3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.+3, 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66041

We finally got power at about 11pm last night.

Rupert looks fine this morning. happy, very hunger, sleek, purry and active.

Negative ketones yesterday despite those hideous numbers. Used OLD vial for shot last night..??? could it be that the new one is bogus? hm....will stick with old vial for a while. although some pink at PMPS yesterday so maybe it was just his body needing time to refill and get used to new dose. he's had some Carlysle tuna this morning. not the best quality stuf, but no carbs and he loves it, I was out of his steak (!) for treats so had to bribe hm with something else. will get his lysine at +2 snack.

yesterdays numbers,
AMPS 424.8
+2 363.6
+ 5 401.4
iPMPS 399.6
+2 351

glad to see some action today.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

Yay indeed Rupie's numbers had been making me shudder this is looking so much better. Work that juice Rupert, work it!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

Great start! Keep it up, Rupert. I'm glad your power is back on. We were in Vancouver in Dec 2006 (to get married :-D ) just after the big storm that damaged so many trees in Stanley Park. Wow.
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

Hi guys .. It's so nice seeing rupert back down in yellows! I hope this is a sign of lower numbers to follow .. And yay for getting power back on! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

images
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

*whew* YAY! i'm celebrating along with you pip!

you're exactly right about last night's dose - if the new insulin was toast, it would have depleted the shed and the response this morning is exactly what would be logical. i'm SO glad. can't tell you - i'm running out to work, but saw your post and wanted to celebrate with you.

i think you should continue using the old vial - take a look at the discussion on the sticky about taking care of your lantus. it appears many people make the vial last months, rather than 1 month, if it's treated carefully.

if i were you, i'd contact the pharmacy where you bought it and tell them it's no good. first, though, contact the lantus people directly at lantus.com and tell them that it was like shooting water. however, don't tell them it was used on a cat. they will blow you off entirely. tell them it was on your child - rupert is your son, right? you may be able to get some action. you can wait a few days, of course, but this morning seems to me to be clear evidence it was your insulin.

SO glad you were cautious about this change. way to go girl! have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

the lantus.com site says for US people only? sigh. once again Canada is a forgotten country. I have FIVE cartridges of that new stuff... since they are all linked together I"m assuming that if they overheated somewhere en route, they are all bad??? is there any way to actually test them?? jeesh. this is so frustrating.

although.... BEFORE I gave the shot last night, he had dipped to the pink a little bit and was heading down a smidge....suppose that could mean that the insulin was working but not AS good as it should? sigh. anyone know who I could contact in canada?? grr.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257 YAY!

I think the jury is still out on the lantus being no good. Let's see what happens over the next couple of cycles. If the new lantus was no good, you may see some real action, so please monitor closely.

Have you gotten any further tests, Pip? With no tests from +2 last night to AMPS this morning, we have no idea if he was on the way up or down at AMPS.....
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

A good number on cycle 5 after an increase is expected from functional insulin.
Were the previously used insulin to have been expired, the shed would need to fill and you would not have an immediate improvement on the first shot of a different container of insulin.
If you refer to the protocol general guidelines, it states to hold doses for 6 cycles for a reason.


"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

+2.4 and he's into blue... already?! not complaining, no sirree not complaining, but hoping he levels out a bit. He looks great this morning other than both eyes weeping... which leads me to my new theory...possibly.. and will talk to dental vet... what if he has an abscess in a tooth or in the sinus, what if the abscess fills slowly, like a blister, and then bursts resulting in the eye drainage? I notice that his eyes seem to have times where they are fine, then weep very very slightly and then almost like a nosebleed, they just weep this red stuff, like a big old nasty zit that popped (sorry for the early morning mental graphic!). Anyway. all just ideas going around in my head. Hoping vet today will schedule full head xray and we'll see what's going on. if she finds nothing then I'll either assume the last lot of insulin was bad, or just that we didn't have the dose quite high enough..... fingers crossed.

re last night testing... remember we had the big power out so I only got a +3... (I mistakenly put it in as a +2)...so no clue if his morning yellow was a rising or falling number, sorry. it was -3c here last night and we only have a very small generator so it was running the fridges/freezers and the heat for our tenant (none for us!)... and we had to shut it all down at 9pm due to running out of fuel! so 9pm it was lights out and triple comforters on the bed!

thanx for the info Gayle, I was sort of thinking that myself given that he had the beginnings of some pinks again, and it seemed to happen pretty fast! hope you are right.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

I'm on the fence about the vial/pen, as well. Rupert's numbers weren't all that lovely before you switched to the new insulin, although it looked more like he was bouncing.

