3/13: AMPS: 321: I hate u-100 syringes

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-12-amps-262-clearing-the-bounce.275177/#post-3054138

I swear I give more furshots then ever before ever since we switched syringes. My u-100 needles are shorter and I'm CONSTANTLY like "yup it's in, I felt it go in! I pushed it in as far as it'll go" And yet here I am giving furshots when Lando's numbers are high again. It makes me so frustrated I could scream. I never had this problem with the u-40.

Now Lando, who was fed 10 minutes ago, is screaming in the kitchen for more food. He's throwing himself into the back door while he does it o_O it's not been a good morning and I've only been awake for 20 minutes lol.

IT'S A MONDAY!
 
How badly does a furshot mess up the depo?

I'm not too sure. It's dependent on each cat, and how much is in the depot at any given time.

I could be wrong, but I think there are a few different needle lengths for the U-100, what does the packaging say ( it may say 3/16 or 5/16).

Where on his body do you typically shoot? Do you lift and go in from behind or from the front of where you tent? Sometimes they just have to move a mm, and it slides out.
 
How badly does a furshot mess up the depo?
Not too badly, it just restarts the cycle
From the sticky http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-counting-cycles.50880/

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.​

Like @Deb and Sylvester said, you can get a needle length of half inch. In addition, are you injecting at a 45° angle into the tent?
 
i think i may try the longer 5/16 needles. dont like the short ones either. with u40 i was using the 29G -1/2 " needle. just the tip in but you can feel when it penetrates

I have only ever used the 5/16 in the 5 years in doing this, and they are long enough that they go in deep enough without issue.

We've all given a fur shot at some point, but the longer needle will help to eliminate a mechanical issue.
 
I'm not too sure. It's dependent on each cat, and how much is in the depot at any given time.

I could be wrong, but I think there are a few different needle lengths for the U-100, what does the packaging say ( it may say 3/16 or 5/16).

Where on his body do you typically shoot? Do you lift and go in from behind or from the front of where you tent? Sometimes they just have to move a mm, and it slides out.
I usually shoot around the shoulder blades, the sides, and between the blades and rotate around. I usually do those areas cause it's where we have the most excess skin so it's easier to shoot (only one flank since he's a tripod) I tent the fur up but may try the parting of the fur instead. I have the 5/16th length and thought I'd like it more but it definitely has been giving me trouble sometimes.
 
Not too badly, it just restarts the cycle
From the sticky http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-counting-cycles.50880/

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.​

Like @Deb and Sylvester said, you can get a needle length of half inch. In addition, are you injecting at a 45° angle into the tent?
Yeah I've been tenting the fur and rotating spots. I think I'm still adjusting to the new needle length cause I SWEAR I have the needle in but once I even popped the needle in and it went out the other side and shot into the fur lol! I need to adjust my method and be more careful I guess. Sometimes I SWEAR it's in and take my time but I've had more furshots lately.
 
I know fur shots are frustrating, but Tank will get back on track. I once did three fur shots in a row. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh jeez if I'd done that I'd have been so mad at myself! I guess I need to be more careful and adjust my method a bit.
And this is funny, but I am actually Tank and Lando is our sugar kitty lol! :p
 
i think i may try the longer 5/16 needles. dont like the short ones either. with u40 i was using the 29G -1/2 " needle. just the tip in but you can feel when it penetrates
I'm using the 5/16 ones but my u-40 were longer so it's been a bit of an adjustment. I'm just so mad I feel the needle pop into the skin and still furshot somehow sometimes. I probably need to lay Lando down so I can get a better angle and be more sure it's in. Gonna have to revisit some photos and guides!
 
@TankNRK
Hi Tank these come in 1/2 inch length with half unit markings
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1289/monoject-ultra-comfort-u100-syringes-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-100ct
Tyler never even noticed any difference between the 29g and 31g at ALL
Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!

