Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Last time: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=115253
We have a pet sitter lined up who is the cousin of our vet tech, and who is interning at our vet office. She has experience with ear testing and monitoring BG! Yay! Picked up an automatic feeder which we haven't had a chance to try yet, and some EVO to have as a stop gap so our skittish civilian has an opportunity to eat while we're gone for the weekend.
In other news, I've lost all confidence in my ability to shoot into numbers lower than 200 when Eddie is surfing. nailbite_smile I crashed Eddie again (third time within the last couple weeks) last night shooting what looked to be a rising number after stalling to AM +14.75. By +2.5, Eddie was diving, and by +4, despite feeding small amounts of both LC and MC to slow him down, he dipped into the 40's. I guess I have a couple options: 1) wait until he's at least into the 200's before shooting, 2) shoot less into those numbers (170+), or 3) change how I'm doing the stalling. Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated. Even in the last month, I was shooting up to 2.2u into pre-shots in the 160+ range, but last night, even 1.6u was too much.
This morning, I did shoot early at PM +9.5, since Eddie was at 270 and almost certainly headed into a pretty big bounce off those low numbers last night. This also gets us back on track from a time standpoint, and I shot a reduced dose in case he's sensitive to the insulin due to the low numbers last night.
Today:
AMPS = 270
+1.5 = 285
+5 = 148
I'm also trying to figure out how much to have our sitter shoot, and what to use as a no shoot cut off number. Looking at Eddie's SS, shooting 1.8u into pre-shots in the 200's has sent Eddie relatively low at nadir, so I'm leaning towards maybe 1.5 or 1.6 for anything over 200. I'd much rather have him sit a little high for a couple days rather than risk him dropping and relying on the automatic feeder to keep him safe.
Have a great day and sending peaceful vines to all who need them today.
We have a pet sitter lined up who is the cousin of our vet tech, and who is interning at our vet office. She has experience with ear testing and monitoring BG! Yay! Picked up an automatic feeder which we haven't had a chance to try yet, and some EVO to have as a stop gap so our skittish civilian has an opportunity to eat while we're gone for the weekend.
In other news, I've lost all confidence in my ability to shoot into numbers lower than 200 when Eddie is surfing. nailbite_smile I crashed Eddie again (third time within the last couple weeks) last night shooting what looked to be a rising number after stalling to AM +14.75. By +2.5, Eddie was diving, and by +4, despite feeding small amounts of both LC and MC to slow him down, he dipped into the 40's. I guess I have a couple options: 1) wait until he's at least into the 200's before shooting, 2) shoot less into those numbers (170+), or 3) change how I'm doing the stalling. Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated. Even in the last month, I was shooting up to 2.2u into pre-shots in the 160+ range, but last night, even 1.6u was too much.
This morning, I did shoot early at PM +9.5, since Eddie was at 270 and almost certainly headed into a pretty big bounce off those low numbers last night. This also gets us back on track from a time standpoint, and I shot a reduced dose in case he's sensitive to the insulin due to the low numbers last night.
Today:
AMPS = 270
+1.5 = 285
+5 = 148
I'm also trying to figure out how much to have our sitter shoot, and what to use as a no shoot cut off number. Looking at Eddie's SS, shooting 1.8u into pre-shots in the 200's has sent Eddie relatively low at nadir, so I'm leaning towards maybe 1.5 or 1.6 for anything over 200. I'd much rather have him sit a little high for a couple days rather than risk him dropping and relying on the automatic feeder to keep him safe.
Have a great day and sending peaceful vines to all who need them today.