Where do you store your Lantus?

Also, you are probably looking at the Sanofi (Lantus) site for the US. You may want to find their international site for appropriate contact information (or write to the US site an tell them you need a contact for Canada/North America). Did you order the insulin over the internet? If not, call the pharmacy and tell them what happened. They should replace at least the unused pens. I had this happen and they replaced mine.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

Pip & Rupert said:
He looks great this morning other than both eyes weeping... which leads me to my new theory...possibly.. and will talk to dental vet... what if he has an abscess in a tooth or in the sinus, what if the abscess fills slowly, like a blister, and then bursts resulting in the eye drainage? I notice that his eyes seem to have times where they are fine, then weep very very slightly and then almost like a nosebleed, they just weep this red stuff, like a big old nasty zit that popped (sorry for the early morning mental graphic!).

I never had to deal with dental issues, so I do not know how much eyes/drainage are related to it.
Feline herpes will come/go. Is this vet you are seeing just for dental reasons? Could you ask them about his eyes too?

It is like a breath of fresh air to see those numbers go down, isnt it? Glad to see the dose increase helped!

Good luck at the vet today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

ECID as far as when a dose increase may kick in. Some cats show a reaction immediately, some take a few cycles, some take longer...there's no set time that it takes for an increase to take effect. There is very little data on his SS regarding how he reacts to dose increases....he has had mostly reductions. Likewise on a toasty insulin....there's really no way to know when there may be action. There are plenty of unknowns here.

I wasn't complaining about lack of data, Pip. I realize that you had a power outage. I was just pointing out that without another test closer to AMPS, we don't know which way he was headed when you shot, so an early cycle test is a good idea. Also, if you look at 2/22, Rupert dove quite dramatically from a yellow number to low green in the space of a few hours, so he can be a diver.

Regarding your theory....I don't know, I guess anything is possible! We can all speculate! ;-) Any tests/exams/x-rays that can help shed light on Pip's eye issue and possible dental issues would be helpful. Good luck at the vet! Please keep us posted, I'm very curious to see what the vet says.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

oh and to answer whoever it was re the 'lantus care'. it lives in the fridge 24/7, and fridge was kept cool courtesy of generator last night and wasn't opened at all when there was no power to it. we don't heat our house other than with the woodstove so it's a tad chilly everywhere that is out of range of the woodstove (in the den)! Kitchen rarely gets above 12 (or 54 in US).... in the summer it might see 60! seriously. we face north! it's like we have a/c in the summer, it's fabulous. Winter.. well, we are used to it but all our friends come over to visit bringing their slippers and an extra sweater!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183

Ahhh...the blues :cool:

I remember something about taking care that the lantus does not touch the walls of the fridge; I believe there is a danger of it getting too cold - even freezing.
That would turn it into toast as well.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

sigh, back to the pinks already. oh well. fun whilst it lasted briefly.

I keep the vials in the 'cheese' section, you know, the bit in the door with the plastic door on it.. but will try to 'pamper' it even more! tee hee.

sure hoping vet finds something. this pink could be a bounce since we dont' know how low he went last night.. hope that's all it is.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

Pip & Rupert said:
sigh, back to the pinks already. oh well. fun whilst it lasted briefly.

I keep the vials in the 'cheese' section, you know, the bit in the door with the plastic door on it.. but will try to 'pamper' it even more! tee hee.

sure hoping vet finds something. this pink could be a bounce since we dont' know how low he went last night.. hope that's all it is.

