3/13 Racci+6 82,PMPS136,+15 194,AMPS 315,+6 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Hi,

I could really use some new eyes on Racci's SS if someone has the time. Racci has slowly come down from 4.5-5U to 3.75-3.9u. She is extremely sensitive about dose changes and goes all over the place whenever I change her dose. I've had to step back several times after a 3-4 day trial.

Racci has gone through a lot lately. She lost her cat mom, Calli in September and they were extremely close. Calli really still took care of her like she was a kitten even tho she's over 15 & they were never apart. She also was switched from her dry Purina DM that she loved, very much against her will, to canned food and is still only willing to eat 2 things - Wellness Salmon & Trout, & Wellness Core Salmon, Whitefish & Herring formula. I can also get her to eat home cooked food sometimes if she's in the mood - chicken and any time fish or cheese. Racci had a bad infection in her anal area and her anal glands a few weeks ago that is cleared up now. She also had her first hypo last week, luckily with no ketones, has asthma (under control with aerosol Flovent/Flixotide) and is chronically constipated (on Miralax 1/4 tsp bid).

Her current dose has been working for her pretty well, 3.9U AM (I have to shave dose changes with her) & 3.75u PM except that she keeps getting one pink # per day either at night or in the morning and all her other #;s are low! With all the blues, yellows & greens, she certainly doesn't need more insulin, yet when I lower her dose, her bg goes crazy high not just for days like you would expect from a reaction, but continuously! I thought if I just held on eventually she would straighten it out since everything has been so crazy lately for her, which still could happen. Maybe I'm being impatient or maybe there is something I'm not doing or doing wrong that some fresh eyes on the subject could spot.

I'm not fooling myself into thinking she'll go into remission which would be a lot to ask for with her compromised immune system, but I just want to keep her in numbers that protect her kidneys and pancreas since she's old to start with and limit the damage.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

hi melanie! i imagine someone with more ss experience will take a look, but i can see a couple of things. one of the things that is really common for people switching from PZI to lantus is to continue changing doses based upon the preshot numbers. i can see you're making regular changes in doses - nearly every single shot.

lantus dosing is based off of the nadir. i think you're at a fairly good dose- a nadir today of 82 is great for someone not trying for remission. i'd be very happy with that. the first thing i'd change is to hold every dose for at least 6 shots before even considering changing.

also, the low number of 34 on 3/2 - did Racci have symptoms with that, or did you give him the high carb food and he came right up? if Racci didn't have hypo symptoms, we would just consider it a low number. Lantus is usually gentle enough that they aren't truly hypos.

the high numbers that are appearing many of the days - i suspect they are from your dose changing. have you seen the post on New Dose Wonkiness? i would guess that's what you're seeing from each change in dose. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012&p=718063#p718063

any of that make sense?
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

I agree with Julie that you are hopping doses too much especially if she is sensitive to dose changes, the other thing I am seeing is no before bed or mid cycle tests at night. To me, it looks like she might be going low at night and bouncing back up in the morning. If she is getting into the 90s at mid cycle with a 300 PS, then she could easily be going much lower at night when she has a blue PMPS. She bounces back up in the morning and then clears during the day.

So I think your plan should be to shoot a consistent dose as Julie suggested and then set a an alarm a d fora few nights, get a before bed and or mid cycle test.

The other thing is to get a +2 at night...if it is the same or higher than your PS then it probably will be ok to go to bed. If its lower, then you should wake and get another test.
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Hi Julie,

Yes! The 34 you saw was a hypo. She did have symptoms with it and scared me nearly to death. :lol: She went into the kitchen & started yelling at my husband to give her food now! I heard her all the way from the back of the house and came running. My husband thought she was hurt. Racci never does that! She knew exactly what she needed and wanted it now and didn't stop yelling the whole time he examined her. When I came in he was already giving her dry food & its a good thing. I took her bg & saw the 34. As soon as he gave her food, she ate and was fine. No Ketones! phew!

I do see what you're talking about with the changed doses, thanks. It's not because of the PZI tho, it's because she's eating less & less of the dry food. I have been trying to bring her dose down a little since she's on the canned food now. Now Racci's down to a few pieces as treats for her tests & shots and that's it. I've been changing the dose at night when she was too low both at nadir and at the pm for me to sleep without worrying. A lot of the other switching was done for 3-4 days at a time with the same dose. I tried going down to where she was before (3.5) and up (4) to where she was stable before . I thought one of those might get rid of the pink again. I can see that having some effect tho, thanks.

