better news on the stepping on the head. :lol: Have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Tara:

Congrats on that great cycle last night. Please ask Sasha to do it again!!

If you take a look at Gabby's SS, I have her lab values on a tab. It keeps everything in one place and you can add information for comparison over time.
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Thank you everyone! It's all of your wonderful support and good vibes that are sending Sasha in the right direction! lol, keep it coming!!! :lol:

I"m going home on lunch to check on my little man. For now... bacckkkkk tooo the grind.... :cry:

Everyone have a wonderful day!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Hi guys .. wow, I've missed a few condos the last few days ... I can't believe how wonderful this condo is! So happy that things are turning around for you guys .. Can't wait to see sasha can do when he's feeling 100%! Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Tara...what great news today. I am so happy!

I'm sorry to just get to you now and you've probably already come home for lunch.

I think on the subqs that we should start tapering him off. How about 75 mls every other day? I just don't want to stop cold turkey but lets do that today and Thursday and if numbers keep coming down and there are no ketones, then we can stop. Sound like a good plan?
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Sorry I missed where the vet said to taper off the fluids; was that in a past thread?
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Hi there Tara :cool:

So happy to see the yellow last night , along with the lowest PS Sasha has seen for some time - all with no R on board!

A few questions -
How's the transition back to LC coming along? How many oz did he consume yesterday?
So far today?

When BK went a second round with ketones, he was down to 7lbs 6 oz. (06/25/2008). After his hospitalization he started chowing down!
I would get those tall cans (16oz?) of Wellness and he would go through 1 whole can, sometimes more, per day.
By October he was up to 11.2lbs and by December he weighed in at 13.2 lbs ! (a bit "portly").
He now eats 2, 3oz cans of FF (he went on Wellness strike) per 24 hours and maintains a "fighting weight" of 11.2lbs. or so.
He looks fit and trim - no more "portly" kitty :razz:

Does Sasha look/feel like he has put on some real weight?
What's the latest ketone reading?
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

And to add to Sandy's post...could you please be sure and let us know when you get the blood ketone meter? :-D :-D I hope it arrives soon.

Also....I know you got the new meters....are you using them or is this number the One Touch? If you haven't switched yet, it would be good to get some comparisons and then be sure an put on your SS when you do switch.

Love that he's eating the WN!!! :-D :-D :-D

Hope you had a great day!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256

Devon, thank you, your continued support is awesome...yeah..there's been some good things happening lately...fingers crossed!!!!! :-D

Marje, that sounds like a plan about the fluids. I didnt recieve the ketone meter yet, but I will definitely let you know when I do!! Thanks again LLEF.. :-D I am still using the ketone strips for now. I didnt compare the meters yet, but I will be sure to on the next tests!!!

Sandy, he's come back to LC nicely! I went ahead and bought those big cans of Wellness, he ate an entire one yesterday! He does get sick of the flavors if i give him the same thing all the time, so today hes had about half a big can of Wellness, and 2 cans of Merricks LC food...my boy is getting his appetitie back!!! :-D
It seems the weight he's put on is solid...he really needs to put on some more.

I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of Tiki brand canned food? I was looking at the shredded chicken in broth, It looks low carb from what I can read on the ingredients, but I dont want to take any chances until I hear some positive feedback on it.

Also....food additives, enticers.. does anyone use FortiFlora? When Sasha gets picky, I usually use crumpled up freeze dried treats, parmesan cheese or bonito flakes...but sometimes he gets sick of that too.

Well I hope everyone had a great day!
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256

Hi Tara & Sasha,

Such a pleasure to read about how well Sasha is doing. And you, Tara, are doing a fabulous job. To answer your question about Fortiflora, many people sprinkle a little of it on wet food to entice their cats to eat. One of the ingredients is "animal digest", which apparently is the ingredient in dry food that makes it irrestible to cats.

Keep on doing what you're doing!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256

Many of us use FortiFlora both when our cats have diarrhea and as a way to entice them to eat.

I'm liking that yellow!!

(BTW, it's Devon that's posting not Peter.)
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256

Tara

Fantastic response to the "R" tonight! And what great news that Sasha is eating his WN so much better. I looked through several of our food charts and couldn't find Tiki Cat on them. I'll do a search in FDMB and see if anyone has brought it up.
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha PMPS 362 L+1/R+1 256

I did just a quick search on Tiki Cat and while it appears to be low carb, it is all seafood based and so is high in phosphorus. While Sasha is not a kitty with renal issues, its probably a good idea to avoid such a fish-based diet.

Since I'm on my iPad sitting outdoors right now, I'm having a hard time linking one of the more recent charts for you. But if you look at the "New to the Group" sticky at the top of this forum ans scroll down, you'll see several food charts. The top one is most recent and has a lot of foods listed.
 
Time to change your R strategy - Things they are a changin' :cool:

My recommendation is that you refrain from using R for now and see how things shake out with Lantus alone.
That can be easier said than done. That was a big drop from PMPS to +2 and Sasha may bounce.
You may see an ugly number (bounce) and be tempted to shoot it down with a little R.

