3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75;+3 70;+4 80;+6 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Gosh, what a day and night yesterday, we're rung out. High numbers were expected but always hard to see. Thanks to all our supporters and advice givers last night. :YMHUG:

Yesterday's Condo

Today
3/12/12 Zener
AMPS 516, 1st cycle @2.0u, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1.65oz 11% & 1/16t Miralax
~1, 0.55oz 11%, negative ketones
+2 377, 0.45oz 11%
~3, 0.30oz 10%
+4 348, 0.5oz 11%
+5 0.45oz 8%, nature's instinct rabbit (a new food we are trying, he also ate venison a couple of days ago, but only once)
+6 317

@Ann & Tess - thanks for your kind words, we are indeed doing our best and need to focus on how much better overall he is feeling.

@Serryn - good idea about putting a little sea cucumber on his food. We have not tried that because it is so high in honey and we use it to bring his numbers up when they are low. May be worth an experiment thought!

Sliding down toward yellows, so paws are crossed our skipping again does not take too long to clear. Planning to take yesterday's earned reduction this evening. Appy is moderate today, not great, but he is eating some. Both kitties are outside in our sunny and mild weather, bird watching. :-D
 
Re: 3/12 Zener AMPS 516;+2 377;+4 348;+6 317 after skip

Zener is certainly coming down nicely! He'll be keeping you up again in no time. But hey, that's what spring break is all about wild, sleepless nights.
 
Re: 3/12 Zener AMPS 516;+2 377;+4 348;+6 317 after skip

Hi, Anne and Liz - I'm sorry you had such a stressful day and night. I followed your condo but didn't voice in because I didn't want to add clutter to the advice-giving and decision-making that was going on.

I know you've tried everything you can think of to get Zener to eat more, but I wonder if you could add more calories per meal? Calories without carbs means a higher fat content, and I don't know if Zener can tolerate more fat. I've used kitten food on those occasions when one of the boys has a low appy, and they both love the taste. Just a thought.

Wishing you both a calm, sweet day. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/12 Zener AMPS 516;+2 377;+4 348;+6 317 after skip

Hi Anne and Liz, I was also following your condo yesterday and waiting for a good time to visit. I'm sorry Zener was feeling so poorly with appy off yesterday and also vomiting. Sending some vines for him and especially for the Vetty visit on tuesday. He's coming down slowly there. Nice to have spring break, too.
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91

Holy moly, it's another drama-rama cycle - from black to green in one cycle! Sheez, it's PTSD from last night all over again! :o

Today
3/12/12 Zener
AMPS 516, 1st cycle @2.0u, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1.65oz 11% & 1/16t Miralax
~1, 0.55oz 11%, negative ketones
+2 377, 0.45oz 11%
~3, 0.30oz 10%
+4 348, 0.5oz 11%
+5 0.45oz 8%, nature's instinct rabbit (a new food we are trying, he also ate venison a couple of days ago, but only once)
+6 317, 0.2oz 5%
+10 171, 0.2oz 5%
PMPS 91, 1st cycle @1.75u, 1.4oz 11% & 1/16t miralax, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1/4PP & tiny sliver of cypro

@Linda - you are psychic - call 1-800-Linda&Weezer! Green at PMPS could mean a wild night.

@Randa - thanks for following us and no worries about the clutter of advice getting - we are ultimately the ones with the needle in our hand and take full responsibility for decision making. We appreciate advice and don't find it confusing but helpful. We have tried kitten food in the past with no go from Mr Z. I stopped at the pet store tonight to try a few different foods to see if any seem to spark his interest.

@Ann & Maggie - it was a bit wild here yesterday in Zener's condo. Thanks for the vines, we appreciate it. He came down nice and slow to the end of the cycle, then jumped the express elevator! Not sure what's up with that, but perhaps too much insulin, so reduction in place tonight.

I know this has happened to other kitties before, but black to green in one cycle and after a skipped dose? I can't get my head around it. Any explanations are welcome - including "he's a cat"! :lol: We tried Marje's suggestion of a little bit of food @ +10 to see if it would boost him up, maybe not this time in this crazy cycle after missing a dose. We didn't feel like we could skip AGAIN! :shock: So, we shot the earned reduction and chose the full 0.25u since his numbers were green.