I didn't see that post. I'm going to follow that link now.

Thanks for your reply. That's why I needed fresh eyes. :smile:
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

oh absolutely! i know i need other people to look at punkin's sometimes too. it's hard to see on your own cat.

hmmmm - but i will say your answer added another piece to the puzzle. if racci is very carb-sensitive, that dry kibble, even one as an occasional, would contribute to the wonky numbers. i have seen people post numbers after their cat got into even one or two bites of kibbles, single crunchies, i mean, and seen their BG soar from it.

i'd encourage you to go cold turkey and dump the crunchies. give a low carb treat instead. the dry food carbs can stay in their system for a day or longer. it's evil stuff for diabetic cats.

those little changes might make a big difference in what you've got going on. let us know how it goes!
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Hi Marje,

I must have been typing while you posted. I'm very slow on the laptop. I usually don't bother with the night because when I used to do it, it didn't prove useful. I'm missing a portion of my SS unfortunately, that has that data. One of these days, I'll see if I can locate it on the meter and put it bacck. I wasn't able to type at that time because of my back so was keeping it on paper and spilled something on it!

It would be useful now with these new numbers to have some new data tho, thanks. Racci usually doesn't react in 2 hours but I can try to do it tonight. Do you think that's more usefull than a +3? I'll never get her nadir though. I have to take sleeping pills or don't sleep at all & there's no way I'll wake up after only 3 hours sleep. I don't require much but need at least 5 hours. Racci's pm time is usually midnight. Tonight it was 1am because she was so low. Its almost 3:30 now so I can get a test now. I'll post it tomorrow. Have to get ready for bed now. Thanks again.

Thanks for the input.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Hi JUlie,

I don't know how much that post applies because she's doing it on lower doses also & I've been raising them back up as the protocol says. You know what I mean? That's what confuses me.

I think Marje might have hit on something tho. She might be bouncing from the night time dose. hmm. Alright, this time I'm really going to sleep. :lol:

Thank you both so much! Food for thought. Off to do another test on poor Racci.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Melanie:

I'm not sure what information about Lantus dosing you've been following so forgive me if some of this is basic. One of the fundamentals with Lantus dosing is consistency. Lantus likes consistency. If you tinker with the dose (e.g., shooting different amounts at AM and PM or frequent dose changes) or you aren't giving the shots at 12 hour intervals, the BG numbers are going to be weird. Because Lantus is long-acting, doses have a cumulative effect, and there is overlap between doses, changing the time or the dose has long reaching effects on overall numbers. This is one of the factors that makes Lantus different than other types of insulin. I'd encourage you to pick a dose and stick with it unless Racci's numbers drop below 40 which warrants a dose reduction.

If you get either a +2 or a +3 at night, that's fine. Like Marje, I like a +2 but that's because Gabby has an early nadir. Basically, you want to get a test that will act as your 'early warning system' that numbers may be dropping. If you have sleep issues, will your DH stay up to monitor Racci if numbers are dropping? Many cats have more active cycles at night.

You mentioned that Racci has some immune system issues. Have you thought about giving lysine as a supplement? The research is equivocal about it's use but many people here use it as an immune system booster.

Also, I'm not sure Racci yelling at you and your husband is a symptom of hypo. It sounds like it was a great way to get your attention!
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

What about trying the EVO dry at 8% to feed that hard food want? KT's the king of 'HARD FOOD' chant - he loves his hard food. Since we've gotten the EVO, it's made a big difference. He doesn't eat much, eats mostly soft food but those occasions that he 'wants', at least there's something I can give....we use the Chicken/Turkey but there's also Herring/Salmon.

HUGS!!!
 
Re:3/13 Racci+6 82, PMPS 136, +15 194, AMPS 315

I don't know if I did this subject line right since technically it was 3/13 when I posted last night. Racci's time is 12:00. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I managed to get a test before I passed out last night and it was at +3 after her PMS or +15 however you want to put it to keep things less confusing. Unfortunately the lower dose last night and my husband deciding to let me sleep this morning and feeding the wrong food to Racci screwed everything up & she had a 315 at her AMPS & it's hard to tell anything since it could have been either or neither that did it or both. I'll have to try again.

