3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +11 118; +12 111-Dose Advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146

Very nice amps--Just remember to get a +1 or+2 today-OK? Need to monitor today.
You are doing well!
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146

Yes, Ella, FDMB is filled with dedicated and experienced people; for which we are greatful-especially given last night. Hubby is getting much needed sleep as he leaves this afternoon for work. He works out of area M-Th and we are lucky to have him home on long weekends. It makes for a long week in his absense; esp. now that Felix is testing our wills. But as you've said, there are countless resources to take advantage of at FDMB. Thank you for the link; I will need to learn how to do that in the future.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146

Hi Jenner, Linking is easy: Go up to the top of your previous condo (where the title of the condo is--above the shaded-in box), put your cursor on the title (it will turn red) and Right Click (if you have a Mac, ctrl. click). A drop-down box will appear. Choose "copy link".

In your present condo, put the cursor where you want the link to appear. Go up to the "Edit" button on your browser and click "paste". The URL will appear in html language; after you "Submit" your post, the link will look like a "normal" FDMB link.

I hope your Hubby will get some much needed sleep today before he heads out on his week at his job. He did so well last night. Now that you have a more reasonable dose, things will hopefully calm down.

Best of luck with the new dose,

Ella
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +1 81

Should I feed him his first LC mm w/ 3-5 drops karo to keep his numbers from dropping lower?
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +1 81

I think you've got a plan. Staying ahead of these numbers is a good idea. What I would do is slightly tweek your plan. Give Felix about half of what you would ordinarily feed in a mini-meal. That way you will be spreading the food out over a greater time span. I do this all the time with Gabby when I'm testing every 30 min. That way, you won't end up over feeding.

Get a test in 30 min.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +1 81; +1.5 62

You've got the drill down pat. Post your +2. (And please have a talk with Felix. Suggest that his pancreas can level off and not work quite so hard.)
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +1 81; +1.5 62; +2 83

We refer to what you're doing as lather (test), rinse (feed) and repeat. So, lather, rinse, and repeat in 30 min.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +2 83, +2.5 122, +3 156

Onset should start soon-his has been later. fed LC mm 3%/8% mix. testing at +4
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +2 83, +2.5 122, +3 156 +4.5 247

Looks like we sugar spiked him again :oops: , or it could be the reduced dose. We are planning on retesting at 6 or 6.5 to let him sleep a little also.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix AMPS 146, +2 83, +2.5 122, +3 156 +4.5 247

Good idea, Jenner! You have done so well. Don't worry about the spike. After a while things will settle down and then you will be able to gauge how effective the new dose will be. There are too many conflicting things going on right now (the old shed has to get depleted; the gravy and karo have to get out of Felix's system; his body has to get accustomed to the new dose). It will all take time. The important thing is to keep an eye on his numbers and keep notes on what you are doing for future reference.
Get some rest yourself later!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +3 156 +4.5 247 +7 156

Looks like the sugar high is comming down for us. He's at 156 @ +7, Jenner just feed him a bigger MM LC.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +3 156 +4.5 247 +7 156

Good job...you are learning "Felix". As Jill says "know thy cat!".

Jenner: My hubby is also gone 3-4 days/week so I totally empathize with you especially since your DH and mine play such a huge role in kitty care. Whenever you need the support, I'm here!!!
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +3 156 +4.5 247 +7 156 +8 142

Took a +8 just to see if he was coming off a sugar high, but it looks like he is fairly stable right now.

Just so that we can start thinking about tonight was this mornings 1 unit a token shot or should we stick with that amount. I relize that he is still adjusting to the change in dosage and adjustment of his shed, we wanted to start planning for what type of night we should expect.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +3 156 +4.5 247 +7 156 +8 142

I think it would be good if someone more experienced than I am answers that question for you; suggest you put "Dose Advice?" in your subject line.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +3 156 +4.5 247 +7 156 +8 142

I'd like to see the +11 and your pre-shot tests before we make a decision about dose. I'd like to come up with a dose that doesn't have you guys up all night testing! After all, a bean's gotta sleep!
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +11 91-Dose advice again

Sienna- this bean's on her own tonight and has to work tomorrow. Looks like we're heading for a repeat of last night. Felix's dose is due at 8:45 tonight (still moving it backwards). I can get a +11.75. (BTW- if i get that number, doesn't that become my pmps #, or do i actually need to test again 5 mins before dose is due and further stress him out. Poor guy has only had about 6-9 hours of un-interrupted sleep in 24-48 hours.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +11 91-Dose advice again

I saw your +11. We had a bit of backchannel discussing about Felix this morning. I agree. He's primed for another night like last night. I think you need to get ahead of his very resilient shed. I'm going to suggest you skip the shot tonight. You've got to be exhausted. Felix probably isn't all that happy. It will also let you pick your shot time in the AM.

