3/13 Bailey PMPS 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve

Member Since 2013
241 this morning.
170 this evening.
No shots administered as directed by the doctor.

I'll never understand Bailey.

She's also been eating less... ferociously? Usually, she's meowing at the top of her lungs and devours all of her food in seconds without pausing for a breath. I notice she's been eating less intensely and even leaving some food in her bowl and returning later to finish. Is this a sign that she's losing her appetite or something else to be weary of? Her numbers seem pretty good.
 
I'm too new to give advice, but I can tell you that my Lucian doesn't eat as much when his numbers are closer to normal.

From what I understand, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, but when the BG's are high, the cat isn't able to utilize the nutrition in their food, hence making them feel hungry all the time.

Even as high as Lucian runs most of the time, he's not near as hungry as he was when he stayed up in the 5-600 range.

Maybe kitty not running so high, food is more satisfying to her/him now.

Just my 2 cents. :-D
 
The closer all mine have gotten to normal numbers the less ravenous they became. Although I also have some civies that if I don't rotate flavors at least every day and a half will sniff give me the stink eye and walk away until I produce something else for them to eat...Cats gotta love them, but understand them...never. lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I think that when they get close to regular numbers the insulin is helping their body to metabolized the food they eat better, so they get more nutrition from the food they eat.

And, if they aren't a food hording kitty or have a food insecurity, they only eat when they are hungry- so less food is needed all around.
 
Mmm... that kind of stabs a hole RIGHT through that logic... :lol:

Still the matter could be the same- better numbers, better nutrient absorption.

I'll have to ask my resident dietitian how it is with humans.
 
According to the ss for Bailey, there were shots of .25u given, and one AMPS was 58 but then insulin was stopped on 2/28.

The ps numbers are still a wee bit on the high side to be without insulin...the lowest has been 172 and the highest was 350 on the ss. There are a bit too many mid/high 200s to be without insulin, so if the constipation issue has been all cleared up, it may be an idea to try a drop or two of insulin again.
 
Just heard from Steve....Bailey has been hospitalized in DKA...

Prayers please that it was caught early and she will make a full and speedy recovery.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
So sorry to hear about this. I hope he found a better vet and pray for a speedy recovery for Bailey. Will say a little prayer for Steve and Bailey.

Terri
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top