Sienne, I was referring to the protocol that says if you try a lower dose and it doesn't work, don't wait but go back to the closest dose that did work. That's why I went back to the higher dose again after she went higher on the lower dose I was trying. Did I do that wrong? Maybe I misunderstood. What do you do when you change doses to a lesser amount if it doesn't work?

I do know that Lantus doesn't like fluxuating times and doses but I can tell when she's not feeling herself and on those nights I don't like to give her a full dose if she's very low & I'm going to sleep soon. Racci has a late reaction to insulin. At +2 she shows nothing basically. At +3 she's just starting to go up noticeably usually and her nadir is usually either +6 or +7. She goes down very quickly when it does start acting on her. There's usually a huge difference between 4,5, & 6. It seems so scary to give a regular dose when I know she's not feeling great.

My hubby is definitely not capable of giving a test. Racci would not let him first of all. I think she knows better. :lol: He has very shaky hands and has a hard time remembering things & learning new things since his stroke a few years ago. Unfortunately it's all me. She loves him but gives him a wide berth when he's walking so he doesn't step on her, etc. :smile:

While it was very smart of Racci to ask for food, the way she was acting was definitely a hypo. I didn't get into all the behaviors on my post because I didn't want to change the subject and was really tired but trust me, this was not the normal Racci. :lol: She had a glazed look in her eyes that was really strange & was staring first at him, then me, then the floor, was hunched over, shaking, yelling on the top of her lungs. You would have to know Racci to know how out of character this is. She has been in the 40's before, which I had not remembered till I looked back but never this low, but at any rate, never acted this way at any other time when she was low.

I've heard people talking of Lysine but never checked it out. I will check it out and consider it.

Thanks for the input and food for thought.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Hi Lyresa,

I wish I could give the Evo dry but she hates it! Racci also hates most treats, believe it or not. She actually loves that Purina DM that most cats hate! Don't ask me why! The only treats she will eat are the ones full of carbs and she changes her mind every other day. With the Purina, she's only getting 1-2 tiny pieces from me at a time when I test her to keep her interested and it doesn't seem to affect her bg because she's still getting blue and green numbers. The only time there's a problem with it is when my husband forgets & gives her some. Hopefully, one of these days he'll remember. I showed him again today where the right food is and just got a case delivered today. Now I hope she doesn't change her mind again and decide she doesn't like the Wellness again. :lol: I just wish I could get something other than fish in her. Right now I can only get homemade chicken when she's in the mood and maybe a teeny bit of canned chicken mixed in if she cant smell it.. If she smells it, she won't eat anything. She's very frustrating to feed properly. I call Racci Miss Fusspot.

More hugs back.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

I was referring to the protocol that says if you try a lower dose and it doesn't work, don't wait but go back to the closest dose that did work. That's why I went back to the higher dose again after she went higher on the lower dose I was trying. Did I do that wrong? Maybe I misunderstood. What do you do when you change doses to a lesser amount if it doesn't work?
You're correct. If a dose reduction doesn't hold, you go back to your last good dose. I'm not sure what your last sentence in the quote means. The way I'm reading the question, it seems like you're asking about a dose reduction which is what I already addressed.

I do wonder if when you're saying that Racci isn't feeling like herself it's because she's not used to spending all that much time in lower numbers. She's spending minimal time in numbers that are below 120 (i.e., normal BG range) and, like Julie and Marje noted, she seems likely that she's bouncing off of blue numbers. For some cats, until they spend more time in normal range, they seem to feel less well than if their numbers are high. The only way to get their bodies used to normal range is for them to spend more time there. Also, the more time a cat spends in numbers outside of the normal range, the more you risk glucose toxicity. In other words, because their system has acclimated to higher BG numbers, it's harder to get the numbers to come down and the more likely it is that they will bounce. I'd encourage you to keep the dose the same.

If Racci is sensitive to numbers below 40, then it's fine to do what you need to do to keep her numbers above that range. I do suspect that as she spends an increasing amount of time in a normal range, she will be able to tolerate lower numbers without incident. Safety, however, is key an you can use HC to keep her numbers in a range that's safe for her.
 
Re: Racci+6 82, PMPS 136,usual dose 3.75uNew Eyes Please

Hi Sienne,

So do you think I should just leave her at her high dosage where she is in the blues and yellows and sometimes green all the time? That was the 4U bid. Right now her regular dose has been a real skinny 4u or 3.9 in the am and 3.75 in the pm and other than that one low 300;s every day, she's staying in the blues mostly. I'd love a second opinion on it. For a while she was doing ok on 3.5 & 3.75 as well but it didn't last. I don't think that's reflected on the sheet. She changes.

