3/13 Oliver,+4.75 101, +5.5 89, +5.75 119, +6.25 64, +6.5 8 , "surfing 58-110?" Please help

Jennifer & Oliver

Member Since 2023
Yesterday
5pm EST (+10) = sugar numbers ranging from 56-110 since 5.25. sporadically feeding him LC food. Last time given food - 4:25pm EST (+9.25) he was at 56 so I gave him half a small can of HC wet food. Stable in high green to mid blue since then. Any advice would be appreciated.



Ahhh it's nice to see Oliver in blues and greens! Hope I don't jinx it by saying that.
 
Last edited:
Nice cycle today. :D What specifically do you need help with?

I wouldn't have given HC at that 56, unless you couldn't keep on monitoring. It was also later in the cycle, and you don't need as much or as high a carb later in the cycle. Also, higher carb food can wear off in a couple hours, and the numbers drop again. But that should happen before PMPS so you should be know what the true PMPS is. You can always see what the +11 is to see how he's trending into PMPS.
 
Nice cycle today. :D What specifically do you need help with?

I wouldn't have given HC at that 56, unless you couldn't keep on monitoring. It was also later in the cycle, and you don't need as much or as high a carb later in the cycle. Also, higher carb food can wear off in a couple hours, and the numbers drop again. But that should happen before PMPS so you should be know what the true PMPS is. You can always see what the +11 is to see how he's trending into PMPS.
It was just that by the time he dropped to 56 I had already given him LC wet snack three times. I'm not comfortable below 60 right now. I'm very new at this TR; it hasn't even been one week. He seems to be improving faster then I get used to. I'm just concerned about Pmps......yesterday I had to stall and I was still scared. He did go up to yellows and seems to be higher at night ( with my little bit of data). He normally gets snacks at +3 and +6. At the very most I can stay awake until +5. It all concerns me.
 
It was just that by the time he dropped to 56 I had already given him LC wet snack three times. I'm not comfortable below 60 right now. I'm very new at this TR; it hasn't even been one week. He seems to be improving faster then I get used to. I'm just concerned about Pmps......yesterday I had to stall and I was still scared. He did go up to yellows and seems to be higher at night ( with my little bit of data). He normally gets snacks at +3 and +6. At the very most I can stay awake until +5. It all concerns me.
Do you want to try to give small snacks at +1,2,3 to keep him with carbs onboard to feed the curve so he doesn’t dip too low (hopefully)?
 
Looks like he'll be higher for this PMPS that he was last night.

You might want to find some medium carb food, or even 8-9% low carb food for late in the cycle.

I would have been curious to see what that Libre 56 was on a hand held BG meter. You might have had more margin that you think.
 
Looks like he'll be higher for this PMPS that he was last night.

You might want to find some medium carb food, or even 8-9% low carb food for late in the cycle.

I would have been curious to see what that Libre 56 was on a hand held BG meter. You might have had more margin that you think.
At some point today I did just that.....libre was 58 or 59 and handheld was 64, not too terrible

I will get some medium carb food. The food we feed him is at 7% and the high carb I have is 20%. I'll get something in between. Thanks for the advice :-)
 
Whenever you feed extra food/extra carbs, it's worth noting on the spreadsheet Remarks column, how much when and carbs amount. Then you can look back next time you see a low number and see what worked or what needs tweaking for a number like that at that point in the cycle.

Good to hear the Libre wasn't a lot lower than the hand held.
 
Back
Top