3/12-Tip-AMPS-195...PMPS-340 +2-429 +6-288 Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
3/10 condo

Yesterday's Numbers
AMPS - 359
+2 - 309
+6 - 204
+11 - 278
PMPS - 330
+2 - 327
+6 - 136
+9 - 144

Today's Numbers
AMPS - 195
+3 - 245
+6 - 193
PMPS - 340
+2 - 429
+6 - 288

Wish I could've updated yesterday, but Tip had another visit to the vet yesterday. They did a full blood work-up on her, did the routine checks, gave her 100cc's(I think that's what the units was? It was at least 100 something) of fluid, checked her teeth, her temp was 102, and she went home with a treat and told to hold her dose until we know 100% what all is going on with her. Got the results today and the vet said that the bloodwork indicated she had a mild case of pancreatitis Probably why the fluids helped with her numbers last night and today. I need to call back to ask what the next plan is for her pancreatitis since I was just barely missed her call and can't call back now until after work. Should be able to call and ask before Tip's PMPS.

Tip was acting a little off today when my grandpa went to get the +6, she was hiding under my bed, which she hasn't done since close to when she was first diagnosed and hid from the shots and tests until she started getting used to it all. She didn't eat much of the lunch either, Christmas ate most of it.

The vet also wanted to schedule a dental very soon for Tip. Then after that see about getting the tests done for high-dose conditions.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

Hi Cindy, sorry to hear about Tip's diagnosis, but it does explain why she's been off her food lately. In case you haven't read it yet, here is Marje's Primer on Pancreatitis. Lots of good information and treatments in there. I agree that the dental sounds like something that should be looked as soon too. An infection there can be impacting her numbers.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

For pancreatitis, you want pain meds, most people get buprenex. Pancreatitis is very painful, and that's per humans. You also want to have fluids, so talk to your vet about getting a fluids kit and line to have at home. The last of the 3 things is something like Pepcid AC as cats usually have an upset stomach/nausea.

Some cats seem to be prone to pancreatitis flares, so it's a good idea to have those 3 items on hand. In time, you will recognize the signs and be able to treat at home without any expensive and traumatic trips to the vet.

I was giving my Shadoe 1/4 tab pepcid (2.5mg) about 30min before her shot meals so that her stomach would be settled before she ate, or she would just turn away from the food.
If the pepcid did not help, and she was hiding or sitting in a ball like a meatloaf, I could try a small bit of buprenex. I would also try to give her maybe 50cc subQ fluids as it helps alot.
Chronic pancreatitis (or does my cat have a pepcid deficiency?)
Pancreatic function
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

Thanks for the links. I forgot to mention too that she did also drop quite a bit of weight, from 12lbs 14oz to 12lbs 9oz from last monday, and I'm to still finish out the antibiotics she was given for her URI even if it seems like it's gone. I'll discuss getting a fluids kit when I call today as well as pain meds and anything for nausea because it definitely seems like she has that since she'll take a bite of food, sniff, then walk away. Maybe come back for a few more bites then leave again.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

Marje also did a great video about giving fluids. I don't have the link right now but I'll look for it if no one else posts it. Poor Tip!
Liz
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

Alright, thanks. Yeah, I felt really bad for her when they were drawing blood yesterday, I swear they took more than they do for bloodwork in people. And all this stuff going on at once for her. I just want her to be well and happy.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 Pancreatitis

Hi (((Cindy))) so sorry to hear about Tip's diagnosis. I hope she starts feeling better soon; sending lots of vines.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

Thanks for the video. And the good wishes and healing vines for Tip to get better.

I did directly contact the vet(since there's multiple in the office), but had to leave a message. She called back right as I had to leave for dinner. We didn't get back until right after they're closed, and Tip is acting like she's in quite a bit of pain, but I don't know what to do. Her specific vet isn't going to be back in until monday, and possibly thursday since I think she does surgeries that day. But I'm completely unsure what I can do for her until I can get a hold of the vet, though I'm going to be calling tomorrow even if I won't be able to talk to her specific vet.

So is there anything that can be done until tomorrow or when I can get a hold of her vet?
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

I would think any of the vets at the practice can prescribe the bupe and the fluids, once they see the pancreatitis diagnosis in Tip's chart. Pepcid is over the counter, get the 10 mg pills and cut into EIGHTHS. You can give it once or twice a day. Healing vines to Tip and hugs to you, Cindy.
Liz
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

That's what I was thinking too, thankfully her nausea seemed to have let up a bit for tonight, she ate quite a bit at shot time. I also had is as more water than food, so I'm sure that helped. Only way I know how to keep fluids in her. Might be able to find pepcid here at the house since both my grandpa and I have acid reflux and/or heartburn. Double-checking, it'd be Pepcid AC, right?
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

Yes, Pepcid AC. There are two versions, 10 mg and 20 mg. Use the 10 mg and cut into EIGHTHS, not quarters like I said before. I'm going to correct that post.
Liz
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

I checked and that's the one antacid that we don't have. We even have children off-brand variants. I am getting more water down her though, seems like warm water is working a whole lot better than cold, and hot water is better in food than warm water for her upset tummy. She's eating a little bit of food now, she's almost up to what she would normally have for supper. About another spoonful and a half away. I'll be asking my grandpa in a little bit if there's another spot the pepcid ac 10mg might be hiding.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

When I've given Pepsid, I've given 2.5mg (1/4 of a 10 mg tablet). That should help with some of the nausea. There are other options if Tip is both nauseous and vomiting. Cerenia (maropitant) or Zofran (ondansatron) can be very helpful but they are prescription.

I hope Tip starts feeling better.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

I hope the new meds will help Tip to feel better ...
help her get so she can have that dental...
Sending many healing vines!
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

Alright, checked with him and we don't have pepcid ac 10mg. The weather's trying to be bad, it was raining super hard earlier so he isn't willing to go to the store with me to get her some of the medicine. This is when it'd come in handy for me to have my license. But I understand why he's saying no.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

We use Zantac, like Pepcid but also helps with stomach motility, which is an issue with Zener. Do you have any of that?
Liz
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

I think my grandpa does, but it's prescription-strength, so probably a lot higher than I can cut to get down to a safe dose for Tip. I have omeprazole 20mg, and there's also a child's antacid, but I think it's supposed to work more like pepto-bismol. It's some off-brand. I could of swore we had more of different brands, but I can't find them.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

What is the weight of the Zantac pill? You could cut it down to 1.25 or 2.5 mg.
Liz
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

C dy

I'm so sorry Tip is ill. Sending many healing vines for her and if you have any questions about my post on pancreatitis or giving fluids, let me know.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

I am so sorry I missed these. I was finishing up a paper and my email didn't tell me there were new posts. I'm not sure on the weight, I'd have to ask tomorrow morning before I go to school since my grandpa is asleep now.
 
Re: 3/12-Tip-AMPS-195 +3-245 +6-193 PMPS-340 +2-429 Pancreat

Anne & Zener said:
Yes, Pepcid AC. There are two versions, 10 mg and 20 mg. Use the 10 mg and cut into EIGHTHS, not quarters like I said before. I'm going to correct that post.
Liz


The daily max for a cat is 5mg. Get the regular strength 10mg and cut into quarters.... the extra strength 20mg tabs are an odd tiny shape and no way to cut them into 8 pieces...
Give 1/4 about 30min before your am and pm shots, so that the stomach will be settled to be able to eat the shot meal. No other pills than just famotidine. It works and is safe.

Pancreatitis is painful. Get some buprenex from the vet office; don't leave there without something.
The fluids are very important and you will see a marked improvement with the fluids.

Gayle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top