The vet had asked me to see if it was possible on the wet food to get her back to 3.5u bid which I thought would be lovely and might be possible but doesn't seem to be working. Other than a suggestion from her every now & then, I handle Racci's diabetes myself with help from fdmb of course.

What I meant before was that was part of the reason I was switching doses back and forth. Someone had given me a link to that page. That and because I was afraid to let Racci go low when I was asleep. Thanks, I'm glad I wasn't misunderstanding that.

She's been spending a lot of time in the blue but you;re right. Most of it is over 120 and a lot of time is in yellow too. It makes me feel better to think that the pink might be just a reaction to going lower in the blues and might clear itself. Thanks! Which dose do you think is best tho?

Oh, I looked up the Lysine also. It seems if you give it and they don't need it, some cats can have a problem processing the extra nitrogen. It also has sugar in it. But Racci does get frequent eye infections. I'm going to ask the vet what she thinks and what dose she would recommend. What dose do you use and which kind, the gel or pill?

Thanks!

Melanie & Racci
 
This is the l-lysine I use. It's a powder and has no additives (e.g., like sugar). Gabby gets 1/8 of a teaspoon twice a day if she has the sniffles.

I think you need to decide what your goal for Racci is. If you want her well-regulated, I would hope that you want to see her at the minimum, in numbers that are below renal threshold. That level varies from cat to cat and is somewhere around 240. (The only way to really know is to get Ketodiastix and get tests that tell you when there's glucose in Racci's urine.) Ideally, having Racci in blue and green numbers consistently would be great.

If you're worried about her dropping too low overnight, one approach is to take your lowest dose and to stick with that dose for 6 cycles (or if you are using the Start Low Go Slow protocol, then for a week/14 cycles). Let the dose settle. At the end of either 6 or 14 cycles, evaluate the dose. If Racci's numbers are higher than desirable, then increase the dose. Then repeat the process. This is a systematic and safe way to see how Racci is doing on any given dose and will, hopefully, help to give you and the rest of us a clearer picture of what Racci's insulin needs are and keep her safe at the same time.

I'm going to see if I can get a few other people to stop by and see what they think.
 
Thanks Sienne.

I should have clarified. It is the L-Lysine I was looking at. The gel is the one that has sugar, sorry. I saw the powder also. I thought the gel would be easiest to give Racci tho, so looked up ingredients.

I do test with ketostix wheneaver she is too high or low or looks off. So far luckily it's never been a problem. I hate even saying it and jinxing myself. :lol:

My goal is to keep her below the level of damage for sure and as low as she can go without putting her in danger when I'm not here, obviously. Luckily I'm usually home with her.

I can raise her up to 3.9 bid and she would not go into the pinks at all except for a bounce in the beginning but with the lo carb wet food, I'm not used to what it will do yet. The big problem is that her needs have changed and I haven't been able to find the right dose yet. Maybe I just need to raise the 3.75 dose a little.

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Melanie,

I think you have been given some very good information and suggestions by Marje, Julie and Sienne. Lantus likes consistency, so it's important to shoot the same dose AM and PM in order to see how that dose will work for Racci. I would try to get at least a before bed test at night...I understand your limits, but even a +2 or +3 every night would give you some idea of where she is heading. I also think that the idea that Sienne suggested about starting with the lower dose and gathering data to see how that works is a good way to keep Racci safe while you work on figuring out what a good dose for Racci may be. It's important that you be comfortable with the dose, but I would think 3.5u-3.75u would be a good place to start...what do you think? Remember that it's just a starting point, to be adjusted once you gather some data.

My DH also suffered a stroke a few years ago, so I understand what you are talking about as far as limitations. My DH can test and shoot, but he has significant memory impairment. I have made it easier for him to avoid making mistakes in food choices by eliminating any food from the house that I don't want him to feed to the cats. It's hard for him to make a mistake when there's no bad options around! ;-) Have you tried giving freeze dried chicken as a testing treat? Most kitties love it and it's low carb and healthy. Another option is boiled chicken breast...that's what I used. I would boil a breast, chop it up into very small pieces, and freeze it in a bag. Then I would pull out small amounts at a time and keep it in the fridge. There are other options, Wellness makes a jerky style treat that some cats love. Maybe if you can tell us what you have tried, we can come up with some other ideas. :smile:
 
Melanie --

There's a difference between Ketostix and Ketodiastix. Ketostix test only for urinary ketones. Ketodiastix test for both ketones and urinary glucose. There are two pieces of treated paper on the stick -- one for ketones and one for glucose.
 
