bobjoh
Member Since 2021
Hello all!
I know the standard process of most people in the group is to use the human meters. They are absolutely more cost effective and I need to switch, but I've had bad luck with the Relion Prime and with my girls' numbers being all over the board, I'm hesitant to throw a new meter in the mix.
Until I make that switch, is there anyone that can tell me what the guidelines are for non-human meters, like the AlphaTrak2? I'm looking at the SLGS protocol, which mentions human meters. Or, maybe it's that 90 is similar on both the human and non-human meters?
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
· If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
· If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
· If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Q. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
· Below 150 mg/dl, don't give insulin.
· Between 150 and 200, you have three options:
o a.) give nothing
o b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
o c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
· Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
It looks like the colors in the spreadsheets have been synced...maybe I could base the guidelines on the colors instead of the numbers?
PLEASE don't come for me and insist I switch meters; I'm juggling 2 newly diagnosed diabetic cats at present and I tried with the RP and failed. I need to get more comfortable with the entire process before I throw a new meter back in to the mix.
With juggling two cats, and some issues we've had recently, I went back and reread the protocol, which brought up more questions (of course).
Thanks to everyone here for all you do - especially to help newbies like me!!
I know the standard process of most people in the group is to use the human meters. They are absolutely more cost effective and I need to switch, but I've had bad luck with the Relion Prime and with my girls' numbers being all over the board, I'm hesitant to throw a new meter in the mix.
Until I make that switch, is there anyone that can tell me what the guidelines are for non-human meters, like the AlphaTrak2? I'm looking at the SLGS protocol, which mentions human meters. Or, maybe it's that 90 is similar on both the human and non-human meters?
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
· If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
· If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
· If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Q. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
· Below 150 mg/dl, don't give insulin.
· Between 150 and 200, you have three options:
o a.) give nothing
o b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
o c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
· Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
It looks like the colors in the spreadsheets have been synced...maybe I could base the guidelines on the colors instead of the numbers?
PLEASE don't come for me and insist I switch meters; I'm juggling 2 newly diagnosed diabetic cats at present and I tried with the RP and failed. I need to get more comfortable with the entire process before I throw a new meter back in to the mix.
Thanks to everyone here for all you do - especially to help newbies like me!!
