3/13 Meowzi AMPS 220, PMPS 187 ... Longtimer

Status
Not open for further replies.

WCF and Meowzi

Very Active Member
Previous condo

BG's have been looking much better *ANTIJINX* since evening of Thursday, 3/4. That was the same evening we raised her SQuids to 100 mls. The next day, we started giving her insulin shots in the flank, and also started her on Denosyl. And she's gone out for a quite a few strolls. Any or all of these could have been a factor in the improvement; I don't feel the need to figure out which ones were. But her ss has been looking pretty nice.

Her appy made a couple of rare appearances this week, but is still pretty much MIA. She hasn't been eating by herself, but she does seem to eat willingly enough from our hand when we sit with her. We've decided to stop mirtz for the time being since it doesn't seem to be doing much. Interestingly, I offered her a little raw ground turkey we picked up from the market today, and she ate it :)

Manual diff of her white blood cells have supposedly come back, and Dr S claimed they weren't any different from the earlier ones. He attributed the out-of-range numbers to her being stressed and claimed that the techs told him she was 'excited' that day, and said nothing really stands out in the CBC. I'm not buying it; I know I asked the tech a couple of days after the draw and they'd said she wasn't upset. And even if she was upset, she can't have been any more upset than she was during the any of the blood draws done in the last one year, and these values are significantly different from all of those. He said we can re-do her CBC when we re-run her PTH; I intend to do that, and if they still look odd, I'll take her in to Dr G 45 mins away.

Those of you on FB may have seen my update on her PTH - it's elevated, and we've raised her calcitriol dose beginning tonight to see if we can bring it back down. It sort of explains her deteriorating kidney values, but I'm having trouble understanding the mechanics of it, and have been trying to read up on hyperparathyroidism, even though hers is very likely secondary to renal disease. Just can't get my head around how PTH can be elevated if phos is WNL, and am wondering how those specialists who are not in favour of calcitriol would handle this aside from dietary management, given that phos is already WNL. Anyway, PTH recheck is planned for a couple of weeks weeks from now. We're going to hold off on the x-rays and urine tests - I'm pretty sure it's not UTI or FIC this time - since we're doing b/w again soon.
 
Aw Moewzi likes the turkey!

Eat better soon Meowzi - wishing good healing vines , thank you for updating today WCF!
Good to see you :YMHUG:
 
Hi Meowzi and CF too :)

eating out of hand better than syringe. I'd take that anyday. mirtz breaks are good.
but always wonder----- people taper off that med. i know we have talked about effectiveness being lost sometimes after on awhile.... just wondering if notice any extra issues when taking a break?
hard to tell her with other stuff going on ( cp flares for ex )

will look for your bw updates to come.

we use the calcitriol, but have not monitored the PTH as you have.
I was greatful for the MSU info though. maybe we will send some blood away..... all that juggling.

hope she having happy cat days !
 
i give cleo mirtz breaks because it does seem to lose effectiveness if given too routinely. it gets her excited, meowy, and purry, and hungry, but when she puts her nose to the food she gets finicky and walks away. now 4-5 days between mirtz seems to work better, and interestingly the 2nd or 3rd day after she gets it is when she gets very hungry and eats better. it was the other way around before: eating more the first 2 days, then tapering off by the third.

keeping fingers crossed that the worsening kidney concerns are just a temporary thing and meowzi's back to normal soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top