3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own.:-(

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 235 +3.5; 91 +5; 34 +6.75 NOW WHAT

A couple tsp of HC and retest in 20-30 minutes.

Did you give 2.5 or 2.25 units this morning? I thought he'd earned a deduction down to 2.25.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 235 +3.5; 91 +5; 34 +6.75 NOW WHAT

So he's down to 34. He ate his regular FF classic after the 91 at +5. Tested him now and he's at 34 +5.75. Just gave him FF Gravy Lovers and will test again. He had a reduction 4 cycles ago. Do I stay at 2.25? Is it too soon for another reduction? Thx in advance.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 235 +3.5; 91 +5; 34 +6.75 NOW WHAT

Looks like we cross-posted, Wendy! I did feed him some hi carb and will test again. He has had 2.25 u for the last 4 cycles. Need to check my SS to make sure I didn't mistakenly put 2.5! BRB.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 235 +3.5; 91 +5; 34 +6.75 NOW WHAT

Hi Susie, I'm not a dose adviser, but you have a few hours yet until your next dose. Maybe change your subject line to contain "DOSE?" and you should get eyes before your next shot time. That 34 looks like a reduction, but I can't say if it's too close to the last one. In Neko, the shed from the old dose could affect her next 2 cycles.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 235 +3.5; 91 +5; 34 +6.75 NOW WHAT

Thanks - I will change the subject as I get closer to shot time and see where he is. He's known for bouncing back into the 300-400's by PMBG. He's up to 43 now - after hi carb food. Will keep testing. Lucky that I'm home.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 34 +6.75 Another reduce or too soo

Maybe another tsp more of HC? You want him out of the 40's. Once he gets to the 50's, some LC to help him surf.

I hope you didn't have anything else planned today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 34 +6.75 Another reduce or too soo

Nope - lazy day today .... luckily! I think my middle of the night bg checks finally caught up with me. So tired today that I got my work done early and have been lying in my bed with my four boys watching tv. Feeling guilty about it but certainly not complaining!!! Gonna test him again shortly.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 82+10.5 - shoot? Reduce? What to

Only 1.75 hours til pmps and I'm getting nervous. He started the day high but has been surfing in the green most of the day. He had a dose reduction 4 cycles ago but went down to 34 today. Is it too soon for another reduction? Hope somebody can advise before 9:30 eastern time!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: amps 462; 82+10.5 - shoot? Reduce? What to

Only 20 minutes til PMBG/PMPS. Don't know what to do!!!! Stall? Reduce? Shoot normal time? Keep dose at 2.25?
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN - NEED HELP!shoot? stall? decrease? stay at 2

102 PMBG and its time to shoot. Gonna hold off a few minutes and hope for advice.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Fed him and gave him a F2 15 minutes late. Don't know if it was correct decision but I had to do something. Will keep a nervous eye on him all night.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Susie, I'm sorry no one got back to you. I'm not a dosing expert either. But Elian definitely earned a reduction today and since he's on the way up, I think the 2.0u is a good choice.
Liz

ETA: Wow, is he a bouncy boy! Maybe get a +1 and +2 to see where he's headed? You have plenty of strips, LC, MC and HC foods and will around to test? If those are all YES, then you and Elian are all set. Good job! :-D
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Wow- what a day for you and Elian!! I'm also not comfy with dosing advice, but reducing was probably a good choice given that 34, even though it's so close on the heels of your previous reducie.

Hopefully someone should come along soon with ore detailed answer for you...even though it's "after the fact", I'm sure you'll still get some good, helpful info. Elian is very lucky to have you!!!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Thanks. I was worried that I've been too needy since day one - asking for too much advice on here! Yep - lots of strips and everything else necessary..... right on my nightstand. And my alarms will be set. Luckily he's my Velcro kitty - right next to me now and sleeps curled up with me. Makes middle of the night testing a little bit easier!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Sorry -- I'd logged out for a bit. You did great. Please keep in mind that with a number below 40, you want to take a full, 0.25u reduction. So, in the AM, please use 2.0u as your dose. (You didn't need to keep the fat on the dose.)

