? 3/12 - PMPS - 109 - low pre-shot number, what should we do?

Javier and Leo

Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...night-if-pmps-is-100-ish.244428/#post-2757358

The last two times PMPS numbers were like this we skipped the insulin which is not advised by you all.

Following the advice from the last post, and asking right away for tips on what to do. We haven't given Leo his dinner yet.

Should we test in another 20 minutes?

For context, Leo has had some weakness in his bag leg for the last day and a half. The vet today said it was an early sign of diabetic neuropathy due to circulating high blood glucose.

We definitely don't want him in the high numbers for a whole cycle again.

Thank you!
 
With the DKA, its advisable that you don't skip and shoot the full dose. Will you be able to monitor him tonight?
 
Yes. We will be able to monitor. Should we prick him a few times throughout the night, or watch for any signs of hypoglycemia?
 
Feed him and shoot him and get a +1 and +2 and post it here. I will watch out for them. He may likely bounce and head higher. Can't say.
 
The vet today said it was an early sign of diabetic neuropathy due to circulating high blood glucose.
Have you seen this? Feline Diabetic Neuropathy (weak Back legs)
The best way to resolve neuropathy is to get him to good numbers. Giving a supplement of methylcobalamin B12 is supposed to help some kitties pretty soon. For Bandit it took almost 6 months. I suspect it was her numbers coming down rather than the methyl B12 that helped. Or maybe both?


Do you feed Leo only canned food? Any dry in the picture? If you could test a little more, you should look at switching to TR. It is a more aggressive protocol but it will help you stay at a dose where Leo sees more normal numbers (50-99 on a human meter). With the DKA and neuropathy, that would be really helpful.
 
Last edited:
I think he seems to be bouncing. Should be okay for the night.

It would be great if you could get a test every cycle in addition to the pre-shots.
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...night-if-pmps-is-100-ish.244428/#post-2757358

The last two times PMPS numbers were like this we skipped the insulin which is not advised by you all.

Following the advice from the last post, and asking right away for tips on what to do. We haven't given Leo his dinner yet.

Should we test in another 20 minutes?

For context, Leo has had some weakness in his bag leg for the last day and a half. The vet today said it was an early sign of diabetic neuropathy due to circulating high blood glucose.

We definitely don't want him in the high numbers for a whole cycle again.

Thank you!
Maggi lost a great deal of strength in hind legs, ordered Zobaline on Amazon and within a month her legs were back to normal. Someone on this forum had posted about Zobaline and I am so grateful. None of the vets ever mentioned it.
 
Maggi lost a great deal of strength in hind legs, ordered Zobaline on Amazon and within a month her legs were back to normal. Someone on this forum had posted about Zobaline and I am so grateful. None of the vets ever mentioned it.


The one from Zobaline? It has a lot of excipients... :(
 
Back
Top