3/12 SCRABBLE PMPS 213 DOSE QUESTION???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Hi Michelle,
Being a newbie, I can't offer what to do, but saw your request for help and just wanted to offer support. I've done just what you are doing in the past with a low reading for Maggie- fed, and then checked BG! Hopefully someone with more excperience will come along. I've been up since 3 am! All due to Maggie, my alarm clock! Hang in there. How is she doing now?
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Just fed him about 10 min ago and retested he is @ 91 now, crap I wish I knew what to do!!! I don't want to skip and shot and start all over but I don't want him to go tooo low!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Michelle
When you have a low preshot number there are a couple of things you can do.
1. Stall, DON"T feed and retest in 15 or 30 minutes depending on how much time you have.
2. Shoot a reduced dose
3. Skip shot

How much time do you have to stall?
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Only have like 15 min to stall, I fed him already, damn, don't really want to skip a shot but not sure what to do!!!! I need to shoot in the next 10 min
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Do you want to shoot a reduced dose?
You have to be comfortable. Can you do any spot checks during the day or are you gone all day?
Scrabble is going to bounce from the green.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

I shot a 1.5 couldn't stall any longer, will test every hour today if I have too! This is exciting since I have never been this low but I am so nervous and scared!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Should I have shot his original dose? Well I shot a 1.5, got too scared!!! Am I screwing him up by reducing and do I go back up to his original dose @ pm?
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Hi Michelle. Exciting day for you!
If you are going to be home all day to monitor and test, you could have shot the full dose, and collected some good data for the future, and maybe possibly earned a dosecrease. But, that's okay, there's always next time. And, you have to feel comfortable with what you are doing. You did good. I know exactly how you feel. I've been there many times. Scrabble will be okay, because you are prepared, and can intervene if needed with HC or whatever is needed. You will be fine. Just post your numbers and someone will be able to help you. I would do another test at +1 and see where he's at.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Don't worry about it Michelle you are not screwing him up......this is your first green ps number and it is scary.
I wish I knew you were going to be home, I thought you only had 15 minutes before you had to leave, but the choice is always yours to do what you feel most comfortable doing. You still need to test because today's numbers will still be off the regular dose.

See how the day goes.....maybe this will be a dose reduction day....if not you shoot your regular dose tonight.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Thanks Miriam, yes I am always home during the day (I work nights), it was a miracle last night that I got off work early and was pleasantly surprised at how well Scrabble was doing when I got home. Is it better to just shoot the normal dose when this happens so I know for future reference? Maybe we will get lucky and he won't bounce!!! I have been waiting for a breakthrough for him! My shot schedule is really tight due to the hours I work at night that is why I said I only had 15 min to stall
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Michelle...if you are going to be around, have HC food and lots of strips it is always good to "shoot low to stay low." It is a good opportunity to collect data so the next time it happens you may be a little more prepared.
The most important thing is YOU need to be comfortable shooting.

If this does happen again and nobody is around...don't feed and retest in 15 minutes. The reason you don't feed is so that when you recheck you are not basing your shooting on a food spike number.

When you get home from work in the morning do you test and shoot as soon as you come home? I am just trying to see if you can test and shoot earlier in the morning so you can have some stall options.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Hi Michelle
Congrats on your first "green" shot number.
I know how scary the first time can be as Max did that to me last week.
You should never second guess yourself and always have to be comfortable with what you
are shooting.
You will not "screw" Scrabble up but I know how easy it is doubt to yourself and be worried.
Good that you are home to collect lots of data today and see where the day goes.

You did a great job!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

I think you did great ! One has to be comfortable with what you are doing. You won't mess him up. Sounds like you are home today to do lots of spot checks - so that is good. I agree with all that Miriam has said - I'm no expert, but all she stated is what I'd do. Test today, see how it goes, and you'll know if you shoot the regular dose tonight.

Yay - Scrabble has his first :mrgreen: EXCELLENT! I hope the bounce isn't severe, that he can stay in this lower range. Nice job Michelle! Now breathe, and relax, things are going well.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Scrabble got a green amps!!!!! Whoo hooo :mrgreen:
I know it is scary, as it throws you for a loop, but just remember every green number is a step to healing his pancreas!
It's fine that you shot a BCS, I did a skinny myself yesterday, as I was going to work and Moonie has been very green..
His shed is still full, so it will be fine :-D
It is so exciting when that breakthrough happens... :idea:
Just test a lot today & keep the lc,mc,hc on hand--He may just surf the greens nicely today..
YOu are In Control!! Keep telling yourself that & you will be.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

flip_cat Michelle, this is a wonderful green preshot for scrabble! He must have heard you talking about a dosecrease!!

You did just fine this morning, considering it was your first green preshot. You have to do what you feel comfortable with. Hopefully there isn't to big of a bounce and hopefully you'll get a nice pmps out of this!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Thanks everyone for making me feel better!! I am sitting here chomping at the bit to see what his number is at +1! He is snoozing right now, he had a lot of energy last night must have been because he felt really good with the lower numbers. Scrabble must have heard me talking about a dosecrease yesterday so he decided to throw me for a loop! In response to Miriam, yes I test and shoot pretty much as soon as I come home. There is no way for me to adjust my shot schedule because at night sometimes I am gone for almost 12 hours. I work 30 miles from my home and deal with Los Angeles traffic so with my commute and work it is a hard schedule to have. There are times at night that I am literally rushing home so I make it in time for his shot. Wish it didn't have to be that way but it is what it is!!! Well atleast next time this happens I will be more prepared on what to do! My first preshot green how exciting!!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 HELP!!!!!!!! EYES PLS!!!!!!