Hi Laurie,

Maybe I should try the 3.75 on both shots again? I did try that for a few days back in February and she did ok for a couple of days but I think that's when her once a day pinks might have started. It might have been when she developed her infection in the anal glands though and it just coincided with the dose change. I'll have to look it up and see when she got sick. I don't think the 3.5 will be enough for her, do you? Do you think it's possible that she needs a lower dose now and she's reacting to too much insulin? The canned food is new so it's confusing figuring out what she will need now for me. Maybe I should go somewhere in between. :lol: She's also a big girl. She was almost 20lbs at the vet last month. I think she lost a little weight but not much.

So you know what I mean about DH. :smile: I think I'll find a new place for it in another room so he doesn't know where it is. I've tried just about everything with Racci. She hates freeze dried anything or jerky, the only treats she likes are the worst for her and she changes her mind constantly, I've made her boiled chicken and sometimes she loves it, other times she won't go near it. I've baked it with the same results. She likes to eat the exact same thing every day with no surprises. She's like a little soldier looking straight ahead but with no sense of adventure. :lol:

Right now the only thing worth eating in her eyes is Wellness Salmon & Trout, Core Salmon & Whitefish & Crab? (not sure what the 3rd ingredient is), except when she does me a favor and eats my cooking. ;-) She gets a very few pieces of her favorite Purina DM Dry 13% carb for treats when testing and prefers that to any treat unless I have fresh fish. She tried the turkey, which is further than anything else has gotten. The rabbit, chicken, venison were all not even worth a sniff. She ran away from her dish as fast as she could. I have duck in the pantry and a few other new goodies waiting but don't really hold out hope. I've thrown out so many open cans of premium cat food that I could cry when I think about it and their are always several open ones in the fridge with an open tuna to mix them with to try to get them eaten. If you thought of something that wasn't fish, that I could try without having to get a case, you would be my hero. :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Sienne,

I didn't read your post carefully enough. Can I buy and read the ketodiastix without a special meter or do I need one?

Melanie & Racci
 
If you want to try 3.75u, that's fine. The idea of starting with a lower dose (3.5u) would be if you are worried about her going low at night....you have shot 3.5u sometimes at night recently. You just need to start with a dose that you feel comfortable shooting both AM and PM consistently. Once you shoot the dose consistently and gather data for 6 cycles (for TR protocol) or a week (SLGS protocol), you can make whatever adjustment is needed based on the data you collected. I can't say what dose may be good for her, with all of the changing of dose, it makes the data wonky....that's why we keep saying that you need to pick a dose and shoot it consistently...then we can see how that dose works and go from there. Does that make sense?

As long as you can hide the DM where DH won't know where it is, that sounds like a plan! :smile: I do understand the memory issues....it's frustrating for everyone! I look for ways to avoid the frustration for both of us whenever I can.

Here's a list of LC treats...maybe you can find some new ideas to try! LC Treats If she likes fish, she may like the bonito flakes.

For foods....I use EVO 95% foods, some Fancy Feast (she doesn't like FF? Most cats love it!), some Wellness and Merrick gourmet and BG 96%....the last one is hard to find locally, Petco carries it. I know some kitties are super finicky, mine are not....yes, I know I'm lucky! I'm sorry she is so picky, some kitties are. Have you tried fortiflora on her food? Sometimes that helps to encourage eating. I'm probably repeating what you have already tried....

The ketodiastix are just like the ketostix, but they also give you a glucose reading from the urine. You don't use a meter, you dip them in urine and compare the strip to the chart on the bottle to read the results.
 
just looking back in on you, melanie. i'm so glad everyone has stopped by with ideas for you to try. we're cheering you and racci on - keep asking if you have more questions.

punkin is a bit of a hoover, so i'm not sure his opinion counts, but he loves his fancy feast! i haven't found a flavor yet that he didn't like. :lol: my civvie, anya, is finicky and she likes the ff too.
 
Hi Julie,

How are you and the furkits tonight? Everyone's been great and yes, I've gotten a lot of good advice and also learned about some new things. Very helpful, thanks.

