3/13 China AMBG 138 Dental day!! PMPS 350,+2 289,+4 221,+6 189 She's home!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's pre-dental condo

3/12 AMPS 118,+3 75,+4.5 50,+5.5 60,+6 65,+9 97 ,PMPS 130,+3 183,+5 145,+11 120

Had a very long night...didn't get to sleep until after 2 and then by 3:30 China had decided it was time to eat! She was a total pest and if she wasn't getting food, I wasn't getting sleep!

6am we were up and on our way to the vet. Horrible driving conditions this morning too! Rain/drizzle and lots of fog and the entire hour's drive, I only saw 2 other cars on the road. Of course China's Siamese side kicked in, so I had to listen to "the song of her people" all the way there!

Told them to go ahead and do a senior blood panel instead of just pre-anesthesia bloodwork, and to check her left ear...it's a little gunky looking.

Vet wasn't there yet when I dropped her off and I asked the guy checking us in if they had the equipment to do blood pressures and he didn't know....but if they do, I asked for them to get one for me. Been worrying about that for awhile with her

They didn't know when they'd take her in the schedule, but said I should hear something by 1 and can pick her up between 4-5:30

Going to TRY to get a little nap in ...Have to take DM to PT at 2 and still have the long drive back to pick up China later, so should really try to close my eyes for a little while. Don't know how successful I'll be though

Let the worry begin!! :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
Sending you all sort of good luck and good dental vines for today.:bighug: Hope you got a nap in.

The vet should have BP equipment. Neko's dental vet tested her BP before anesthesia and after it took effect. Good idea to get those numbers if you can.
 
Well we're finally home!!

Not only was the one canine tooth I knew about broken, she lost the other upper canine too as well as another tooth on the lower left.

When they handed me her invoice the first thing I saw was a charge for Convenia!! I told her "she is NOT to get Convenia!" and when the vet came out he said it was on her record, but not in the area where they look for things like that.....GRRRRRRR:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

They did 2 Gingival Reconstructions too

She's still acting really dopey tonight which has me a little concerned. She keeps "drifting off" while she's just sitting there...her head starts to droop. She wasn't like this last time.

Haven't figured out what to do about tonight's shot....she's acting hungry, but it's shot time now and I don't know how much she'll eat and don't want her eating a lot at once anyway in case her stomach is still upset.

More later!
 
Great news :) I wouldn't worry about the Convenia most cats are fine with it. On the plus side you get to find out that she is too - because I just know she will be. After Vyktor's last dental the vet felt that was the best option because of the jaw scraping so maybe it was the same for her because of her gingival reconstructions?

So pleased that she's home safe and sound. Amazing how much they can hide from us! Have you checked her BG yet? That might provide some guidance about what to do with her shot.
 
I'm glad China is home. It sounds like the dental went well. If the procedure lasted longer this time, that could be why she's drifting off. She would have been under anesthesia longer. If you think she won't eat, you may want to skip her shot.
 
I am very pleased China is home from the vet and all is OK. Sheba was given a convenia shot more than once before I knew about the concerns and she was absolutely fine.....no issues.
I love all the photos you post by the way. The rabbit ones crack me up. And the cat hiding at the vet. Aren't they funny munchkins ?
Bron
 
She was more than willing to eat and her BG was 350, so I gave her a little food and gave her shot

We'll play it by ear and see how she does tonight and then figure out what to do in the morning.

The total bill today was $621.60!! :eek:

Of course that included the Chem/CBC/T4 in addition to the routine pre-anesthesia bloodwork.

Got 14 doses of bupe for $34.20...Asked the vet why the injections were $23.60 EACH and he really didn't know other than because with the injectable, each ampule is sterile and with the oral, it's got some preservative and comes in a big bottle that they get lots of doses out of. Sounds reasonable I suppose.

You can use the injectable as oral, but not the other way around

BUN 39.4
Creatinine 2.1
Total Protein 8.7
Glucose 247
ALT (GPT) 42
ALP49

Those are the "in house" results....the full blood panel results should be in on Monday and he'll call with the results.