I would still get some spot checks so we know what he's up to. It will also allow you to get a decent nights' sleep.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +11 91-Dose advice again

Sienne- Having never skipped a shot, what can I expect for Felix tonight? How often should I spot-test (+1,+2.) and how high is the risk of going to high in #'s (I know, ECID).

I'd like to give his a.m. shot at 7:00 tomorrow. Should I wait till then to post a +11 to get advice on dose size (seeing as how we gave another reduced size this morning?)

Yes, I'm feeling pretty exhausted, so please bear with me as we go. But I also recognize that our case is no exception and that we're one of many having similar challenges regulating. Thank you to everyone for the back-channel discussions today. Felix will be happy to hear he'll have a more relaxed night- hopefully.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix +11 91-Dose advice again

I wouldn't worry so much about a +1. I would definitely get a test in before you go to bed. I'd like to see a +2 or +3. In part, I'm wondering whether Felix may be a late nadir cat (i.e., his highs are toward the middle of the cycle and his lows are at shot times). We can't really tell at this point because of the HC in the picture. Tonight may not be representative either. What I do want to see if we can catch is when (approximately) Felix's numbers start to come up on their own.

As far as Felix's numbers spiking, all I can say at this point is, "Who knows?!" Felix's shed may carry him through the evening. You may see higher numbers tomorrow. If you lose a little ground, you'll make it up quickly. It's no different than if you accidentally gave a fur shot.

I'd like to get some additional input regarding your AM shot. My hunch is that it will be either 1.0 or 1.25u. How often can you test before you leave in the AM and are you able to get any checks in during the day?
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMPS 77

He's eating a LC dinner + one drop karo. I know is BG is supposed to rise as his dose wears off...but....thought 1 drop would be fine.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMPS 77

oops- my last post just crossed your reply...the drop of karo won't help to tell when his numbers come up naturally. sorry. reactionary mode, i guess from the past few days.

to answer your questions: I can get a +11, amps, + 1, +2 and probably a +6 or +6.5. FDMB is better at interpreting Felix's numbers- they have certainly been stumping us- not following a "typical" nadir pattern.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMPS 77

Hiya! What a day for Felix!!

Did you go ahead and skip the shot tonight? If so, can you please change the PMPS to a PMBG? It's not a "pre-shot" number if you didn't shoot, and if you have that label, it may confuse folks who are giving advice. :)

Good that you can get some rest tonight and get Felix back on schedule in the morning! Have a good night!
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +2 103

Felix has had one meal + one drop karo and two 1/2 mini meals since 8:45. pretty playful right now, both p's in the l.b tonight too. Is it safe to head off to bed?
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +2 103

I would think you can go to bed....you've had a grueling few days but Felix's SS looks awesome. You and DH are doing fantastic!!! Enjoy your sleep!!! Isn't FDMB awesome...Sienne (in particular) and others have done a really nice job keeping up with Felix. You got the best on your team with them, you, and DH...and of course, FELIX! Sleep tight.
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +11 118-Dose Advice please

wow- 118 his shed must be carrying him over- we both feel a little more rested this morning. what a difference.

So, to help us get back on track- Sienne, are we thinking 1u this morning?
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +11 118-Dose Advice please

Good morning. Not Sienne....but a great number for a reduced dose and a skipped shot.
Are you home today? If not what time do you need to leave?
 
Re: 3/13 Felix PMBG 77; +11 118-Dose Advice please

Hi Jenner.

I'm just bumping you up to the top of the board, for more visability. You shoot in about 10 minutes?
Post your +12 when you get it. Hopefully someone will be around to answer your dosing question in a few minutes.
 
I'm home for +1 +2- wanted to shoot at 7:00- with the skipped shot last night

should I just give .5u because I won't be able to monitor?
 
I think since you are not going to be home .5u will be fine. You have to be comfortable too.
You can get a +1 and +2 to see where Felix is headed. If this is not enough insulin you can always go back up.

You can start a new thread with your AMPS number.
I will check back with you for +1. :smile:
 
I'm home for +1 +2- wanted to shoot at 7:00- with the skipped shot last night

should I just give .5u because I won't be able to monitor?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top