I think if he were bouncing from last night, then he would not have dropped to 183 from the amps of 257, and that 349 is a better +5.5 than the past numbers.
Wait till the 6th cycle at this dose; you may well still see some decent numbers.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

just a clarification for a dummy.... cycle.. is that a full day, i.e am and pm shots or is that EACH shot, so 6 cycles would be three days??/ or 6? just so my peabrain gets its. thanx!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

Oh dear Pip - you're not supposed to keep the lantus in the door of the fridge either, I don't remember reading a reason why but I would think it's because of all the opening and closing - but don't tell the lantus people that's what you did!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

oops! okay, will move to one of the draws in the bottom that doesn't get used much. we don't have kids so luckily the amount of fridge opening and closing isn't that great!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

YAY RUPERT!!! Way to go!!!

A cycle is 12 hours. So there are two cycles in a day.

It's hard to know what he did last night BUT some cats do not bounce until 24 hours after a low number. They don't always bounce the same cycle or the one immediately after. Sometimes it is two cycles later. So the 349 could be from last night, it could be from today....we don't know. Once you are able to have more data with him coming down into blues/greens, then you might be able to pick out a pattern. However...stay tuned because those patterns can change :-D

Can you get a refrigerator thermometer to put by your box? That's what I do so I can keep tabs of the exact temp my insulin is at. I keep it in the cheese drawer, too, with the thermometer.

So relieved to see these numbers!!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

HI Pip, I'm so glad to see Rupert's numbers down, at least for a while today. :smile:

I keep mine in it's box in a fat open jar, so it doesn't get jarred, or knocked around.
I put a thermometer in the jar also , so I always know the temp right next to it. Even so, my last pen, may have been toast, but I'll never know. It could just be that Checks likes lev better.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

Rupie had some gorgeous numbers today....yay, Rupie!!! Keep working it!

Have a great night, guys!!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480... right after being at vet!

It was me that asked about where you kept the Lantus. It's best to not keep insulin on the door. There's too much temperature variation. In a crisper bin is a much better place.

Not that I want to trash your theory since anything is possible, but I don't think you'd see the variation in numbers if Rupert had an abscess.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480. just at vet! dental tomorrow!!advi

so PMPS is 480, but no surprise , he always goes off the scale when he goes near the vet.

Vet visit very productive. he goes in for dental TOMORROW! wheeee. she said she'll do xrays, she had his old xrays from 2009...he has a history of 'not great' teeth. she found considerable inflammation and 'rolled over' gums in the top right, he has an old fracture in one canine that he had in 2009 that might now have allowed infection in, he has general tartar and gingivitis all over. She is going to do the dental xray, and then immediately do whatever is needed right after that so only one lot of sedation. She is totally fine with his BG being off the scale, agreed that she'd prefer to do it whilst they are high instead of dangerously low or all over the place. She can't confirm that there is something seriously icky going on in there but she seemed pretty certain that he had some major issues. Xrays will tell. I think tomorrow is going to be around a $1500 day, egads! BUT she is THE best board certified dental vet around. She wasn't familiar with lantus, but very curious. Was happy we had him on lysine, had some other supplement suggestions to add to drinking water (something called Happy Mouth).. that helps reduce issues. She is mostly the teeth vet now, her other partner is the 'medical' vet and she said she was going to talk to her about the Lantus more out of curiosity than anything.

I feel good. a little nervous. I hope he'll be okay..... so.... he's just had his 2u tonight. no shot tomorrow morning, gets dropped off at 8:45, she said they'd xray and do him immediately to limit the stress and try and get him home to us as soon as is reasonable. Will monitor BG levels constantly and said they are always ready to add something to the iv to boost him if necessary, but like me, she feels he'll probably stay pretty high.

no food after midnight, no water after 6am. he's NOT going to be very happy. poor fella! Still.. hopefully she'll find something that we can attribute his resistance to and we can start on a better program thereafter! Fingers crossed!

any advice??? things to do, not do, track, whatever??? ways to panic!! Hubby stressed of course, last time we sent an animal in to the vet it died, so he's pretty freaked. doesn't care about the cost, just that Rupie is okay. He's a little dehydrated today, but drank a lot when we got home and has had a good dinner. I"ll make sure he has more tonight at about +4.

