Silvina
Member Since 2015
This is the previous thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ulev-0-5-u-r-9-452.174700/page-2#post-1917907
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ulev-0-5-u-r-9-452.174700/page-2#post-1917907
If you see his BG is dropping fast - eg., much lower only 2 hours after a dose, you can try slowing the drop by feeding a little food that's higher in carbs than his normal diet. This can sometimes prevent or lessen a bounce that's created by a fast drop.use of food to steer as needed
Thank you dear, Im back.I think it's likely that he will need a dose increase in a couple of days. We had exactly the same situation with Roxi for quite a while - we would increase the dose and she would come down maybe 10 points overall, but still be high and flat all day...until we reached her optimal dose at that time. As soon as we hit that, she dropped from the upper 100s and 200s into the 40s and earned a reduction. I would still stick with the Lev only, wait it out another 3 cycles and then, if he's still running higher, increase his dose to 1.5u. He will come down, but it will be gradual. The good thing about the numbers coming down gradually is that it's less likely to throw him into continual bounces.
ok so tomorrow night would be the right day to increase the dose if things stay the same?I think it's likely that you're going to find the 1.25u isn't enough for him at this point. But he is at least flat in the 300s...he hasn't gone all that way up to 500 or even HI from dropping the R. Try to just be patient - even if he does have a food spike, it will come back down again as he digest the food. And even seeing these flat numbers in the 300s, if they continue the same way tomorrow, will give a good indication that increasing his L is the right thing to do.
If you see his BG is dropping fast - eg., much lower only 2 hours after a dose, you can try slowing the drop by feeding a little food that's higher in carbs than his normal diet. This can sometimes prevent or lessen a bounce that's created by a fast drop.
Thanks for starting a new thread.Since he is eating almost zero carb raw, he shouldn't be getting much in the way of a food spike. Any higher numbers early in the cycle after preshot might just be th natural rise of numbers before the insulin onsets. Neko's Lev onset was +5 so her numbers would usually go up a bit until then.
Sometimes people will use steering with slightly higher carbs to prevent big drops, which can also cause bounces.
And I agree with others yesterday, getting to a good Levemir dose is better than relying on R, so keeping it in the fridge for now is a good plan. As long as Markies has no ketones.
@manxcat419 April, sorry I didn't get back to your tag last night, I was asleep.But when looking at what is a good dose, we typically don't look back more than two weeks. Cats insulin needs change over time. Since we don't see a good dose in the last few weeks, it's best to test as needed to evaluate a dose and increase as fast as safely possible until he gets to good numbers again.
You want him to do 4 cycles without any R at all before you increase. The minimum time between increases needs to be 4 cycles (6-10 being the more usual interval) and as removing the R is effectively a dose change, I think you should give the full 4 cycles for him to settle before you change anything else.ok so tomorrow night would be the right day to increase the dose if things stay the same?
Shoot through the bounce is when a reduction has been earned, but the cat bounces high at the start of the next cycle when the reduction would normally have been given. You can then give the dose without giving the reduction to help bring them down from the bounce. If you do that, you give the reduction on the next cycle.oh I used to do that but in other circumstances, when Markies had low numbers and had to prevent bouncing.. I remember it had a name in English or maybe Im getting confused with the expression "shoot through the bounce" that it was when the body bounced and you shot the same dose to help the body deal with the bounce but the next cycle you decrease the dose". I don´t remember this one´s name...




yes dear, I just put a plastic spoon in his litter since yesterday night can´t catch his pee, when I put the long spoon he left (I have a long spoon wich let me grab some pee without putting the stick there).Remember a daily ketone test is important. The results will help guide your choices![]()
Good. Yesterday I tried putting film, but then he didn´t use it. I have to be more aware of were he urinates. Well, today I spent almost the whole day in bed. Tomorrow will be another day.You could try either putting some clingfilm over the litter in his box, or using clean aquarium gravel instead of litter for him - that way the pee won't be absorbed by anything and you can just test it after he's done.
Remember a daily ketone test is important. The results will help guide your choices![]()
eta- ketones in the blood is what can lead to DKA and Ketones formation can happen at BG 250 the same as BG 500. The only way to know if ketones are developing is to test for ketones. No ketones = No DKA.

Thank you dear im going to take this also into account.Silvi
When I want to catch urine from one of my cats, I take them to the litter box very first thing in the morning as they are likely to need to pee. It usually works and as they squat, I stick the spoon under their bums.





yes that!!! lolYou want him to do 4 cycles without any R at all before you increase. The minimum time between increases needs to be 4 cycles (6-10 being the more usual interval) and as removing the R is effectively a dose change, I think you should give the full 4 cycles for him to settle before you change anything else.
Shoot through the bounce is when a reduction has been earned, but the cat bounces high at the start of the next cycle when the reduction would normally have been given. You can then give the dose without giving the reduction to help bring them down from the bounce. If you do that, you give the reduction on the next cycle.
Feeding to control the drop is something I've most often seen referred to as "feeding the curve" where you adjust the amount of food given to help control how fast the cat is dropping. Or maybe if you don't want Markies to earn a reduction on a particular day, maybe because he already just earned one, you might give a slightly higher carb food if it looks like he's heading for a very low number instead of waiting for him to drop under 50 and then bringing him back up.
Don't worry about that red. I think someone said on here that you should try 1.5 u soon.Ok, finally red cam again and I cant open the spread sheet. Internet is not working at home and at mom´s house I don´t know how to open the ss.
Markies PMPS was 468 or something like that. I shoot 1.25L gave egg yolk with watter and left with mom.
I will see when Im back.
didn´t last muchOh, that's great news!I know he's still not in the numbers you'd like, but at least he hasn't spiked over 400 repeatedly today. I think that's a very good sign that he can and will regulate on just the L with some dose adjustment.