3-13-20 Moey AMPS=154 PMPS=102

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
3-12-20(Yesterday). Good morning. I hope everyone has a wonderful day. Kittie be good and surf safely:cool::D Prayers for all.

I'm so very frustrated this morning. Disclaimer **rant** ahead.
Well, Moey got a little dibble added to his dose yesterday morning. AMPS cycle looking good. Shouldn't really expect to see his dosecrese yet. PMPS cycle; lovely PS #. +2, WTH here we go. So after a very unexpected PJ party Moey now gets a mandatory reduction. I know I shouldn't take it personally but, gosh...he just got his dosecrese yesterday. He was on that dose for 24 hours. The depot shouldn't have been established yet?!? Now, we have to start all over again, climbing up the dosing ladder.:mad:
2nd part of my rant; I slept through the 7:45am alarm. The DH got up but, didn't wake me. Ok fine, I get I needed to sleep and the DH didn't want to disturb me. Well the DH comes into the bedroom later and says, "You know it's almost 10am." Here I'm thinking...uh no, I didn't know the time because I was ASLEEP! Jumped out of bed in a panic running around to get things ready for Moey. Go into Moey/Ittle's bedroom just before 10am to test, feed and shoot. Well, in the bedroom I find 2 bowls of partially eaten cat food from last night!!! OMGoodness....that's a golden rule in this house. Pick up the cat food at 8am...whether it's me or the DH. He forgot to pick up the food and I overslept! What a way to start out the day:blackeye::(

In high insight, I guess I should have waited to fatten his dose.
 
Last edited:
Dearest Briere,

What do you think about going back to .75 instead of the "mandatory" reduction you took? Then you wouldn't have to go back up the dosing ladder. Don't slap me, I'm just thinking . . . :rolleyes:;)
It's great you lowered to .55 this morning, but couldn't you go back to .75 tonight if his numbers looked right for it?

ETA, it's also possible he was going for a reduction anyway even if you hadn't increased. If that's true, maybe your new dose is good!
 
Last edited:
Dearest Briere,

What do you think about going back to .75 instead of the "mandatory" reduction you took? Then you wouldn't have to go back up the dosing ladder. Don't slap me, I'm just thinking . . . :rolleyes:;)
It's great you lowered to .55 this morning, but couldn't you go back to .75 tonight if his numbers looked right for it?
That is a very good question and thought. On 1/9/20 he fell into the 30s after a week of a dosecrease. I asked the same question then, "Can I just go back to the previous dose of .8u?" I was told to take the full reduction because he fell into the 30s. Personally, I think it would be easier to go back to the previous dose instead of climbing back up the dosing ladder. I'm not sure it would be safe for Moey. I dunno...this darn depo is confounding.

In retrospect, I could have prevented this conversation from taking place if I would have carbed Moey earlier and harder. Learning lesson:rolleyes:
 
upload_2020-3-13_10-40-56.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-3-13_10-40-56.jpeg
    upload_2020-3-13_10-40-56.jpeg
    14.8 KB · Views: 48
Safety comes before anything. Please don't be so hard on yourself. I've also been messing up on timing - 2 hours late with fluids a couple days ago, and an hour off with somebody's meal, etc. They are all ok!
The depot is confounding indeed, and I have thoughts that may be "off". I have taken Lantus since it came onto the market. I never knew about the depot before coming here, but I don't ever skip shots either. However, if I take 18 units of Lantus on one day, and twenty the next I notice immediate changes, and never knew about any depot! If I lower my dose, I never notice there is some extra insulin working from the prior higher dose. My thought being that the depot isn't as large as we might think (?)
Plus your dose change was so small . . .
 
I'm going to agree with Carla on this one...sorry but that boy is telling you something...he's not bad looking considering how low he was last night and it appears you were trying hard to keep him above the shark line...so I'd stay with the full reduction here...

He may be trying to tell you something...or not...don't we wish they could talk. At any rate, his pancreas is definitely making a contribution...let him ride this dose out for a few days...on TR 6 cycles passes quickly. And let's hope tonight he'll let you get some rest...
 
Back
Top