3/13 Queenie AMPS 508 - +9 185, +11 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015
Good Morning,

This is all new to me and I'm hoping this forum doesn't overwhelm me, so here I am ready to learn.
:coffee:

Yesterday I guess I screwed up...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-from-a-newbie.134471/

Luckily Queenie greeted me this morning and was ready to eat. So I took a reading and fed her.
Please check my post from yesterday and my brand new spread sheet (which has info on it from before I had a spread sheet in place so it's a little outta wack, but hopefully self explanatory).

I have 16 other cats and live on a small alpaca farm so I have my hands quite full. I want to get this kitty under control. I honestly won't have time to make posts in great detail every day but I will do my best.
 
Your spreadsheet is a little all over the place, which is fine, we can help you fix it.

Just to make sure I am reading it correctly...did you shoot any insulin this morning? It looks like the last insulin shot Queenie got was at 11:53 last night, is that correct? If so, you don't want to give her any insulin until 11:30ish today.
 
You'll notice on my spread sheet that I noted the info before today was from "Pre Forum". I wanted to capture all the info I had been writing down. I know it's not quite to "code" I will get it more in line moving forward. I want to know if I should test again since feeding her...
 
Ok, so you definitely don't want to give any insulin right now. You can give the next shot of insulin at 11:30. Are you able to slowly move back your time since you shot so late yesterday? That is most likely why Queenie is so high right now.

If I'm reading your spreadsheet correctly, you waited 4 hours after your usual shot time yesterday to give insulin. Correct?
 
You'll notice on my spread sheet that I noted the info before today was from "Pre Forum". I wanted to capture all the info I had been writing down. I know it's not quite to "code" I will get it more in line moving forward. I want to know if I should test again since feeding her...
Gotcha, I didn't see that notation. Thanks for pointing it out.

Since you really have about 3 hours to go before you should give another shot, you can feed her. We typically don't feed in the 2 hours before the shot because sometimes you can see what is called a "food spike." Basically their BG is inflated because of the recent food and if they are too low, it could give you a false sense of security, BUT...I think Queenie is high enough that it wouldn't really make a difference.

If you need help getting your spreadsheet looking the way everyone is used to read it, let me know and I'll be happy to help you do that.
 
Thanks Suzanne,

Now it makes sense why they should be fasted before the AMPS number is taken. I'll withhold food from this point until I do a reading @ 11:30 and then post and do my shot. And yes I waited about 3.5 hours yesterday after the "scheduled time". I got nervous because the numbers were dropping. I want to put my trust in the forum, but I wasn't getting any answers and felt I had to make a decision. It's been so driven home that the shots should be 12 hours apart. But I wasn't getting any advice about an adjustment...

I'll gladly take help with the spread sheet. I could always just start a new one. I felt a need to note the time which I could not see how to do, so I added columns. Why they are showing up neon green I can't say and I can't fix.
 
That's okay! It's always better to be safe when you're first starting out.

So, on the spreadsheet...you don't need to note the actual time. We have people all over the world in different time zones so the times really aren't relevant. So, you can take that column out of the spreadsheet, unless you really want to leave it in for some reason. Your PS column can read "AMPS" and "PMPS." Everyone will know that is your shot time. +1 is an hour after your shot, +2 is two hours and so forth.

If you were to delay like you did yesterday, you can put a note in the "PS" column. So your shots yesterday in the PS columns should read 251 (+16), and then your PMPS would be correct since you shot 2 hours later. For today's entry, you would put it at the +7 in the evening cycle column since you haven't really started a new cycle yet. Think of the rows as "cycles" not necessarily dates. Does that make sense?

I'm going to PM you my email address, then you can add me on to your spreadsheet so I can edit it for you -- if you want. That way you won't have to go back and do anything, you can just fill it out the way we are all used to seeing it from here on out.
 
Noting the time was my way of helping to keep on track because I was trying to push her time back (daylight savings on top of a 9:00 start time the vet had established was a headache) but I do get what you're saying.

Do you think we can keep a time column for now? I will add you on as editor. Thanks!
 
Another thing I'm seeing is that you are giving SubQ fluids. Does Queenie have another condition that requires the subq? SubQ fluids can sometimes make a cat's BG drop, so it might be helpful to note when you give the SubQ in your SS so you can see the effect it has on the BGs as well.
 
Good morning Christine!! Happy to see you made it over here!! Welcome to Lantus/Levemir Land!

You didn't screw up at all yesterday...You did what you knew to do to keep your kitty safe, and that's the most important part!! Getting controlled is great, but never at the expense of safety!

It's hard on us, but we have to remember that our cats didn't become diabetic overnight, and they're not going to be cured overnight either, so it's a matter of learning as much as you can and just moving forward....and a lot of tears, frustration and prayer!