yikes! I hope this works out! and they just forecast another big storm moving in tomorrow!! eek!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert AMPS 257,+2.5 183. +5.5, 349

Hi guys,
I've been pretty much away from the board for a few days and was so pleased to see Rupert's good numbers. Glad you got your power back. That's a problem where we live too.
Our fridge is unpredictable and variable in temperature. I have actually found the door shelf the best place, as long as the insulin cartridges are well wrapped to protect them from temperature changes. Additionally, I keep the cartridge I'm using wrapped in bubble wrap and in a small cardboard box with a thermometer fastened to it.).

Here's hoping for the good numbers to continue!

Ella & Rusty

P.s. just read your post about tomorrow's dental and want to wish Rupert a successful day. Sending heaps of good dental vines!
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480. just at vet! dental tomorrow!!advi

Pip & Rupert said:
so PMPS is 480, but no surprise , he always goes off the scale when he goes near the vet.

Vet visit very productive. he goes in for dental TOMORROW! wheeee. she said she'll do xrays, she had his old xrays from 2009...he has a history of 'not great' teeth. she found considerable inflammation and 'rolled over' gums in the top right, he has an old fracture in one canine that he had in 2009 that might now have allowed infection in, he has general tartar and gingivitis all over. She is going to do the dental xray, and then immediately do whatever is needed right after that so only one lot of sedation. She is totally fine with his BG being off the scale, agreed that she'd prefer to do it whilst they are high instead of dangerously low or all over the place. She can't confirm that there is something seriously icky going on in there but she seemed pretty certain that he had some major issues. Xrays will tell. I think tomorrow is going to be around a $1500 day, egads! BUT she is THE best board certified dental vet around. She wasn't familiar with lantus, but very curious. Was happy we had him on lysine, had some other supplement suggestions to add to drinking water (something called Happy Mouth).. that helps reduce issues. She is mostly the teeth vet now, her other partner is the 'medical' vet and she said she was going to talk to her about the Lantus more out of curiosity than anything.

I feel good. a little nervous. I hope he'll be okay..... so.... he's just had his 2u tonight. no shot tomorrow morning, gets dropped off at 8:45, she said they'd xray and do him immediately to limit the stress and try and get him home to us as soon as is reasonable. Will monitor BG levels constantly and said they are always ready to add something to the iv to boost him if necessary, but like me, she feels he'll probably stay pretty high.

no food after midnight, no water after 6am. he's NOT going to be very happy. poor fella! Still.. hopefully she'll find something that we can attribute his resistance to and we can start on a better program thereafter! Fingers crossed!

any advice??? things to do, not do, track, whatever??? ways to panic!! Hubby stressed of course, last time we sent an animal in to the vet it died, so he's pretty freaked. doesn't care about the cost, just that Rupie is okay. He's a little dehydrated today, but drank a lot when we got home and has had a good dinner. I"ll make sure he has more tonight at about +4.

yikes! I hope this works out! and they just forecast another big storm moving in tomorrow!! eek!
If any teeth are pulled, it's a good idea to Xray after and be sure there are no splinters; you could have problems if a few days down the road a splinter starts wiggling out.

After anesthesia, you can expect lower insulin needs; you 'll likely see lower BG.
Are you getting any bloodwork done as well. If yes, maybe some of the draw can be used to test for resistance conditions.

I can appreciate your husband's fears; I once took my 2 cats to be spayed and one died in recovery. It is very scary but I hope you can calm him and maybe the vet can give some reassurances.

