3/13 Jez AMPS 335 PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Good morning folks....I really dislike dark oclock and the furkids still aren't adjusted to DST - I would take a tip from Mel and lock them out of my bedroom except it doesn't have a door.

I'm wondering if the high morning numbers mean some sort of midcycle drop at night that i"m not seeing (I am a lightweight who's generally in bed before +4). Is it worthwhile forme to try setting an alarm to try to test at +6 tonight or tomorrow night? Friday I'm out of work early enough to get some nadir numbers and then the weekend is always the easiest time for me to adust things because I can hang around and watch.

Or am I just overthinking - I know lots of people test high in the morning just because they do....

Em
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

Well she is being a stinker isn't she...75u is too much but .5u isn't enough, so the ideal has to be somewhere inbetween. What you might want to do is first try to catch a couple pm cycle nadirs just to rule out a bounce if you can set an alarm and get back to sleep (wish I was one of those people, if I'm up I'm up). Once we figure that out, if it isn't a bounce then you may want to try just fattening up the .5u. Now I'm not sure what others call a fat .5u but with Autumn when I had her there, how I would measure it was with towards the needle being bottom, instead of lining up the bottom of the plunger with the bottom on the .5u line on the syringe I would line it up so the bottom of the plunger just rest on top of the .5u line. Which works out to be about .6 or .65u roughly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

MommaOfMuse said:
Well she is being a stinker isn't she...75u is too much but .5u isn't enough, so the ideal has to be somewhere inbetween. What you might want to do is first try to catch a couple pm cycle nadirs just to rule out a bounce if you can set an alarm and get back to sleep (wish I was one of those people, if I'm up I'm up). Once we figure that out, if it isn't a bounce then you may want to try just fattening up the .5u. Now I'm not sure what others call a fat .5u but with Autumn when I had her there, how I would measure it was with towards the needle being bottom, instead of lining up the bottom of the plunger with the bottom on the .5u line on the syringe I would line it up so the bottom of the plunger just rest on top of the .5u line. Which works out to be about .6 or .65u roughly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Thanks Mel - I guess we'll find out if I can get back to sleep tonight :). I actually don't have the half unit syringes at the moment - Walmart gave me the wrong thing last time I was over there so I've been eyeballing halfway between the 0 and the 1...but I saw on the board exactly what I have to ask for so I'll pick them up tomorrow...that should make the "fattening" thing a bit easier when it becomes necessary. But the way you describe it makes perfect sense.

Em
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

Yeah you pretty much need those 1/2 unit marks to get it consistant, and it is a whole lot easier than trying to eyeball things, at least for me since I need glasses to find my glasses..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

and before you pay for them open up the box and inspect as they won't take them back. They are in bags of ten so pick one up and make sure the 1/2u mark is there.
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

hmjohnston said:
and before you pay for them open up the box and inspect as they won't take them back. They are in bags of ten so pick one up and make sure the 1/2u mark is there.

Thank you and yes...I know about that no return of diabetic supplies - they double charged me for strips once and it was quite a production getting the refund processed.

I ended up using the ADW link to grab some syringes cause i needed a few other things anyhow......

Em
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

Hi Em, if you don't mind me throwing my 2 cents in, maybe after you get the right syringes, you could hold the dose a couple days, since you will be more accurate.

Maybe you'll see better results. Everyone is always saying that accuracy in dose and timing is the biggest factor. In looking at Jez's SS, you were having trouble getting her shots 12 hrs apart, until lately and you seem to have that straightened out. So maybe a more accurate dose would help too.

Just me thinking, which can be a scarey thing! :lol:

Jez has not done bad at all! I see lots of blues and yellows! :thumbup

Wanna see scarey? Look at Lucian's SS! :o
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

Actually I think Deb may have hit it right on the head since I didn't realize that you were trying to eyeball the .5u (see how use to having 1/2u marks I am) but yes, I would say hold it a few more days once you get the right syringes. With Lantus and Levemir a drop or even a half of a drop one way or the other can make a huge difference.

