3/12 - number guidelines on an AlphaTrak2 meter

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
Hello all!

I know the standard process of most people in the group is to use the human meters. They are absolutely more cost effective and I need to switch, but I've had bad luck with the Relion Prime and with my girls' numbers being all over the board, I'm hesitant to throw a new meter in the mix.

Until I make that switch, is there anyone that can tell me what the guidelines are for non-human meters, like the AlphaTrak2? I'm looking at the SLGS protocol, which mentions human meters. Or, maybe it's that 90 is similar on both the human and non-human meters?

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
· If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
· If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
· If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit


Q. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
· Below 150 mg/dl, don't give insulin.
· Between 150 and 200, you have three options:
o a.) give nothing
o b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
o c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
· Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.


It looks like the colors in the spreadsheets have been synced...maybe I could base the guidelines on the colors instead of the numbers?

PLEASE don't come for me and insist I switch meters; I'm juggling 2 newly diagnosed diabetic cats at present and I tried with the RP and failed. I need to get more comfortable with the entire process before I throw a new meter back in to the mix. :( With juggling two cats, and some issues we've had recently, I went back and reread the protocol, which brought up more questions (of course).

Thanks to everyone here for all you do - especially to help newbies like me!!
 
On SLGS, the reduction number (<90) stays the same no matter the meter.

Also on the Human vs Pet spreadsheet, the only difference is the lime green (<50 for human, <68 for pet).

And the Q&A you mention above is from an FAQ - it's just a guideline for getting used to shooting lower numbers. Eventually, on SLGS, 90 or higher is a shootable number (but with data and experience).

I think this is your last post - just linking for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-11-alphyne-amps-113-10-384-reduced-dose.244529/

Hope that helps some :bighug:
 
Hi, good luck with all you are juggling - I can’t imagine. Just reiterating Susanne’s/Jax’s guidance above. Abby and I were late to the human meter but the 90 was the same I used on AT2 and 68 was what I used for TR on AT2. FWIW- I am glad I finally made the switch to a human meter as Abby got closer to her OTJ test (if for nothing else that people are more comfortable seeing the greens even if they are equivalent to low blues on AT - just makes guidance more on point and I’ll admit seeing Abby’s green has made me more confident in where she is at in this journey based on years of experience on this board). Good luck either way you go!
 
Thank you! I know I'll get to the human meter...people have also given some good recommendations other than the RP...it's good to have options. One of them is bound to work for me! ;)
 
Back
Top