We are both pretty nervous we can't get him to eat enough if he drops like a rock, so we added a tiny bit of cypro, the appy stimulant we used long ago without side effects. It should kick in around +2 and increase his appy. I would guess we gave him less than 1/8 of a pill (of course, the vet told us to give 1 twice a day, which we never did - we only gave 1/2 to 1/4 daily back in the switch to wet food days). Will get a +1 and as many tests as necessary as the evening goes along. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126

That's a very nice start to the evening. I think Z wins the Rainbow Cat of the Day award! Good luck with the reduction, I hope his appetite continues to improve, and you guys are able to relax a bit!
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126

Zener is looking so terrific, hope tonite will be a little less stressful...
Yep, Zener wins the Rainbow award today.. Hope his appy will be better & all will go smoothly tonite!
Hugs & Love from us~!
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126

Zener certainly has been seen all the colors in the rainbow today. Hope he is not going to keep you on your toes tonight.

Thanks for visiting Simon's condo today. Yes, he definitely has an interesting spreadsheet. In the beginning we thought he was going to run right to OTJ status but this sugar dance had some other ideas for us.
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75


Today
3/12/12 Zener
AMPS 516, 1st cycle @2.0u, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1.65oz 11% & 1/16t Miralax
~1, 0.55oz 11%, negative ketones
+2 377, 0.45oz 11%
~3, 0.30oz 10%
+4 348, 0.5oz 11%
+5 0.45oz 8%, nature's instinct rabbit (a new food we are trying, he also ate venison a couple of days ago, but only once)
+6 317, 0.2oz 5%
+10 171, 0.2oz 5%
PMPS 91, 1st cycle @1.75u, 1.4oz 11% & 1/16t miralax, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1/4PP & tiny sliver of cypro
+1 126, 0.85oz 11%
+2 75, 1.0oz 11% & 2 treats

@Amy - we were darn surprised to see his numbers at the end of this cycle, considering where they were at the beginning! :o

@Roni - looks like a different kind of stress tonight. The appy stimulant even in a tiny dose seems to be helping. We don't like to use it, but we also didn't want to skip again.

@Georgia - we are on spring break this week, so I can sleep in if Zener wants a PJ party. Thank goodness!


So far, so good with his eating tonight. That little sliver of cypro must be helping and this relieves us a great deal since he dropped already back to green at +2. :shock: More tests to come. Right now, he is resting under Liz's knees covered up by a blanket in a game we call "tent". :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75

He's a cat and his pancreas is kicking in.

Not to be a total PITA, but 91 - 18 (i.e., 20% of 91) = 73. Maybe you could have shot last night!
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75

Sienne and Gabby said:
He's a cat and his pancreas is kicking in.
So, pancreas kicking in is a good thing right? ;-)



Sienne and Gabby said:
Not to be a total PITA, but 91 - 18 (i.e., 20% of 91) = 73. Maybe you could have shot last night!
Haha, math is certainly not my strong suit! And nope, we don't think you are a total PITA at all (of course, unless you want to be ;-) )and we greatly appreciate your help!

We were just too nervous last night with a number in the 50s and him not wanting to eat. The poor appy and vomiting episodes are really wearing on us. If we could count on him eating, we would feel much more brave in shooting the low numbers. And, most motivating was, we did not want to have to skip again - two nights in a row! Maybe we should have taken the reduction this AM cycle but it was hard to imagine he would go from black to green in one cycle!