It doesn't seem like it until you start thinking about it in precentages...a single drop when you are at .5 is a 10% change in dosage. And that 10% can make all the difference in the world.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/13 Jez AMPS 335

nckitties3 said:
Hi Em, if you don't mind me throwing my 2 cents in, maybe after you get the right syringes, you could hold the dose a couple days, since you will be more accurate.

Maybe you'll see better results. Everyone is always saying that accuracy in dose and timing is the biggest factor. In looking at Jez's SS, you were having trouble getting her shots 12 hrs apart, until lately and you seem to have that straightened out. So maybe a more accurate dose would help too.

Just me thinking, which can be a scarey thing! :lol:

Jez has not done bad at all! I see lots of blues and yellows! :thumbup

Wanna see scarey? Look at Lucian's SS! :o


LOL - the late shots were really more because she was running low enough in the PM to scare me, and then I kinda sorta had to shoot a bit early in the am to make work on time. You'll see missing PMPS s because the furballs get antsy waiting to eat (I get home around +10 if I'm lucky)....and I have a real concern I'll become dinner if I don't dish something out....so Ithen I don't bother testing right preshot since I know it will have the food effect.

I'm pretty good with the eyeball although perhaps its not a .5 - I'm exactly half way between the zero and the one and I bring out my 2X readers to be sure.....but I agree with you guys that it doesn't take much to be off. For that matter it doesn't take much to be furshooting - though thank heavens Ms Jez is a shorthaired torty so I can almost see what I"m aiming at. I'm not real keen on the Relion (they just don't feel like they pull or push smooth) so I'll be interested in seeing how these other ones work

Deb, I hope you and everyone else feels free to share their thoughts however you like whenever you like - I'm convinced this goes much better as a team effort.

Didn't make Walmart tonight - ended up at Target and picked up some different Friskies - Mixed Grill seems to have gone over real good but I have a feeling its like hotdogs - delicious until you start to think seriously about whats in them ;). They've got a bunch of new Friskies Plus stuff that calculates to be fine for the pate -but I'm not sure if the plus is anything worthwhile or not so I've got some googling ahead.

And I"m planning on getting a +6 and maybe beyond tonight to see if there's some late night excitement happening that i need to know about.

Oh, and I don't say it enough - you guys ROCK!!!!!!


Em
 
Actually if you are feeding right as you walk in the door at +10 and they are anything like my tribe and the food has disappeared before you can throw the cans away, you can still get the pmps's in since it only needs to be 2 hours after eating to get a non-food influenced reading. But boy can I sympathize with feeling like you either serve dinner or be dinner...lol You should try walking in late to 14 pairs of eyes staring you down waiting for food...I now know what a gazelle feels like when suddenly realizing they are surrounded by a pride of lions.. :-D

Mixed Grill is a favorite here was well, but some how I just don't think it contains the things that come to mind when I think of a 'mixed grill' like steaks, ribs, and juicy hamburgers...I think it is probably more like catfood code for mystery meat...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Actually if you are feeding right as you walk in the door at +10 and they are anything like my tribe and the food has disappeared before you can throw the cans away, you can still get the pmps's in since it only needs to be 2 hours after eating to get a non-food influenced reading. But boy can I sympathize with feeling like you either serve dinner or be dinner...lol You should try walking in late to 14 pairs of eyes staring you down waiting for food...I now know what a gazelle feels like when suddenly realizing they are surrounded by a pride of lions.. :-D

Mixed Grill is a favorite here was well, but some how I just don't think it contains the things that come to mind when I think of a 'mixed grill' like steaks, ribs, and juicy hamburgers...I think it is probably more like catfood code for mystery meat...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Thanks Mel - I moved her shot back fifteen minutes so I can get that two hours......and I'll just feed half when I walk in the door. When I first started - I was cautioned repeatedly about how I had to wait at least two hours after feeding - and I just couldn't undo six years of "Mom's home - its dinner time". So, I was trying to kill a couple of hours either at work or shopping before I got home which was wearing out my patience and my wallet respectively.

Actually almost all of the Friskies looks alike to me - this chicken and tuna I opened looks just like the regular chicken and really doesn't smell any different (thank heavens cause I get a faceful of catfood breath every night, I'm afraid).

Em
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top