3/13, Bell, AMPS 239 +1 237 +7 96 +10 44 +10.5 68 PMPS 58 +1 72 +2 57 +3 57 +4 69 +5 67 +6 74

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Well that +10 was a bit scary to come back to! I stopped back home for lunch between +4.5 and +7 and felt that even though she was dropping, she'd be ok for a few hours if I went back to work. Wrong. I feel guilty, but she is fine. This is a similar pattern as the big drop the AM of 3/6.

I am planning to keep reducing by 0.5 units, even though she's now under the 5 unit threshold. Please feel free to weigh in on that if you think that's a bad idea. She still seems pretty volatile and unpredictable and I want to keep her safe. I'm also going off of Wendy's guidance here:

Given that you had a hard time keeping her up above 50, I'm glad you went with the 0.5 unit reduction. The other thing to consider is Bell's special circumstances - IAA seems to be losing it's tight grip. That means a good dollop of caution. With Neko, when she started the downward slide, I kept up the 0.5 unit reductions until she stopped holding them, then switched to 0.25 unit changes. That was below 4 units. Note for any lurkers. Seth and Bell's circumstances are unique, do not follow what they do.

I am hoping to get her above 50 by her shot time so I don't have a no shot. I hope the latest meal gets her on the uptrend, I'll test again at +10.5. I may give her a bit more at +11 if I feel she needs a boost.
 
upload_2025-3-13_17-9-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-13_17-9-33.png
    upload_2025-3-13_17-9-33.png
    845.6 KB · Views: 30
With IAA in the mix, I think it's OK to use 0.5 unit changes until she stops holding them.

When back in the dark days of one of the early versions of TR, they called anything over 3 units a high dose and said 1/2 unit changes above that. That was before more data was collected, and for most cats it seems like .25 unit changes are fine between 3 and 5. There are exceptions, and Bell is one of them. Lurkers take note, this is not for you.

You can always delay the shot a bit if she's being stubborn about coming up.
 
Thanks Wendy! Going to reread the stalling sticky. I feel like it is more of an art than a science trying to get her trending upward in these scenarios without inflating her numbers with carbs. 90+% of the time she bounces from the limes but it is that 10% we’re worried about
 
Via my sheets app:
upload_2025-3-13_17-32-37.png


From the web interface
upload_2025-3-13_17-32-57.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-13_17-32-37.png
    upload_2025-3-13_17-32-37.png
    121.6 KB · Views: 30
  • upload_2025-3-13_17-32-57.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-13_17-32-57.jpeg
    62 KB · Views: 32
You took the time to test those syringes for me with all this going on! This community rocks. Hope she comes up for you here soon!
 
Bell got above 50 with a full, 2-hour fast. So that's good. I also forgot to mention that she ate all of her food when I was away and she was low. So that is good that at least when she gets in the lime zone she knows to eat from the feeder.
 
Don't feel guilty Seth. At least she ate all of her food from the feeder . Congrats on the reduction , she's really doing great .I hope she surf's safely tonight and no limes Bell . Hope you're not up to late tonight:D:bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top