3/13 Kit AMPS 296, +1 213, +2 144, +3.5 108, +5 97, +9 183, PMPS 245, +1 260, +2 192

She came down nicely from that Amps today. Good girl Kit :D
Hope you have a nice night, Alicia :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yeah, but she's not coming down enough. I think she probably needs an increase, but I need to start a vacation dose on Friday. And at this stage I'm not even sure if it'll be a vacation dose or just no insulin, since Eric seems to be balking at even trying to shoot, let alone shoot and test.

@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo If I'm out of town and the only person who could feasibly give her insulin can't, how much do you think it screws everything up if she goes no insulin. He's literally the only other person she even slightly trusts, so it's not like I can ask someone else to come in and do it - they'd never find her. It's too late to back out of the conference, and I'm genuinely at a loss. I just feel like it'll set her so far back if he isn't given even a lower dose.
 
How many cycles are you gone? Would Eric be willing to shoot a dose like 1.5 units or even 1.0 units? Enough for her to get some insulin, and he could probably go without testing.
 
Tough situation, Alicia.
I would be in the same boat if I have to anywhere.
I was thinking, if I have to, I would ask DH to do BCS at 50%. Not ideal but better than nothing and likely be safe.
You can always catch up when you get back
 
How many cycles are you gone? Would Eric be willing to shoot a dose like 1.5 units or even 1.0 units? Enough for her to get some insulin, and he could probably go without testing.
I'll be gone for 8 cycles - Tuesday night through Saturday morning.
My original goal was testing and shooting, but he's afraid of her, and afraid of hurting her, so now I'm not sure if he's even willing to shoot, even at a lower dose. I'm hoping between now and when I actually leave on Tuesday I can get him to try it a few times. Because it's easier if I'm sitting there. And he has it much easier than when I first started, at least she's more trained in it than just going at it without knowing anything. And honestly she senses his fear and reacts, but of course telling him to just not be scared isn't helpful. *sigh*
 
Tough situation, Alicia.
I would be in the same boat if I have to anywhere.
I was thinking, if I have to, I would ask DH to do BCS at 50%. Not ideal but better than nothing and likely be safe.
You can always catch up when you get back
That's the thing, if I could just get him to shoot even a lower dose and not test, great! Better than nothing at all! But he gets so in his head, and if he'd just try giving the shot he'd see it's not that hard. She's so super calm about it now, and learning while I'm home still would be the best route. I'm just very frustrated, because it's not that big of an ask.
 
This might sound crazy, maybe have Eric practice giving an injection on a stuffed animal (or other object similar to cat skin) to help him get over his fear.
 
I've heard people suggest shooting into an orange. It has a skin layer too. Any chance a vet tech could come in and shoot those days?
 
This might sound crazy, maybe have Eric practice giving an injection on a stuffed animal (or other object similar to cat skin) to help him get over his fear.
I've heard people suggest shooting into an orange. It has a skin layer too. Any chance a vet tech could come in and shoot those days?

That's a very interesting idea! We even have this! :joyful: Maybe try on this for positioning but an orange for feel?
Kit has a vet appointment tomorrow, so I'm gonna ask her vet what her suggestion might be. She does home visits, but is only part time after she had breast cancer. She also rarely has vet techs because she doesn't work enough for them to make enough, unfortunately. I think it would still be dependent on Eric, because he would have to pick her up to put her wherever someone else could shoot. But I'll definitely check with her vet to see if she knows of anyone.

I just think if he did it a couple of times, he'd be fine. But he's also got a stubborn streak a mile wide, so I have to be clever about getting him to do it or he'll dig in his heels even more.

PXL_20240314_035930087.jpg
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20240314_035930087.jpg
    PXL_20240314_035930087.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 89
I’m keeping everything crossed either Eric will come through or you find an alternative to help out. I’m sorry you have the added stress before going away, Alicia.
I can completely relate. It’s all on me as well :(
I do love the orange and stuffed animal practice suggestions!!!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top