3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 +5 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone! Another bleary eyed morning condo @-) @-) . We had a busy vet day yesterday: Chyna 3/12. If anyone with results expertise would mind looking, I had some questions in yesterdays condo about phos binders and subqs? I don't have time to write it out right now. I'd like some eyes on results anyways too ;-) . I did start giving her vitamins today in gel caps instead of her fuds as I want to be sure she gets them all and she doesn't always slurp up every drop...every bit counts. And I'm trying the NV duck again, testing for allergies...it's slightly lower phos and 1% carb.

Back to happy purring let me kiss her and pet without meowing at me from irritation Chyna last night and today. I stuck with a slightly lower dose just to see what she will do with it, but I will raise her again if she stays higher. Even with our BCS yesterday morning she stayed in blue mostly with one almost blue yellow (so far). Lots of shedding and brushing going on :? and sneezing! We have warm weather outside this week and Chyna is loving the sun in her cat tree quite often. All her Ps in place :-D .

Thanks for the visits last night, Elise and Tricia :-D . Thanks for the pee comment Tricia, it makes me feel so bad. I did shove her at the litter box before we left for the vet, guess that didn't work as she walked away :o . I gotta run and get ready for tbp, have a great day LL :razz:
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 Lab results?

I'm too new to the fluids and binder things to answer those Qs, but I'm glad to see Chyna has forgiven you for yesterday's vetty visit. Poor girl with the peeing incident. Them being scared and not knowing they're really going OK is why I absolutely despise going to the vet...I hate hate hate seeing them feel that way. But it's over, and she's happy to feel safe and secure at home!

Nice AMPS, too!

Have a great day, Rachel!
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 Lab results?

Morning Rachel ~O) ~O) ~O)

it is a good start for Chyna today, a nice blue Good luck with dosing, I hope Chyna likes this one. Think blue and green Chyna! Eat up those vitamins too, 'K?

I have no clue on the binders and the fluids. it is an area we never had to dealt with. Wishing you much luck.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 +1.5 172 Lab results?

I am so glad to hear how good Chyna is feeling! All is forgiven, kissing and petting allowed again and enjoying the sunshine :-D

If you haven't done it yet, I would PM Marje. She is the expert on binders and kidney stuff. Are you able to just pill Chyna with the gelcaps? Cleo is the worst of any kitty I have ever had in getting pills/meds down her.

Hope you are having a good day, Rachel :-D
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 +1.5 172 Lab results?

I'm so glad Chyna has forgiven you. I knew she would! Those lovely, safe blues to start the day must be her token of forgiveness! :-D

Can't help you on your questions, but I agree Marje is the best resource around.

Have a great day, Rachel!
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 +1.5 172 +7 121 Lab q's?

Thanks guys, it's super busy again at work, so no time to visit condos yet :sad:

-Thanks Amy, I'm too soft I guess, it hurts my heart to upset her and go but it needs to be done :? . She's happily snoring in the spare room right now :-D
-Hi Michelle, thanks, we're nice in blues today :-D
-Thanks Jane, I haven't had time to PM Marje (and I hate to bug her!) but will later maybe since she usually helps me out so much on labs. Chyna is terrible to pill, but she likes pill pockets now (the only one we can use is duck/pea), I wrap a small piece of one around the gel cap and roll it in purebites crumbs. She eats it up really well, and twice a day she gets her pepcid AC that way so she's a pro ;-) . And of course, a purebites treat after.
-Hi Tricia, yep all forgiven, I think! I like blue days when I work :razz: . Surprising me again with the low blue at +7 when the depot shouldn't be full yet and the dose was lowered...wonder what tonight will look like :o :smile:

Well, speaking of work I have to go back! See you all later on today or tonight :-D
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna AMPS 179 +1.5 172 +7 121 Lab q's?

Nice blues for Chyna today. I hope you come home to more blue. How sweet that she is being happy & purry and enjoying the sun in her cat tree.
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

Thanks Carla, I did! I love my sweet (blue) girl :-D cat_pet_icon . I'm happy she can get into her cat tree again, too.

So far we're trucking along in low blues. Subqs are planned for later tonight. I hope you're all having a great evening!
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

You would never be bugging me! Let me look at yesterday's condo and the numbers and I'll BRB. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

What a lovely blue day for Chyna. Nice recovery after the bad vetty place yesterday. Hope you guys have a wonderful evening.
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

Rachel

I think for where Chynas creatinine is, it might be better to give her 100 mls of subqs every day as long as she does not have any heart issues. I'd discuss it with my vet but Gus was smaller than Chyna and his creat about the same and he got 150 mls a day. It kept his BUN (urea) lower than where Chynas is. Keeping them hydrated helps with them feeling better and also helps the constipation that comes with some of the stuff like binders.