Glad to see Suzanne was on to help you this morning. She's been through the mill with this disease and is one of our experienced sets of eyes I told you about.

I had to take China to the vet this morning for an emergency dental....worries me a little that it's Friday the 13th! I'm really not superstitious but well...you know....just in case!

Keep asking questions and it'll also help for you to spend some time (when you can) reading other people's condo's. You'll learn from them as well as see questions you didn't even know you needed to ask!

Again, welcome and I hope you'll enjoy the "family" here!
 
Welcome!

Chris -- I'm not sure I'm following your discussion with Suzanne. I see that your shot last night was at 11:53 PM. This morning, did you take a BG/test reading that's in the AMPS column at 7:51? If this is when you tested (vs. when you shot), then the result (i.e,, 508) should be in the +8 column from last night since you shot at about midnight and your test was at about 8:00 AM.

Lantus does better when you are consistent with both time and dose. This is because it is a depot-type of insulin. When you shoot early, it can act like a dose increase vs shooting late, which can act like a dose reduction. Moving a shot time by 15 - 30min. is generally fine unless your kitty is exceptionally sensitive to time changes. If the shot time differs by an hour or more, it can be an issue.

I'd encourage you to read the sticky notes at the top of the board. They contain a wealth of information. Unfortunately, it's an overwhelming amount of information but we're here to help answer your questions.
 
Welcome!

Chris -- I'm not sure I'm following your discussion with Suzanne. I see that your shot last night was at 11:53 PM. This morning, did you take a BG/test reading that's in the AMPS column at 7:51? If this is when you tested (vs. when you shot), then the result (i.e,, 508) should be in the +8 column from last night since you shot at about midnight and your test was at about 8:00 AM.

Lantus does better when you are consistent with both time and dose. This is because it is a depot-type of insulin. When you shoot early, it can act like a dose increase vs shooting late, which can act like a dose reduction. Moving a shot time by 15 - 30min. is generally fine unless your kitty is exceptionally sensitive to time changes. If the shot time differs by an hour or more, it can be an issue.

I'd encourage you to read the sticky notes at the top of the board. They contain a wealth of information. Unfortunately, it's an overwhelming amount of information but we're here to help answer your questions.
Hey Sienne,

She didn't shoot this morning at 8. I'm going to get in her spreadsheet and fix it up so it accurately reflects when she gave insulin. She is waiting until 11:30 to shoot this morning.

There's a cross conversation going on Facebook (confusing I know). I'll try to bring that information over into this thread when I get a chance.

~Suzanne
 
She's still getting the hang of our lingo and the spreadsheet Sienne, but she knows not to shoot until at least 11:30 this morning since she shot late last night. I told her she could work back 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day to get back to her chosen shot time
 
Thanks All! the reason I went to FB is just that I was anxious to get moving with things today. I have to be gone at noon today for several hours and knew that I could give the shot right before I go, but I am glad to have figured out the 2 hour fast. Yes, will get the Spreadsheet cleaned up. I need a time column for myself because I want to walk this shot time back to 7 ish. Oy!!!


Also, she is getting SubQ for renal insufficiency. She's dehydrated and is nursing a kidney infection. She was a pretty sick kitty by the time mom got her to the vet.
 
A couple of thoughts....

If she's got a kidney infection, please pick up some Ketostix at any pharmacy. You dip the end of the strip (the end with the paper) into the kitty's urine and the paper will turn color. This is a way to test for whether ketones are present. Ketones are more likely to develop if there's an infection/inflammation present, if the cat's not getting enough insulin (and this doesn't necessarily mean high numbers), and your cat isn't consuming enough calories. The bottom line is that testing for ketones is a way is an early detection means of avoiding a BIG vet bill. Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) is very dangerous and not able to be managed at home. Trace levels of ketones can be managed.
 
Hey Christine, I think I have your spreadsheet figured out. I've left the times in there for you. But you can see yesterday morning your +12 was 186, and +16 (which is your actual AMPS) was 251.

I didn't see that you logged Queenie's BG at noon today so I left that section blank.

Hopefully that clears up the last week or so for everyone. I think it accurately reflects what you had written before.
 
Hi Suzanne, thanks for the help. I did take a BG at noon and just ran out the door so I did not take the time to email you but I added it to the spread sheet just now. I also just took another reading at 9+ and it is now down below 200 again. I fed her around 8+ and she's eating again now (9+). So here's my question, back to the same issue I had yesterday... she's below 200 and now I have about 3 hours to go before the next shot. What's the advice now?
 
The numbers can really change in that amount of time, so for now, just remember no food for the 2 hours before Pre-shot time and let's see where she's at later

You might get a +11 so we can see if she's climbing at PMPS time
 
Thanks Chris. I will pull her off food at +10 and report in before I'm supposed to shoot. Hopefully someone will be available to make a recommendation. I sure don't want a repeat of yesterday! Would cutting the dose in half be a possible option?
 
