3/13 phoebe amps 342 +3 262 +5 272 +8.5 266 +11 262

Status
Not open for further replies.
Phoebe, down please!

She definitely needs an increase, looks like dropping her to 4 units isn't doing her any favours. Looks like she's spending all of her time above renal threshold.

How is Phoebe feeling/acting today?
She's been acting pretty good. She's been sleeping solid. I have been giving her 3/4 can of ff chicken. It's holds her longer and she sleeps because her belly is full. Will increase tomorrow morning to 4.25. I've not seen her numbers move anymore than when she was getting more. My vet is back in the office on Wed. Will share the spreadsheet with her then. :) ty for asking about her. :)
 
Glad she's feeling good. We have to keep in mind how the cat is feeling and only you can do that.

It's not uncommon for spreadsheets to not see a lot of change as you increase the dose, though she was seeing more yellow, less pink on 5.5. Remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so it's not like adding a bit more sees a corresponding change in the numbers. You just have to keep increasing until the better numbers show up. There is a dose out there for every cat that will move them. You had been increasing in a safe manner and doing a good job monitoring, so Phoebe was not overdosed. Depending on what your vet says, I would increase back to 6.0'units to see how she does.
 
Depending on what your vet says, I would increase back to 6.0'units to see how she does.

Glad you brought this up Wendy-- I was wondering about the safety issue of going back up in that big a jump. You'd hate to lose all the time it took to get to that dose by having to step back up incrementally.

That is, of course, assuming that Angela and her vet decide to increase again-- but it's good to know what the options are if you do!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top