How much binder are you giving her? I agree I'd stick with the AlOh and avoid the Epakitin. Normally for her weight and for where her P is (and it's much higher than it should be.....the goal is to get it below 1.9), you would give a tsp a day on her food throughout the day. But that is a lot of binder and it does put her at risk for aluminum toxicity. So I'd focus on getting her on as low a phosphorus food as the carbs will allow and then giving her between 1/2 -3/4 tsp a day of binder sprinkled on her food.

I don't know how they would do it and get an accurate blood pressure but it would be a good thing to at least try and get the next time you have her in.

Her HCT looks pretty good but she is anemic. I'd be sure she's getting the methylcobalamin (250 mcg bid) and 1/10 B Right bid. I used adequan for Gus's arthritis and it just didn't help him. We did switch to a low dose of bupe and it worked really well for him.

Does that help? I'm sure it brings up other questions so I'll check back soon :-D

LOVE her photo. She's so gorgeous.
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

Nice little blue streak going on Miss Chyna! :-D I'm glad she's forgiven you Rachel for yesterday's vetty visit. Aren't we lucky to have Encyclopedia Marje around. :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

Thanks Marje :cool: . I can try to see if they can do blood pressure on the next visit, maybe Feliway will be better. I'd like them to do her heart too...any opinions on the laculose? I'm thinking upped subqs and I may not need it, yet.

-I hate that the phos hasn't gone down. I am currently giving her 1/2 tsp ALOH over 24 hours. Maybe I will up that to 3/4tsp...I'm trying to find lower phos fuds but she seems to be allergic to the lowest ones, but I am testing some of them now. The raw is the lowest, but I can only feed that for meals I am home and that isn't many it seems :? . I did read about using a second binder on Tanyas site but they sounded hard to get and pricey.

-When we started subqs in Sept they had checked her heart and said it sounded fine, but that was Sept. I can try increasing the subqs at least to daily but I barely got 50ml in tonight so it may be a crapshoot for consistant amounts. I don't know why she is so upset as she was already meowing and crying before I even gave her the needle for it :sad: . She did that the other night too, she hates being restrained but the ear poking she sits for. I'm warming the fluids...she seems to do better when I do subqs during the afternoon but I'm at work! Nanner and treats she didn't care two figs about during it...and I'm calm and loving during it. Ugh. She does get all her fuds mixed with water to the point of being soupy, I know that isn't enough though. I'll keep trying to find a better way or place or something. My house doesn't have a lot of vantage points that would work. I'm worried the guy that lives in the basement thinks I'm killing and torturing my cat :lol:

-I have switched the way I give vitamins (in gel caps) today so I can make sure they are all getting in and she's getting that amount.

I hate this! I wish all our kitties could just stay healthy and happy, no pain...no pokies :cry: . Thanks for looking at her labs :YMHUG:

(Also, hi Wendy, you wrote while I was writing. Thanks, we like blue! I may be in the "doghouse" now, for the subqs :roll: . And Hi Deborah, thanks, we are glad the vetty is over :lol: )
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

I agree....I have said that so many times.....they are so innocent. Why can't they just live long, healthy lives and then just cross peacefully in their sleep?

Are you freezing the needles and using 21g? How about feliway or RR where you give the fluids?

Even the binder cannot make a difference if the the food is really high P. Even if you have to switch to a food that is higher in carbs and then raise the insulin dose, you'd be better than letting the P stay that high. I have found that controlling the P is critical in long term treatment of CKD.

I have never had a cat with constipation (knock on wood) so I can't speak as to the lactulose. Have you ever seen this site on Feline Constipation? It is written by a wonderful lady I "met" in the CRF yahoo group. Smart lady.
 
Re: 3/13 Chyna PMPS 141 +2 126 Lab q's?

Hi again, Marje! Maybe I will try the RR before subqs. Is it ok to use it daily on her ears? Or maybe I'll just sprinkle on a towel or something. I may buy Feliway just to see.

Yes I am freezing the needles, but have the Terumo 20g right now...I bought the 21g but she doesn't sit well for longer than 50ml so I was worried about switching :o

Yes, I have read that article, it's very interesting and I will sit down and read it again. After awhile my eyes glaze over... :oops:

The fuds I am feeding are 224mg/phos per 100kcal and 1.18DM...the low phos ones I've found all have stupid chicken in them it seems. I'll be scouring the fuds lists again though.

There just isn't enough time in the day :sad: . Thanks again. My brain is mush and I need to sleep @-) ...I have a few more things to do first. TGIF tomorrow!
 
Sounds like you are on top of it. I would try to get under 200 mgP/100 cal or below 1.00% DMB. I know it is tough when she is limited on what she will eat. You can only do the best you can; you don't want to make her miserable ;-)

Hope you get some big rest.
 
I'm trying to find lower phos fuds but she seems to be allergic to the lowest ones, but I am testing some of them now. The raw is the lowest, but I can only feed that for meals I am home and that isn't many it seems :?
I have an autofeeder that has a compartment for an ice pack. It keeps Neko's raw food cool and safe for several hours. Nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen: !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top