We don't usually suggest dropping the dose until they earn the reduction (drop below 50) UNLESS you absolutely can't be home to test, can't stay awake if you need to or are just plain out of supplies in case you need them
 
Yes...we usually start them at the normal starting dose, which is based on their weight, but with her in those high numbers, I wouldn't decrease and start over now until she earns the reductions

It is important that you get as many tests sprinkled throughout the cycles as you can so we can see if she's dropping too low and then bouncing back high....this is especially important at night since most cats go lower at night.

There's a "rule" we use a lot around here (that's not really a rule...just something we've noticed works in a lot of cats) called the "+2 rule"

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually it's going to be a pretty normal Lantus cycle...meaning a gradual decrease until somewhere mid-cycle and then a gradual increase back to the next Pre-shot test

If the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, that's your "early warning system" that she might be having a more active cycle and you'd want to make sure to get more tests in...even if it means setting alarms to wake up to get them. Remember, we want Queenie to be safe!

If the +2 is higher, that can mean they're starting to "bounce" and usually those are the cycles you can take a bit of a break with testing.

ECID (Every Cat is Different) but that +2 is a really good test to get as you continue to learn how Queenie responds

How much does Queenie weigh?? Is she overweight or underweight or is that weight about right for her?
 
Are you going to be around to test tonight? You're seeing a really nice response to the insulin. Yes, 185 is lower than you've seen, but you want to get her numbers in the 50-120 range. Also, you saw how quickly she went up from the 4 hour delay yesterday. Two units may prove to be too much, but I don't think it has...yet.

The starting dose is typically based on weight. How much dose Queenie weigh?

I can't stay up tonight so I'm going to leave you in Chris' and others' hands. They know what they're talking about! :) I'll check in on Queenie tomorrow!
 
Queenie weighs @ 5 lbs. and don't forget that I am using the Alpha Trak. I am very nervous about a Hypoglcemic episode over night when it will be harder to get advice.
 
Hi Chris,

I just wanted to add my welcome. It can be overwhelming to start out with a diabetic cat - so just keep asking questions and people will help you figure things out.

I'm wondering if anyone has talked to you about the 2 dosing options for using lantus. What people choose affects the dosing advice we give them. Some of us wrote a little blurb for people who are new to help them figure out how to start moving ahead and I'm posting it below. If it's confusing, just say so! The reason I'm mentioning this is because starting dose is determined by which direction you want to go. If you are wanting to do the Start Low, Go Slow, a cat is started at 0.5u. With the Tight Regulation Protocol, it's a weight based formula - for 5lbs (2.3kg) the formula is weight in KG (2.3) x 0.25u = 0.57u. So actually both dosing guidelines would put her starting dose at about 0.5u per shot. Is she completely on the Purina DM canned - no dry food in the picture? She's pretty tiny - 5lbs isn't big so you probably do have too high of a starting dose. If you want, you can just decrease the dose to the 0.5u. For most people it's less nerve-wracking to go up in dose than to start with a dose that's too high.

Welcome to Lantus and Lev land – the best place you probably never wanted to be! If you are like most of us, if this is your first few weeks of trying to wrap your head around the fact that your kitty has diabetes, you’ve no doubt been terrified, in tears, in a state of shock, and completely overwhelmed. Don’t worry. It gets easier. It really does.

None of us here are veterinary professionals but many of us have been working with our cat’s diabetes for a long time. Even those of us who have been here for a short time are here to help. This is a wonderfully supportive community.

There are a few first steps. We firmly believe that home testing is the best way to keep your cat safe. We keep a record of our cat’s blood glucose (BG) data on a spreadsheet (SS) which you can create using these instructions: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/. If you’ve not mastered home testing, we’re happy to offer suggestions or you may want to spend some time on the Health board mastering the basics of testing, low carb diet, and getting your SS set up. We’re happy to help you with those things, but you should be aware that this is a busy board and if there’s an emergency, everyone’s attention goes to helping the caregiver and his/her kitty.

Once you’ve got a handle on the basics, you will have the option of following the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) method for managing your cat’s diabetes. You don’t have to stick with whichever approach you initially choose but it is helpful to give your choice a chance so you can evaluate the results fairly.

The Tight Regulation protocol was developed based upon the premise that a cat's pancreas may be able to heal and return to producing insulin if the cat's BG is kept in a normal range (i.e., 50-120}. Caregivers following this protocol adjust insulin doses following the protocol guidelines to aim for that range. Basic information on the TR is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol.1581/. The advantage of this approach is that it is based on research published in a leading veterinary journal and has an admirable track record of getting cats who are within the first year since diagnosis into remission.

The Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach has caregivers start with an initial dose based upon the BG at diagnosis and whether kitty has been transitioned to a wet low carb diet, hold that dose for a week or two while testing for ketones regularly, being consistent with food and testing before shooting every 12 hours. Once a week a curve is done (test every 2 hours for one cycle) to check for the lowest point. the low number in that curve determines any dose change for the following week. This approach was the original method used in the FDMB prior to the TR protocol. It is an alternate approach if TR is not the right fit for you or your kitty. Basic information on the SLGS approach is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/.

Both approaches require that you test at pre-shot times and do your best to test at least once each 12-hour cycle. Lantus and Lev dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (i.e., the nadir) so getting at least one spot check is important to guide your dosing decisions.

If you are switching to lantus or levemir from any other insulin, please post for suggestions on the starting dose before you change insulins. You should also get your vet’s recommendation.

Amy&Trixie, Dyana&(GA)J.D., Julie&(GA) Punkin, Marje&Gracie, Sandy&Black Kitty, Sienne&Gabby, Wendy&Neko


Regarding your question about overnight - i think everyone can relate to that. Is she with all the rest of your kitties at night or is there any way to leave her food? A timed feeder can be your best friend if you're able to make sure she actually gets the food. It might be that you'll want to isolate her overnight and get a timed feeder to go off. If she's a grazer, you can just leave out food, but if she'll eat everything as soon as it appears, then a timed feeder can help.

Since you're using the AT, you need to know that the number that you are looking for is 68 if you are interested in following Tight Reg - you already test enough to be able to do that if you want. Everything above 68 is safe, once she dips below 68 you want to take action. She's not in danger just under that, but in general the process is to let a cat go under that threshold if they are headed that way, then give carbs (gravy from a high carb canned cat food, karo syrup, maple syrup, honey) and pull them back up. That's the process that signals to us that the cat then needs a dose decrease.

If you choose to go with the Start Low Go Slow, the threshold for taking action as I described above is 90.

I've given you lots of information to start with so I'll stop there. This is typically a busy forum and you can get answers fairly quickly. If you aren't getting an answer, you can cross-post on the Main Health board as well.
 
Thanks Julie, I appreciate the extra info. I was wondering about the SLGS method earlier tonight, not realizing there was another option - which by your description, and unbeknownst to me, I was already beginning to follow. At this point I now want to read through both approaches to decide, but it would seem to me that the safer thing short term would be to slow down until I know all that is involved so I can make an informed choice. Considering that the number is starting to rise and I'll be testing in the next 15 minutes, I was thinking I'd go ahead and give the 2 units. But I was beginning to wonder about her weight and how much it affected the dose. Because of that I was also thinking about dropping it.

I can confine her with her own food overnight and that's what I will do tonight for sure.
 
I think your comments above make a lot of sense. You want to be confident about what you are doing and that it's the right thing for her. She didn't become diabetic overnight and she won't go into remission overnight. It's more important to be safe.

If she were mine, I'd decrease the dose tonight and I'd leave out food. That'll give you some time to look at the information and think about what works best for you and your life.
 
Another important thing to understand is because of the way that Lantus works, it builds up in the body and sort of slow releases. The importance of that is that when a cat is having a really good response to the insulin immediately after it starts on insulin, one has to think about what the dose will do after it's reached its full action. I'm not describing that very well, but the point is that it's somewhat of a cumulative effect. Here is a great description of how Lantus and Levemir work, which will help you get a better picture than I'm describing!

By the way, this is a document that's basically an index/table of contents to help people find info on the Lantus/Lev support group "Where Can I Find?" You might want to bookmark it to help find info later.
 
Well, I decided between writing and seeing your last post that since her number had not changed at all, and based on the combination of all the advisors, that I'd give the 2 units tonight and leave out food. So it's done. I hope I didn't just screw it up again ! I'll get up around +4 and check on her. Since I'll have time in the am, I'll try to read up and make a decision before the next dose on maybe slowing things down a bit. Unfortunately I have to go out tomorrow for a funeral in the afternoon.

I'm going to start a new condo now for the 14th. This is a bit confusing for me since my shoot time is midnight, but I think it's right... or is it Ok to say +12 at the end of a condo when giving a PMPS number?
 
We call it pmps if we shoot or pmbg (pm blood glucose) if you're not shooting for some reason.

I think checking later is a great idea.

Just fyi, sometimes on the facebook group people will give dosing advice. There is a strict prohibition against giving dosing advice on that group - you have no way of knowing how much experience someone has on there. I've seen new people give advice there who really don't have enough experience to be doing that. I just wanted to give you that heads-up.
 
Thanks, I understand. I was also referencing the advice my vet had given me earlier (and yes I understand the caveats of that as well :-).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top