You might need a script for them, just call ADW yell them what you want and they will call your vet to fax over the script, , give your vet a heads up that they will be contacted and ask for refills. You can then order them yourself either by phone or on the site
Set up an account

Product Description

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29 Gauge 3/10cc 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) 100 single use syringes. These syringes include Half unit markings for precise dosing for 30 units or less. Every Monoject Ultra Comfort Insulin Syringe has been engineered to provide you with unparalleled comfort, accuracy and ease.
 
Last edited:
I usually shoot around the shoulder blades, the sides, and between the blades and rotate around. I usually do those areas cause it's where we have the most excess skin so it's easier to shoot (only one flank since he's a tripod) I tent the fur up but may try the parting of the fur instead. I have the 5/16th length and thought I'd like it more but it definitely has been giving me trouble sometimes.

I have never had success tenting and going in from behind ( needle facing away from me). I usually tent, and with that same hand/thumb, part the hair gently. Then I insert at 45 degrees from the front of the tent ( in other words, the needle is pointing toward me into the skin)

Sly is big, so there's not alot of excess skin to tent!!
 
@TankNRK
Hi Tank these come in 1/2 inch length with half unit markings
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1289/monoject-ultra-comfort-u100-syringes-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-100ct
Tyler never even noticed any difference between the 29g and 31g at ALL
Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!

You might need a script for them, just call ADW yell them what you want and they will call your vet to fax over the script, , give your vet a heads up that they will be contacted and ask for refills. You can then order them yourself either by phone or on the site
Set up an account

Product Description

Monoject Ultra Comfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 29 Gauge 3/10cc 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) 100 single use syringes. These syringes include Half unit markings for precise dosing for 30 units or less. Every Monoject Ultra Comfort Insulin Syringe has been engineered to provide you with unparalleled comfort, accuracy and ease.
YOOOOOO this is awesome!!!! Thank you so much! I'll move through the last of the case I have now and definitely get these ones for my next order!
 
Might be some ideas on shooting to help you in this post: Testing and Shooting Tips

I found the roll method much less prone to fur shots. Also check out the video at the bottom.

I guess I do the roll method, but I find it easier to see that it penetrated the skin better if I hold the syringe the opposite way, facing toward me on an angle. And with Sly, it also let's me use my forearm/wrist as a stopper, meaning, to stop him from going anywhere.. Lol!
 
I found that once I changed my hand positioning I had better control of the poke. Rather than holding it like a scary syringe with my thumb on the plunger like a trigger, I would hold it more like a pen or how I would hold a dart to shoot at a dart board. And take slow exact aim. then adjust my thumb and finger to depress plunger.;) I also would go into the tent towards me at the 45.
 
I found that once I changed my hand positioning I had better control of the poke. Rather than holding it like a scary syringe with my thumb on the plunger like a trigger, I would hold it more like a pen or how I would hold a dart to shoot at a dart board. And take slow exact aim. then adjust my thumb and finger to depress plunger.;) I also would go into the tent towards me at the 45.

Exactly this! i use my pointer finger on the plunger!
 
i just got the Re Lion brand with 5/16th needle and its muck better, i still like the 29G with 1/2" needle but i noticed that the bigger gauge needle does more damage to the membrane on the insulin
 
i just went and got the Re Lion brand syringe with the 5/16 inch needle and its much better. i still prefer the 29 gauge 1/2 inch needle but does the larger gauge needle put more wear on the membrane we poke that holds the insulin. after all we penetrate that more than human use ... so does the larger gauge needle deteriorate that membrane quicker, maybe render it faulty pre-maturely, so you cant use the entire pen ?
 
I use 31 gauge 5/16 length needle syringes. When I push the needle in, I go all the way until the rim of the outer barrel is right up against her skin and I feel the resistance to go any further. I personally like the tenting method where you use your thumb, ring finger, and forefinger to grab the skin, with the middle finger tucked in and holding up the inside of the tent and the syringe aiming to go right directly beneath. It's like I use the middle finger as a guide where the needle needs to go. The outside barrel of the syringe will basically touch or brush up against the tip of the finger. There are a lot of different methods out there to try and this is what works best for us, but of course ECID. Takes experimenting, time, and practice. :)
 
Back
Top