3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364 +6=149 PMPS=378 +4=417

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Star has a good appetite this morning. I am adding lysine to his food for a flare-up of his feline herpesvirus. Last night's BG level PMPS+3.5 was 289, the first time it has fallen below 300. It's back up to 364 this morning, but I finally have some real hope that the insulin might work. ;-) Will hold at this dose for six injections and then evaluate whether I need to increase again.

Update: test at AMPS+6 shows 149, a major drop. Color me startled. :o Might test again in two hours just to have more data before the PMPS test. Talk about a roller coaster ride!

Update: PMPS+4. Sigh. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364

Morning Phyllis ~O)

Good luck with the new dose! I peeked at Star's profile, I love his markings, handsome boy :smile:

I used to feed Petsmart Authority too, then we couldn't get it for a while here in Canada. When it came back,
I was disappointed to see they'd reformulated, and added wheat gluten & potato starch :-x I haven't been able to
find a carb count on the new formulation, so I switched to Grreat Choice (formerly Sophisticat) when I buy
@Petsmart (we feed FF & others too). More by-products so not as high quality, but no nasties like wheat gluten.

Just a heads-up - it may be fine carb-wise but I wasn't sure so I switched.
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364

Thanks, Bruce. Simon is also a beautiful boy; congrats to you and to him for his recovery! The label for the chicken pate that Star eats does not mention wheat gluten or potato starch (there is some brewer's rice, which might be concerning, but it's pretty far down the ingredients list). However, I bought some of the flaked turkey flavor last week (hadn't opened it yet), and now that I read that label I see the dreaded wheat gluten and modified food starch. That will have to go back. I thought I had researched this thoroughly but obviously need to go back through the charts, because if food is a big reason for Star's BG numbers remaining high then that's a problem easily solved. Thanks for the heads up! :-D Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364

Thanks Phyllis, Simon is blushing :oops: :-D

That's good on the chicken pate, be nice to get a carb count though... "Flaked" is usually a red flag,
they have to fill up the space between the flakes, and carbs are cheapest :lol:
I just play it safe, there's enough choice around that I don't even allow brewers rice, which unfortunately
(in Canada anyway) even includes Friskies pates.
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364 +4=149 PMPS=378

Here's a shortcut list I created from the most current food charts.
shortcut list
I might try to add the ones that aren't on it tomorrow but it's a handy list to have printed to carry to stores.
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364 +4=149 PMPS=378 +4=417

Hi Phyllis

Glad to see Star in blue! Also the is for the Profile. He is very cute as is Maggie.

My civvie, Tobey, also deals with feline herpes and we have to stay on top of his teeth/gums or the gums get red. Crazy!

Ok Star...settle into your dose!
 
Re: 3/12 Newbie Star AMPS=364 +4=149 PMPS=378 +4=417

Thanks, Rhiannon. I went back over Dr. Lisa's list today and still like the Authority chicken pate (first Authority food on the list) that I'm feeding Star and Maggie: carbs=3%. It's the canned food they've always eaten, and they like it. The numbers are as good as any other low carb options. I guess if I couldn't get to Petsmart I could choose one of the others that I can find at the grocery store, but I like that Authority has no byproducts (I know some people say that doesn't matter, but it matters to me), and it's cost effective (currently .80/6 oz can). Just not sure I need to switch, unless I'm missing something?

I do like the option of a portable list, though. Anyone who owns a Kindle (I have the very basic pre-paperwhite model) and carries it around with you everywhere--did you know you can upload your own pdf files to it? Might be handy to have the food list on your Kindle. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top