Last year (Antech)
BUN 45
Creatinine 2.1
Total Protein 8.0
Glucose 149
ALT (SGPT) 33
Alk phosphatase 41

bunch of other stuff..will try to figure out how to get on spreadsheet later
 
I'm glad to hear China's home and the dental is all over with :)

I can't help on the Convenia - I don't remember what Rosa was given after her dental last August. There was a shot of some sort before I picked her up but I don't remember what it said - the hideous bill for the work they'd done made more of an impact at the time!! I do know she spent the rest of the day falling asleep sitting up though (and with her head in the food bowl at least twice too ;) ) so I doubt the sleepiness is anything too much to worry about - my vet told me just to keep an eye on her to make sure she didn't fall asleep with her head in her water bowl or anything else that might have been dangerous for her.
 
Paws crossed for a quiet, uneventful night. Good to hear she's eating in spite of missing her upper fangs. Bummer on the Convenia, double bummer on having it on record! :mad: Neko had some jaw scraping for her last dental, for a biopsy, and had Clindamycin as an antibiotic.

Did you hear about China's blood pressure?
 
Of course China's Siamese side kicked in, so I had to listen to "the song of her people" all the way there!
Totally made me laugh with that one!

So glad she's home and it's all behind her. Sienne always recommends baby food for post-anesthesia, and it worked great for us with punkin. We used it every time - and he had like 7 or more anesthesias. Hope the fixed teeth help her BGs too - it can really make a difference in some cats.

that was good info on the bupe - now i'm wondering if they gave me oral bupe and i injected it . . . not sure how I could know now.
 
Hi Chris, We're so glad China is home and hungry. I'm sure all will be OK. Rusty has his lower canines only (not the upper) and 3 other teeth. He does fine.

Sending China lots of healing vines tonight, and a message for the tooth fairy to bring her something nice.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm so glad China is home safe and eating. Don and I were cracking up over "the song of her people". I grew up with Siamese, so I know just what you mean!
 
@Wendy&Neko They do have a Doppler BP machine...however the battery is dead so it wasn't working

They said they ordered another one so she'll have to go back if I want the BP. I'm curious about it because her pupils seem to always be dilated. Even in her picture here, you can see how dilated they are

He said I could bring her back in and what they usually do is leave them in a quiet room or large cage for a few hours to let them settle down before taking it....seems reasonable so maybe I'll go shopping up in Jefferson City some day soon
 
I'm glad she ate well. Max ate when he got home but not well enough later for me to feel comfortable giving him a full dose. He got convenia as well. He also got it several months ago when he had those strange episodes. I've now heard several vets say they haven't had an issues with it. While it wouldn't be my first choice, it did make sense so as not to add possible intestinal issues to the mix. I hope you both have a peaceful evening.
 
Yeah every vet I talk to says they haven't had any problems, but I suppose we can ALL say that "such and such" never caused us any problems..until it did!

What really upsets me is it's not like it wasn't clearly stated in her record if they'd just taken the time to LOOK
 
Glad to hear that China is home, that her tooth and vet trauma is over. Hope you can both get some needed rest now
 
I was much more upset when given Valium as an appetite stimulant without being told it can cause liver failure if allergic. It learned from a yahoo group. It did work and was the last time Tiffany ate in her own. Nobody told me then I could give ondansetron and cerenia together either. I do believe the dangers of Convenia might be over rated.
 
I'm so glad China is home and recovering! It is frustrating about the convenia - you gave specific orders to NOT give it, and it seems irresponsible that it was administered because it was noted in "the wrong" spot.

Trix's last dental - 4 years ago - was $1400!!! What we do for the ones we love....there's no other way to go.

Sending tons of speedy recovery vines....
 
Well she's eating well, and her BG is coming down nicely. She's had her bupe for tonight and this little old crazy cat lady is going to get some sleep!!!

Tomorrow if she's still eating well, I'll probably take her back up to .75...the vet was a little shocked that she was only getting .75 now considering she was at 1.5 last year when they did her dental

Keep on heading down that dose ladder for me China! I don't mind at all!!
 
I'm so glad she's home with you and wants to eat. Our vet always told me not to offer food until the next morning, but Harvey has always demanded food that same night and been fine. Baby food is what I normally give that first night, in small doses, spread over an hour or two.

Several of my cats have had Covenia injections, before I joined the Board and heard of the risks, and never had a problem, so don't sweat that. Just make sure they note it in the place they DO look, for next time.

Sending healing vines and :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top