If you're ever unsure of what to do with a low pre-shot, remember there's a sticky that can guide you through the process.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Susie and Elian said:
Thanks. I was worried that I've been too needy since day one - asking for too much advice on here! Yep - lots of strips and everything else necessary..... right on my nightstand. And my alarms will be set. Luckily he's my Velcro kitty - right next to me now and sleeps curled up with me. Makes middle of the night testing a little bit easier!

There is NO such thing as "too needy" here!!! Everyone here wants to help, in whatever way possible. Sometimes it's with dosing advice, sometimes it's with moral support. But ask as many questions as you need to, as often as you need to!!!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Sorry no one was here for you, it's a scary feeling, being on the tight rope without a net. You did good and I hope Elian gives you a nice safe surf.
Good job bean, I couldn't have helped even if I had caught this post but I can tell you, you did great making a decsion and sticking to it. The stress we go through for our lil kitties. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

I second what Amy said. There's no such thing as being too needy here.
I noticed early today that it was very quiet today on the board... kinda sporadic. I"ve seen that happen occasionally here. Some days we all seem to wander off back to our
other life. ;-)
Don't let that stop you from asking for help. Most days there is someone around most of the time.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Thanks so much everybody - I feel better knowing you're all here! I was just so worried about another reduction after reducing just 4 cycles ago - and one was mistakenly a .5 reduction rather than .25. So I worried about screwing up and decided to compromise! But I'm glad to hear I can do a solid 2 in the am. I don't like these in betweens!!!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Are you using calipers to measure the dose? Harbor Freight makes a nice set that is about $20. The syringes are not very consistently marked. We think the calipers help us give a more consistent dose, in spite of the variation in the syringes.

Please ask as many questions as you have. We all know how hard this is and how much there is to learn.
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Anne - I just heard about calipers the other day. Do I order online or can I buy them locally?
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Just saw that Walmart sells calipers. I can buy it tomorrow - then I have to figure out how to use it.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

I shop for everything online so I don't know where you can buy them locally. :lol: Here is a link to get them online.
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

We measure from the top of the shoulder on the outside of the barrel but others measure from the inside where the plunger is pushed all the way in. Another thing that took me a while to figure out, is to leave the caliper at whatever the dose is, so you don't have to reset the caliper for each shot. You can also just start by setting the caliper at the 2.0u mark of a good syringe.
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Thanks. Will see what you're talking about when I get them! I was stupid to ass-ume that all syringes are accurate. Hard to believe they're not when dosing meds are so serious!!!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Just wondering what the most important times will be for me to test tonight? Just got a +2 and he's only at 112. Gonna feed him again now.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Yes, pretty sad how much variation there is. It's really only a problem for tiny doses, like those that cats get. Or children. :shock: It took us months to figure out to even check the accuracy of the syringe. :roll:
Liz
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

You made the absolute right decision with the dose and as Cheryl said you didn't need to fatten. Just cause I have stuff going on doesn't mean you can't message me on FBI or call me if you need help. I promised you that and I meant it k? :)
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Seems like there should be some sort of regulation. Wow. I will try to get one tomorrow. Meanwhile, gotta try to get some sleep. Just got a +2. Have my alarm set for +4,7 and 10. Will see how he looks at +4 before deciding if changes are needed. Boy am I gonna be tired tomorrow! Good night.... for now!
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Thanks Caryl - I know you have a lot going on and don't want to bother you. I was just worried about two reductions within days of each other. Glad I'm doing some learning and made a safe decision! He's still very low for him so while he's snoring next to me I'm waiting for my next alarm so I can test again! Gonna be a rough day tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Good job today, Susie! See how much you've learned! I'm sorry we weren't around....work day for me today as well as Sienne and Dyana.

Check this out on dosing with calipers. Let me know if you have questions, :-D
 
Re: 3/13 ELIAN: Was hoping for help. Made decision on my own

Thanks Marje. And thanks for the caliper info - I just emailed it to myself so I have it once I buy them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top