We tried a little experiment with cypro today, the appy stimulant we used to transition him to wet food, and gave him just a crumb or a sliver, I can't even say it is 1/8 of a tablet. It seems to have been enough though to kick start his appy again, and we felt like we could trust we could get him to eat. So, we grabbed our BOS and shot the dropping 91. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75;+3 70;+4 80

Holding steady eddie in the greens. :mrgreen:
PMPS 91, 1st cycle @1.75u, 1.4oz 11% & 1/16t miralax, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1/4PP & tiny sliver of cypro
+1 126, 0.85oz 11%
+2 75, 1.0oz 11% & 2 treats
+3 70, 0.5oz 11%, 1PP
+4 80, 0.6oz 11%

Zener seems to be feeling better tonight. Having some lovely sunny warm (almost 60F today) weather and time outside in his yard was just what Dr Tiny Cat ordered. Of course, we have a vetty appointment tomorrow, so he is feeling better tonight AND we are so glad. We planned the visit as a routine FD check up and follow up to our visits in January when he had such a difficult time. And then we had the latest bout of vomity no appy. He seems to be recovering from this one without extreme intervention like last time. Our appointment is in the morning (MST here in AZ still, so we are the same as PDT) and full report will follow.

One before before bedtime mid-cycle check and hopefully dreamland and not a Monday night PJ party!
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75;+3 70;+4 80

Much better today ! I am going to be PITA number two. I'm glad you tried the late feeding but at the rate he was falling, you might want to use one of his higher carb foods :-D :-D

Today was a bounce- breaking day as opposed to a second dip day ...see the difference? :-D

Sure hope the little sliver of cipro works and he eats more. Good luck at the vet tomoorw.
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75;+3 70;+4 80

Nice numbers, Zener and very nice shooting, beans!! :-D I hope you get some sleep tonight Anne! I-)
 
Re: 3/12 Zener PMPS 91;+1 126;+2 75;+3 70;+4 80

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Much better today ! I am going to be PITA number two. I'm glad you tried the late feeding but at the rate he was falling, you might want to use one of his higher carb foods :-D :-D
No way are you PITA #2, unless of course, you want to be! ;-) These episodes of him not eating are the most challenging thing we have to deal with and we had just about had all we could handle yesterday. We were very grateful for the back channel discussion and advice. :YMHUG: When he eats without me having to chase him around the house, it's a much better day.

We were very surprised to see him come down in one cycle. :shock: It was still a bit of a challenge to get him to eat in the am cycle, so we were feeding whatever he would eat, shocking it was the 5%. :roll: Perhaps next time we will add a drop of karo if the 5% is all he will eat, which hardly ever happens!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Today was a bounce- breaking day as opposed to a second dip day ...see the difference? :-D
I think so, then sometimes looking at his SS feels like "where's Waldo"? :lol: I'm not sure we will ever get comfy shooting in the 50s, until we see him being more consistent and can be sure we can get food in him! nailbite_smile

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Sure hope the little sliver of cipro works and he eats more. Good luck at the vet tomoorw.
The little sliver of cipro is either doing it or he is past his latest "pukus poor appy" episode. Appy better tonight, and he ate at each mini meal.
dancing_cat
 
Looks like bean bedtime, PJ party cancelled. :thumbup

PMPS 91, 1st cycle @1.75u, 1.4oz 11% & 1/16t miralax, 1/4PP & 1/8 Zantac, 1/4PP & tiny sliver of cypro
+1 126, 0.85oz 11%
+2 75, 1.0oz 11% & 2 treats
+3 70, 0.5oz 11%, 1PP
+4 80, 0.6oz 11%
+6 93, 0.55oz 11%, negative ketones & glucose
Left out 0.6oz 11% & FDCK in auto feeder

@Melissa & Bailey - thanks for stopping in and offering shooting support! Looks like the big guy is going to surf slowly upwards, so off to bed I go.

Food in place in auto feeder, which we hope helps with any late dips and morning scarf and barf. Ni ni LL. I-)
 
Message relayed to Zener, he follows directions from his LL aunties much better than his beans! :YMHUG:

Sweet desert dreams to you and Miss Gracie.
 
I think Zener read yesterday's condo and wasn't happy with Vyktor getting the award for the furtherest drop so he made sure he won it today. Boy oh boy, in light of recent events that award is being taken off the table. Hear that Zener you are now the regining champion for all time since there won't be another one so there's no need to do that again!

The surfing comp may be on for tonight though. Zener's done a great job but it looks like Vyktor's little yellow bounce from last night's greens has broken already...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top