It does seem that all the cats like FF and it's one of the few I haven't tried. I may pick up their chicken and turkey and try them since she doesn't like any of the premium foods I've tried except fish. I really like feeding human quality or at least the best I can but it does no good if she won't eat it.

Racci's been grouchy tonight so I don't think she's feeling great. Shes not happy with me bothering her & wants to sleep. She didn't eat a good lunch so was starving by 9:30. I fed her some Wellness & she was very unhappy about being woken up for her meds at midnight. Wait till she sees she isn't done yet. :mrgreen: I still have to brush her. Lately she hates to be brushed and if she isn't brushed every day she turns into one big matt. :)

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Laurie,

That's my sister's name btw. I know I went with the 3.5 the other night but I think if I eliminate the 3.9 and make it 3.75 also, then that might not be a problem again at this point if I can keep DH from giving her the wrong food. I just don't think that 3.5 is going to do much for Racci right now. It seems like a large jump for her from the 3.9. I think she will need a slower change on that dose so to get them both the same, I think the 3.75 is probably better right now and I can try going down from there if it doesn't work well after 3-4 days.

I had a brainstorm tonight and premixed her food the way she likes it in an almost empty can so all DH has to do is put it in her plate and microwave it if she gets hungry before I'm up tomorrow. I'm thinking of buying some little containers to do that with since she's so fussy about how she likes it, then he could put container and all in the microwave and just put it in her dish after warming in the future. That way I would know how much he's giving her and make sure it's just a snack and not enough to ruin my test but it will be fresh and warm for her royal highness. :)

Racci is the queen of pickiness. I tried Merrick, Evo dry but she hated it so I was afraid to try their wet. I can't get the BFF here, but that's also fish anyway. What is the BG? That's escaping me at the moment. She doesn't like anything but the Wellness fish which is what she eats or Turkey in gravy which is high in carbs and she liked the Core fish but we haven't tried the other Core meats yet so a trial is due on those.

I'll look at the treat list again. I haven't tried the bonita flakes yet because she hates that texture usually. I just get so tired of throwing away food. Know what I mean? When I had my other cats it wasn't a problem because no one else was this fussy.

I'm going to pick up the ketodiastix. I didn't know I could use them without a special meter. Thanks Sienne and Laurie.

I wanted to get the forti-flora but it says it's good for diarrhea which makes me think it would be bad for Racci since she's chronicallly constipated. She has to have 1/4 tsp miralax bid as it is so if it will do anything to make that worse, I'd rather not use it.

Thanks a lot, Laurie

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Laurie,

That's my sister's name btw. I know I went with the 3.5 the other night but I think if I eliminate the 3.9 and make it 3.75 also, then that might not be a problem again at this point if I can keep DH from giving her the wrong food. I just don't think that 3.5 is going to do much for Racci right now. It seems like a large jump for her from the 3.9. I think she will need a slower change on that dose so to get them both the same, I think the 3.75 is probably better right now and I can try going down from there if it doesn't work well after 3-4 days.

I had a brainstorm tonight and premixed her food the way she likes it in an almost empty can so all DH has to do is put it in her plate and microwave it if she gets hungry before I'm up tomorrow. I'm thinking of buying some little containers to do that with since she's so fussy about how she likes it, then he could put container and all in the microwave and just put it in her dish after warming in the future. That way I would know how much he's giving her and make sure it's just a snack and not enough to ruin my test but it will be fresh and warm for her royal highness. :)

Racci is the queen of pickiness. I tried Merrick, Evo dry but she hated it so I was afraid to try their wet. I can't get the BFF here, but that's also fish anyway. What is the BG? That's escaping me at the moment. She doesn't like anything but the Wellness fish which is what she eats or Turkey in gravy which is high in carbs and she liked the Core fish but we haven't tried the other Core meats yet so a trial is due on those.

I'll look at the treat list again. I haven't tried the bonita flakes yet because she hates that texture usually. I just get so tired of throwing away food. Know what I mean? When I had my other cats it wasn't a problem because no one else was this fussy.

I'm going to pick up the ketodiastix. I didn't know I could use them without a special meter. Thanks Sienne and Laurie.

I wanted to get the forti-flora but it says it's good for diarrhea which makes me think it would be bad for Racci since she's chronicallly constipated. She has to have 1/4 tsp miralax bid as it is so if it will do anything to make that worse, I'd rather not use it.

Thanks a lot, Laurie

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top