Yes this is exciting. :mrgreen:
I thought your schedule was pretty tight but I just wanted to make sure that there wasn't some wiggle room to make it easier for you.

edited to add......Michelle could you please remove the HELP from your subject so nobody thinks you are in trouble now. Thank you.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 FIRST GREEN PS! EYES PLS

(((Scrabble))) :thumbup
Looking good.......... so proud of you, Scrabble!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 FIRST GREEN PS! EYES PLS

Great shooting!!

Just to add to Miriam's post:
When you have a low preshot number there are a couple of things you can do.
1. Stall, DON"T feed and retest in 15 or 30 minutes depending on how much time you have.
2. Shoot a reduced dose
3. Skip shot

You need to have the data to shoot. If you're not sure, it's always good to post. You want to try to not stall AND shoot a reduced dose since this has the biggest impact on the shed. (This is more the case if you're stalling for more than 30 min. or so.) When you stall, you're looking to see that Scrabble is either surfing or that numbers are rising. You don't want to shoot a dropping number.

Also, can you remove the request for help from your subject line?
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 FIRST GREEN PS! EYES PLS

+3 119 Sienne I stalled for 15 min so that shouldn't impact his shed too much right? It kind of screwed me up for the time change!!!
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 +3 119

Michelle 15 minutes is nothing to make up. I am guessing that Scrabble is going to bounce from the green and you will be able to get back on schedule with the pm shot. If you are not sure just post it for some help.

Thank you Sienne for adding to my very rushed post this morning.
 
Re: 3/12 SCRABBLE AMPS 94 +3 119

+5 112 can't believe we are still low, we will see what happens the rest of the day so keep your eyes out for us for pm shot which will be at 330pm. Thank you everyone!!!!!
 
PMPS 213, So the question is do I go with the original dose of 1.75 or go with the reduced dose of 1.5? I will be home until +3 but then will be gone until amps so just a little worried if he drops low again but I want to make sure I am making the best dose decision for him. Let me know what you guys think!!! Thanks! Also I am giving him the dose tonight a half hour early due to the time change if that makes any difference. Since I stalled last night I am giving it a half hour early tonight
 
Well since no one is on I am going to go with the 1.5(reduced dose) again since I will not be home to monitor him tonight and because he stayed pretty low all day. Would love some feedback, thanks!!!!! Also should I continue now with this dose (1.5) for 6 cycles? Or should I see where he is at tonight when I get home and if high go back to 1.75?
 
I'm not an expert, but if it were Magnolia, I would have shot the full dose. Easy to say when it's not me, right? I would guess that Scrabble is going to rebound tonight. Although, since you don't really know his dance moves yet, a reduced dose is ok. Especially if you won't be home to monitor. Whatever you are comfortable with.

ETA:
Oh, and I would go back to 1.75 tomorrow. If you are comfortable with shooting whatever AMPS he has.
 
Damn well hope I did the right thing, I couldn't stall so I shot the 1.5, I am just worried about not being home tonight? So what should I do with the next few cycles, keep the reduced or go back to original???
 
You did the right thing! It's what you felt ok with, and you have to be away from Scrabble all night, not us!

I think you can return to 1.75 with his AM dose, as long as the AMPS is a number you feel comfortable shooting.
 
If you were concerned about shooting the full dose, then you were find to shoot the 1.5u. Better to be safe. I'd bring the dose back up tomorrow, though.
 
Ok thanks everyone, I will go back up to the regular dose tomorrow morning then, unless he is low again tonight, maybe he won't bounce and this is his breakthrough! Wouldn't that be nice???? Thank you!!! Gonna try and take a nap before work!
 
Good work today. When the green numbers first starting happening to Boomer I'd freak out. I was so scared. I'd shoot and go to work and sit there thinking about him. A few of the experienced LL'ers helped me get though those times by assuring me that he'd be okay and that I didn't need to rush home from work to check on him. It's a journey. Pretty soon this is going to start happening more often and you will get better at knowing how to handle the situations. Believe me.

Oh and PS - Scrabble is very pretty.
 
nice job today. :smile: I agree with the others, I would stick with the 1.75 dose until he officially earns a dose reduction. It's fine to shoot less tonight because you're going to be gone.
 
Just saw Scrabbles spreadsheet after being away for several days. Wonderful numbers today! I can fully appreciate your anxiety in shooting a low AMPS. Stu has been having these sorts of adventures recently, too! You did a good job today. Stu says: "Keep up the good work, Scrabble!"
Ella
 
Thanks everyone well +3 is 253, kind of glad he went up so I don't have to worry so much while I am at work! Hope his bounce is not that big. I wonder what surprises I will have to look forward to when I get home tonight? Hahah, left out a little extra food tonight just in case! Off to work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top