Beware the "R roller coaster"
it starts with a little R, which turns out to be too much, causing a steep drop, that causes a hard bounce that's hard on the beans eyes, so out comes the R. . . .
I've seen it happen.

Remember, he is on a higher Lantus dose due to the crisis. He is back to LC and getting better - his insulin need may change back quite rapidly.
it's looking like Sasha has turned a corner :-D
 
what a great report on sasha today! i'm SO glad to hear he's back to walking on heads! :lol: seriously, though, we can tell a lot by their behavior and you're describing a kitty that feels good.

you should feel so good about all you've done, tara. great job!
 
Thanks Julie! It does feel good to have my little guy running around and acting crazy again...He's back to his old tricks today and I am loving it!!! :-D

LOL, Sandy, I was thinking that too...things they sure are a changin'!!! Ok, I will hold off on the R. I have to go to bed soon, but if I wake up at 5AM and find him back in the 4-600's, still no R? Should I just let him drop? It's true, he is only on LC food now...Thanks Sandy! :cool:

Have a great night everyone!Time to catch some ZZZZZZ's.....
 
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
Sorry I missed where the vet said to taper off the fluids; was that in a past thread?

Gayle, while your intentions may be good, your delivery is way off... Last night you're screaming "acro" at me when you didnt even read Sasha's history. You might want to change your approach because you can scare another newbie off of the board that way. It's shady that you are advising me in PM's... Please do me a favor and just stay out of my condos. I have every confidence that Sasha will be okay.Thanks.
 
Sasha&Tara said:
but if I wake up at 5AM and find him back in the 4-600's, still no R?


(time for the cuffs. . . ;-) )

We don't have any idea what Sasha's normal patterns are - is he a diver? bouncer? How quickly does he clear a bounce?
There's only one way to find out how he does on Lantus alone. Let's see what this and the next cycle bring.
I think it's a good starting point. If it looks like it's not time to completely dump the R, you add it back, perhaps reducing the doses.
.5u R appears to be too much under today's circumstances..
 

Attachments

  • fluffy-pink-metal-handcuffs.jpg
    fluffy-pink-metal-handcuffs.jpg
    6.1 KB · Views: 888
Re: 3/13 Sasha AMPS 302

Sasha&Tara said:
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
Sorry I missed where the vet said to taper off the fluids; was that in a past thread?

Gayle, while your intentions may be good, your delivery is way off... Last night you're screaming "acro" at me when you didnt even read Sasha's history. You might want to change your approach because you can scare another newbie off of the board that way. It's shady that you are advising me in PM's... Please do me a favor and just stay out of my condos. I have every confidence that Sasha will be okay.Thanks.

To quote your PM to me

Again, Thank you so much Gayle! I will be keeping you up to date! You are truly an angel!!!!!!!!!

you are welcome. I am sure you will do fine by Sasha.
 
tara, i've heard that sandy has a large supply of those fluffy pink handcuffs that she might share with you.

we won't ask her why she has so many. ;-) :lol: (sorry sandy, you opened the door and i couldn't resist walking through!)
 
Okay here we go....Gayle, You havent been following anything, that was the first hour of the first day of me signing on to this board when you were PMing me... Then here you come popping up yesterday screaming about different diseases when I'm trying to deal with the current situation at hand... Stop PMing people advice. It's weird. Youre going to do more harm then good to the newer people. Dont answer...just keep it moving please. Thanks.Bye. :smile:
 
LOL....you guys are too funny!!! I love those pink cuffs!!! Ok, no more R, lets see how my baby does without it!!! K now I'm really going to sleep...I swear....zzzzzzzzzz

Goodnight everyone!!! :-D
 
*not being a global mod, I am not closing this thread at this time- however, being a forum mod, I have alerted Rebecca to the many reported posts and ridiculous behaviour here and would encourage you who insist on posting off board advice and lodging personal attacks, to remember the terms of this board, etiquette wise, that you all agreed to when you registered here.
 
re: off board advising, as per Rebecca

Terms of Use: Off board advising
by Rebecca, Webmaster » Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:55 pm

First of all, I want to reiterate that the purpose of FDMB is for expression of personal opinions about treatment of feline diabetes, or statements of scientifically based treatment options, in an open, peer-reviewed atmosphere.

I do not condone any personal private advising, by Facebook, phone, email, smoke signals, or any communication method off the board. And it includes using the PM system of the FDMB.

Of course, I have no control over what you do off FDMB. I am simply stating that I will not allow the FDMB to be used for this purpose. It is disrespectful to your peers on this site and also exposes FDMB to a lot of legal liability.

If you are doing off board advising for some reason, please respect the person you are advising and tell them this is your PERSONAL opinion. You may also want to state on the board what you have advised and ask for peer review. Or maybe not! I know that I personally advise my sister-in-law about her cat. But I don't use FDMB to do it. And I always make sure she discusses my suggestions with her vet.

If you come across a message indicating that someone is doing personal advising using the FDMB resources, please PM or email me immediately. And please don't complain to me about advice being given on Facebook pages or boards I don't administer, or by personal email, etc. Just not on FDMB, please.


Thanks,
Rebecca
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top