After my Shadoe's dental, she had one tooth extracted, her dose dropped from around 14u BID to 2.5 BID, so teeth issues can make a huge difference. Hopefully your husband will be OK with it, and your Rupert will be back home with a mouth full of pearly whites.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

wonderful that you got it scheduled so quickly - she sounds like a good vet. and if she's good, her partner is likely decent as well!

one of the things that can happen post-anesthesia is they can be nauseous. you'll want some baby food that is only meat and broth. when he wants to eat, give him a teaspoon of it, then wait 20 minutes or longer before another teaspoon. continue with the every 20 minute plan for at least a couple of hours. it is common for cats post-anesthesia to be starving, then scarf and barf if they eat very much. he will accuse you of being mean when he only gets a tiny bit, but it is far worse if they are walking around vomiting after they've just had dental work.

make sure you tell them when you take Rupert in that you do NOT want him given Metacam. it is an anti-inflammatory and pain killer - unfortunately cats have been known to die from it. we have people on this forum who have lost their own cats to it. it is very hard on the liver. a safer painkiller is Buprinex (Bupe, Buprinorphin (sp?).

you also do NOT want him given a shot of Convenia. Convenia was developed as an antibiotic that is primarily good for skin issues. it is not very effective against other things. it's main plus is that it is a one-time shot that lasts for 2 weeks. the problem arises if a cat is allergic to it. it's action continues for 2 weeks whether or not the cat is allergic - and if rupert is, you can expect hospitalization in order to pull him through. it's also not particularly good for dental infections. the best antibiotics for dental stuff is Clavamox and Clindamycin.

If you are given a prescription for other drugs, you might hold off getting it filled until you can consult here. people here have tons of experience on meds for diabetic cats and will give you the info you need to protect him.

it is very expensive to check for high dose conditions, especially in canada. the main expense is not from the blood draw, but from the shipping and tests. you've just been told he likely has some fairly extensive dental concerns. i would deal with these first and see what his response is. there is no rush - you can address this possibility later if the concern still exists.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

First, your vet is on target. Anesthesia can lower BG levels which is why you were instructed to not shoot in the AM. I would suggest the following:
  • Get a test as soon as you get home. You want to know where Rupert's numbers are when you walk in the door vs. at PMPS. Not all cats need to have their PM shot reduced (or skipped). Every cat is different in this regard.
  • It sounds like there are likely to be extractions. Ask for a pain med. (Absolutely NO METACAM. It has an FDA black box warning due to it's causing renal failure in cats.) Most of us ask for buprenorphine. Some vets won't give it to you to administer at home because it's a narcotic. Tramadol is fine, as well.
  • If Rupert's mouth is as big of a mess as the vet suggested, he'll probably need an antibiotic. Some vets like to give Convenia. It lasts 2 weeks and if your cat has a bad reaction to it, it's a problem. There are other antibiotics (e.g., Clavamox or Clindamycin) that many vets prescribe.
  • If he's on antibiotics, you may want to start a probiotic, like FortiFlora, at the same time. ABs can cause diarrhea. Check with your vet about whether you need to have at least 30 min. between the AB and the probiotic. (Some ABs need an acid environment to work best and the probiotic can neutralize stomach acid.)
  • Do not over feed. Anesthesia slows GI motility and if Rupert eats too much or too fast, you'll have scarf-and-barf. In all likelihood, he'll be hungry since some of the meds do increase appetite.
  • Baby food is a good option if he's having trouble eating due to a sore mouth. Like Julie said, use a variety that is only meat and broth. No onions! (Onions can cause hemolytic anemia in cats.)
  • Some cats get agitated from the opiates in pain meds. If this happens, let Rupert settle down in a dimly lit, quiet room.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

Still.. hopefully she'll find something that we can attribute his resistance to and we can start on a better program thereafter! Fingers crossed!

When you are ready to look into any possible resistance issues, here are the links you can give to your vet:
IAA Test
IGF-1 (Acro) Test

The tests are not expensive at all; they are $49 and $15. Your expense will be the draw at your vet, the vet visit, and the cost of FEDEX to MSU. I am Canadian and know first hand what is required for the testing as I had both of my cats test positive for acromegaly.

