3/13 punkin PMPS 274 +3/275 +4/237

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
We're getting ready to head out in the car to drive home (1 hr), but i'm thinking we need to test him again in 30 minutes to make sure he's not below 50. He seems to hit the lowest point around 4.5-5.5 hours.
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49

5.5 he's down to 49 - giving him a bit more food and 1 tsp gravy

wouldn't you know it the computer decided to restart when i opened it back up again!? argh!

i' gonna go check him again - it's almost been 15 min and will return
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49

ok, now at +5.75 and he's up to 67. Do you think we're safe to head out in the car for an hour drive home, or should we delay longer and check him again (in how much?)
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 Questio

I wouldget another test in 15 min. and if numbers are heading up, just give Punkin a good size dollop of HC and start home. If you are able, what about a brief stop after 30 min. to check Punkin's numbers?
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 Questio

Julie.....looks like he's wobbling. Can you test and feed in the car? The other option is just to take some gravy and give it to him halfway through the trip...just a little to keep him bumped up knowing that it "might" push him up a little higher than you want.
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 Questio

Hi Julie, Looking at Punkin's SS, it seems that he is at--or close to--his nadir time, so I would think that you could leave. Especially since the drive is only an hour. If you are worried, perhaps give him a small snack of MC (around 11% or 12%). That should keep him happy. Is he a good traveler? (i.e., does he get car sick?) If he is prone to car sickness, I would not feed anything and wait maybe another 45 minutes or so to see where his bg is.
Have a safe trip,

Ella
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +3/100 +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 Questio

thanks all - i tested him again at +6.25, which was 1/2 hour from the previous test and he was up to 79. we're heading out and won't have internet - i'll test him again when we get home.
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 +6.25/79

home, haven't checked him yet. he's such a anxious little guy, it was probably very high while we were traveling. he yowled every time he looked up and saw the trees zipping by. He needs a little break to calm down.

i gave him 3 drops of Rescue Remedy on the way over - on his paws and face. didn't phase him. gave him 3 drops in his food when we had to evacuate for the non-tsunami event. also didn't phase him. gave him 4 drops today in his food - couldn't tell any difference. has anyone tried giving their cat more than that?
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 +6.25/79

When Gracie was having bladder issues, we gave her 4 drops of RR every couple hours; it really helped her alot.
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 +6.25/79

so is it pretty quick-acting, marjorie? today we gave it to him several hours ahead in his food - maybe it was too early.
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +4.5/54 +5/52 +5.5/49 5.75/67 +6.25/79

I'm a little confused on whether or not i'm supposed to decrease punkin's dosage tonight. The sticky on Lantus Tight Reg says

"If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit."

and the Tilly's protocol page says:

"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose."

I'm thinking I need to check punkin's BG more often at +4 and +5 to catch the "real" nadir. Seems like at +3 and +6 I might be missing the lowest numbers.

But for tonight, do I stay the dose at 7.5 or because he dropped to 49 do i decrease it a shade?
 
Re: 3/13 punkin +11.5/274 dosing Q again for tonight

We use a modified version of the Tilly Protocol. Tilly was changed about a year (maybe more?) ago to include the three times below 50 "rule." I would drop the dose to 7.25u. Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top