No rush; you now have the info you need should you want to pursue further.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

Julie and Sienne gave you good info about the dental, I don't have anything to add to it. I'm glad you are getting him in so soon, Pip. It sounds like he really needs it. I'll be keeping you and Rupert in my thoughts tomorrow....sending good dental vines! :smile:
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

Sending good dental vines to Rupert and calming vines to beans. We will be thinking of you tomorrow. That is great to get Rupert in so quickly.
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

the dental specialist sounds wonderful - :cool:

It looks like others have covered all the bases.

Sending Rupert successful dental vines - we will be awaiting updates :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

we'll be waiting to hear too - please check in when you can. we'll be thinking of our little buddy! cat_pet_icon

punkin had his teef cleaned last march and i'm thinking i should have it done again as well. should we take you out for lunch while you're waiting tomorrow? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

Thanks everyone! I know regular dental check ups and cleaning are usualy not a problem for 'normal' cats.. just no clue when it comes to a sugar cat. Hoping that his levels stay safe. I'm sure he'll be feeling so much better by tomorrow evening. Vet said that often if they've got sore teeth, the minute they are out they are feeling better and eating just fine. I remember the last time he went in and had a tooth extraction we didn't even have to give him painkillers when he got home. he was just not bothered a bit. She said he may need a lot of teeth out, he may need nothing at all, but he's overdue for cleaning etc.etc. so at bare minimum he'll get that done. But she said she had her suspicions so hopefully she finds something both ugly AND minor, if you get my drift!!

fingers crossed. I'm a tad stressed but I know he'll be in good hands. Wish she was more familiar with lantus but I guess it makes little difference tomorrow. I'll try to get the meat/broth baby food for tomorrow evening. He's going to be one hungry boy. Very glad that he's seeing the best dentist there is.

She plans on doing a full blood panel before the sedation. Some concerns on the last one (from the other vet) that his proteins/kidney function was a tad weird.. I wondered if that was due to the switch to high protein food? hoping he doesn't have CRF or anything adding to the whole situation. Guess we'll find out tomorrow. She wants a urine sample (she was surprised how clean and easy it is for me to get one - had taken one from this evening).... just to do specific gravity. not sure why. Said it would be good enough for that, wasn't going to bother culturing and she said obviously it would be high in sugar.

sigh. I'm sure he's going to be just fine. thanx for the kind thoughts and info. I have my list of things to tell her: NO Convenia, NO metacam.
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

Hi guys, I don't know for sure if I've had a chance to say hi yet! We're pretty much newbies also. I read your profile--so fun to see all your babies, with paws and hooves!

I hope the dental goes well and I hope you will see some positive progress from it. Simon had one last week and I *think* it's helping! But we also bumped our dose up a drop. I do think he is doing well, though.

Update us when you have info!

images
 
Re: 3/13 Rupert PMPS 480.just at vet. dental tomorrow! advic

good luck with the dental tomorrow. I hope everything goes well. Sending Rupert lots of vines that his numbers come down.
 
so, +3 and 430.... was expecting the new dose to start showing sooner, but I guess one more day might have told the tale.. course he'll miss tomorrow so guess we'll be back to square one....

one question, I guess I shouldn't be worried that his numbers might go thru the roof tomorrow? because he's been so high for so long now... but is there anything I should worry about? is there a chance he could get ketoacidosis tomorrow? just silly random thoughts. He has been negative for ketones this far, even with those 500+ numbers... still.... on the other hand I guess he could go low tomorrow due to no food, anaethesia, etc.etc.etc.... round and round my brain goes!

anyway. slightly sad that his number hasn't come down a bit more since his PMPS.
 
Anesthesia actually has the effect of lowering BGs :cool:

Ya know, it' been a year since BKs last dental - I'd better call and get his teeth taken care of - all 5 of them. ;-)
 
Best of luck to you all tomorrow! I sincerely hope it makes a great difference. You guys deserve a break!

And I thank those for the reminder of no metacam...make sure they understand no injectible pre-surgery as well, especially due to his age (sorry Rupert ;-) ). There are alternatives they can use.

Look forward to hearing a wonderful report!
 
((((PIP))))

Sending Rupie big healing dental vines for tomorrow. You have lots of info and knowledge is power. I'm hoping this is the issue with his numbers. Please keep us posted.o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top